Michael Johnson

That's a great rant, one of the better ones I've seen for a while I'll admit, but it doesn't do much to refute the general consensus that MJ was ****ing dire.

I'm at the end of the third quarter and MJ has actually played well. I suggest you go and watch again because so Far MJ has made a couple little fumbling errors (Like every other player out there has. Even Mundy dropped an easy chest mark) and the only glaring thing Johnson has done was missed a mark about 10 metres out which resulted in a goal to Sherman.

One mistake so far... Still a quarter to go so I'll let you know how he goes in this one.

But so far he has been far from our worst.

keep an eye out for him winning a contested posession on the wing which in turn led to pitt getting the ball and kicking a point to put us us in front near the end of the game

I'm at the end of the third quarter and MJ has actually played well. I suggest you go and watch again because so Far MJ has made a couple little fumbling errors (Like every other player out there has. Even Mundy dropped an easy chest mark) and the only glaring thing Johnson has done was missed a mark about 10 metres out which resulted in a goal to Sherman.

One mistake so far... Still a quarter to go so I'll let you know how he goes in this one.

But so far he has been far from our worst.

Two first quarter turnovers, no pressure for starters

And how many other players had turnovers when no one was around them... I can count Grover, (who just dropped a mark with 10 minutes left in the last), Pavlich had heaps, Palmer... Ibbo dropped about 3 sitters, van Berlo early fumbled...

The list goes on. Face it Johnson was no where near our worst.

Yes he was avg in that game he wasnt bad an wasnt great.

But ask yourself this, does MJ have alot more to offer than he currently is?
Could anyone else come in an do the job to the same effect as him?

IMO MJ can play alot better than that
IMO we could bring in just about anyone an they could play the role to the same capability that MJ currently is.

MJ can play better than what he is for some reason he is still just cruising through life happy to just turn up.
Needs a rocket up his ass to try an get the best out of him everytime he plays, how can that be done? talking to hasