Michael finally axed?!

i'm not getting into the whole debate, but i must say i never fully rated mal michael when he was at brisbane. he was solid, and did the job, but when playing in a side that was the brisbane lions of that era it must've been pretty hard to look bad. i think he was never any better than rutten, clement, fletcher, scarlett, hudgton (50/50), barry, glass, lake.
quote]

Thats interesting- Mal Michael at Brsibane for 3 flags mingling with decent performers like Leppitsch, Pike, Johnson Voss @ Co. I trust some of that has rubbed off on say, P.Ryder in the last 18 months ?

Mal Michael has been one of my favourite non-port players ever.

In my opinion, the best full back this decade.

I hope hi struggling this season doesn't leave people looking back on his career on a note that is lower than what it really is.

How he was never AA full back is beyond me.

think people are getting a bit carried away here. when you look at richmonds side with richo up on the wing how many power forwards do they have? barely any! do you recall the anzac game when rocca withdrew there was no match up for michael or johns in defence. similarly this week there is no point in playing mal - horses for courses and we'll save him for another day.

richmonds forward line:

n.brown - slattery
riewoldt - fletcher
tambling - hislop
edwards - myers
schulz - mcphee/ryder
bowden - nlm

who out of these 6 would mal have played on? possibly schultz but that would be it. knights has made a good decision to rest him - its not like schultz is that dangerous so might try and exploit him with mcphee running off him like he did when he was all australian.

looking ahead mal could probably play against adelaide on a guy like tippet, then against hawks roughead. we will definitely need mal against brisbane as he did a very good job on j.brown last year.

i was readin all yours post and u are the only one that makes sense. richmonds forward line is small apart from richo so why play all our tall backs.look wat happen last time we tried that against collingwood. its failed badly.i rekon mal has been good for us. jsut no matchup for him this week

How the heck does Mal get dropped ahead of several players who were disgraceful last week? It's hard to work out, that's for sure.

I suspect Knights and co are omitting him because they have a (misguided) belief that stacking the side with young players is the answer at the moment. Unfortunately, though, that fails to take account of the fact that a mix of experience and youth is almost always the best policy.

He's the wrong bloke altogether to be made a scapegoat and, unless the move is purely for matchup reasons or to give him a rest (which is unlikely given that everybody just had a week off for the Victoria v Dreamteam game anyway), it seems a poor decision.

well as much as i loved mal as footballer i think his time has passed......hes still in great shape but the game has gone past his sort of player plus he doesnt look to have the passion to play...i know it must be hard losing more than he was used too but u have deal with it

as for mcphee its good to see knights put him at centre half back.........HE IS NOT A FORWARD.........plus dont put him there again......hes so much better running off halfback and kicking it long into our forward line

This would be a bitter pill to swallow so it'll be interesting to see how Mal responds. Will he fight to get his spot back and give everything right to the end of his career or will he just start going through the motions?

It's time for Mal Michael to go and let a young defender in your team have a go, Fletcher won't be there for long either, it is very likely both will retire at the end of this year. It's very important to allow young players to get experience up (as no other have for over a decade), you are in rebuilding mode, nothing to play for so why not?

Lloyd only has a season left too (at the end of this one), time for the team to adjust and move on. Someone else should take on the captaincy from next year also - it's the best thing.

It's time for Mal Michael to go and let a young defender in your team have a go, Fletcher won't be there for long either, it is very likely both will retire at the end of this year. It's very important to allow young players to get experience up (as no other have for over a decade), you are in rebuilding mode, nothing to play for so why not?

Lloyd only has a season left too (at the end of this one), time for the team to adjust and move on. Someone else should take on the captaincy from next year also - it's the best thing.

think its probably better michael and fletcher hang around for one more year to assist in the development of pears and daniher. ryder is looking ok but they might use him in the ruck. obviously will recruit another defender this year (hurley in draft maybe?) so it would be throwing lambs to the slaughter having all young players in key defensive roles.

lloyd's position makes it difficult to captain - a lot of our supporters have wanted mcveigh in that role. lloyd may well hand it over at seasons end which should take some pressure off his performances.

Daniel Merrett got thrown in the deep end and has excelled. Drafted ex-Port Adelaide rookie in Joel Patfull, your recuiting staff have some thinking to do. Very important that you draft KPP in this draft to have as backup, in case any injuries do occur.

Your future spine:

B: Daniher/Pears
HB: Ryder
C: Houli
HF: Gumby
F: Lucas/ Johns
R: Hille

It looks very handy, just need to develop it, get rid of Michael and Fletcher now, or that future line up will be stalled in the development.

I'd say trade Laycock and see what you can get. Hawks have heaps of ruckmen, including Bailey and Rendof.

Its a good thing Mal had been dropped. Not because of his performances, but because of team balance.

During the year, we have been trying to use Welsh, McPhee and NLM forward.With Mal out and Paddy having to ruck a bit this week, we might actually se ethose three guys played where they should be IMO, and that is defense.

That leaves us with a tall forward line, with Lloyd, Neagle and Daniher. Jetta and Reimers to pick up the crumbs and we dont look half bad. If Pears comes in for Watson (which should happen IMO) then that leaves one of Welsh, NLM and McPhee to play away from defense. IMO, Welsh has looked like the most likely forward out of that lot, so put him up forward.

This is what the side might look like.
FB: Slattery, Fletcher, Myers
HB: McPhee, Ryder, NLM
C: Stanton, McVeigh, Lovett
HF: Welsh, Daniher, Reimers
FF: Neagle, Lloyd, Jetta
R: Hille, Hislop, Lonergan
Int: Winderlich, Dyson, Monfries, Pears.

Injury, rest, match ups, etc,etc.

If we were 4 and 4 would we drop Mal and play Daniher and Neagle?

As for consistently average you are way off the mark.

Round 1 - great. Below average
Round 2 - great. OK
Round 3 - beaten after a good half. Extremely poor
Round 4 - good. OK
Round 5 - Ok. Average
Round 6 - Ok Average
Round 7 - Poor - no matchup. Poor
Round 8 - ? Poor

Why are you using Mal as a scapegoat when there are about 10 other players that are under performing for their roles.

When have i used Mal as a scapegoat? He is one of many players who are out of form at the club. If you read my posts you will find that i don't hold back in saying what i think about other players also.

The difference is that Michael was recruited to be our senior defender and leader of the backline. If he is not good enough to take the best defender or one of the best defenders then he should not be in the team.

I notice that you put a big question mark next to round 8, not sure if it's because you didn't watch the game or if you did not care to point out that he played the game on Boak and Westoff who would be Ports 4th and 5th best forwards this season. I recall you specifically saying that he is best suited to the bigger power forwards yet he did not play on Treadrea at all.

You cite injury, rest and matchup as the reason why Michael has been axed yet you are not prepared to concede that it may have something to do with poor form. He is not injured and why would he need a rest? This lack of matchup excuse that i hear every single week makes me laugh. The one time he gets his perfect match in Treadrea he still doesn't play on him.

To answer your final question if we were 4 and 4 and Michaels form was as it is now i would advocate that he still be axed. If he was playing good football i would be against it. It pretty simple really. Pick players on form. Seems this is what Knights is doing. :thumbsu:

Kelvin you massively overate our players and you definatley speak with a lot of bias. I have seen it time and time again on the main boards. You appraisal of MIchaels performances this season only confirms that this is the case. Yes. he does have a lot of friends who are underperforming but this does not excuse the fact that he is.

I wanna throw in something since horsburgh became pres a big slide lets try and get mcmahon back at least he concentrated on running the club not selection or one from left field sheeds something has to give we are to proud of a club to be where we are and dont deserve it.

What has this got to do with Michael being dropped?

Why don't you get rid of Black, Lappin, Power so that Adcock, Risichitelli and a fwe others can develop properly. :rolleyes:

Because they aren't disinterested and old like Michael is. He laughs and smiles everytime he rushes a behind and he rushes far too many. The players you mentioned above are class and perform week in, week out.

I wouldn't say he is disinterested.

I do however agree that it was a silly comparison to make.

I guess your still dirty over him leaving your club? Dont bash the guy, he was part of your successful years and has been a good servant in his career. Honour the bloke mate not bag him.

:p For a bloke who the papers were doing double paged spreads telling us how he was going to return to his titianic best, that he was fitter and stronger than ever, and that he would once again reign as an immovable backstop for an exciting new era at Essendon. :eek: Tis quite comical Mal's fall from grace. :D The writing was on the wall last year, but it appears now more and more Bomber fans, (like the rest of us who already have) are awkening to his endearing struggles. Put Mal in a good team and he's great because he gets carried, just like he did at Brisbane, when he has to battle hard he's exposed as very, very average.

we all know he hasn't had a great season. he was pretty good last year i thought. your suggestion that he was carried at brisbane is just laughable. the guy played full back (ie part of the spine and a very important position) in one of the best sides the AFL/VFL has ever seen that won three premierships in three years. aside from this fact, leigh matthews doesn't have room for passengers in any of his sides.

think people are getting a bit carried away here. when you look at richmonds side with richo up on the wing how many power forwards do they have? barely any! do you recall the anzac game when rocca withdrew there was no match up for michael or johns in defence. similarly this week there is no point in playing mal - horses for courses and we'll save him for another day.

richmonds forward line:

n.brown - slattery
riewoldt - fletcher
tambling - hislop
edwards - myers
schulz - mcphee/ryder
bowden - nlm

who out of these 6 would mal have played on? possibly schultz but that would be it. knights has made a good decision to rest him - its not like schultz is that dangerous so might try and exploit him with mcphee running off him like he did when he was all australian.

looking ahead mal could probably play against adelaide on a guy like tippet, then against hawks roughead. we will definitely need mal against brisbane as he did a very good job on j.brown last year.

Complete logic :thumbsu:

richmonds forward line:

n.brown - slattery
riewoldt - fletcher
tambling - hislop
edwards - myers
schulz - mcphee/ryder
bowden - nlm

Top post! :thumbsu:

In the Daily Astonisher (Herald Sun) today, Mal said he (unlike JJ & Pev) has NOT been told his opportunities will be limited. He was told his omission was due to match-ups. I think some people are reading far too much into this.

You did also retire Fletcher in the same breath. :rolleyes:

How many goals did J.Brown kick last time against Essendon? Who was it that shut him down? A coupla old blokes, I think. Remind me who won that one? :D

You're still bleeding we got him for nothing!!! :D

Maybe he smiles because he's enjoying his football? :thumbsu:

lloyd's position makes it difficult to captain - a lot of our supporters have wanted mcveigh in that role. lloyd may well hand it over at seasons end which should take some pressure off his performances.
Forget about the pressure Lloyd receives from the public. They simply want to drag a champion down because for so long he was dominant and unstoppable. They have been waiting for years to have a crack at Lloyd and no doubt many would have received pleasure when he tore his hamstring off the bone.
In terms of the future it may be a good decision to give McVeigh the captaincy. It shouldnt have anything to do with taking the pressure off Matty. He has been exceptional for Essendon and people will say anything to drag the great man down.

Forget about the pressure Lloyd receives from the public. They simply want to drag a champion down because for so long he was dominant and unstoppable. They have been waiting for years to have a crack at Lloyd and no doubt many would have received pleasure when he tore his hamstring off the bone.
In terms of the future it may be a good decision to give McVeigh the captaincy. It shouldnt have anything to do with taking the pressure off Matty. He has been exceptional for Essendon and people will say anything to drag the great man down.

I don't think ANY Essendon supporter derived pleasure when LLoyd tore his hamstring off the bone. Sorry, but I reckon that's a stupid comment.

I think it's got more to do with it being difficult to be a good captain at full forward, whoever you are and however good your form is. A FF is, physically/geographically, not in a position where they can exert as much influence on the team than say.... well, any other line on the ground.

A recent, successful full-forward captain was.... ?????

The increased pace of the game this year only exacerbates the problem of Captaining a team from the first/last line.

Obviously ommited because of match up reasons. Some people jump into conclusions far too much on this board.

Michael finally axed?!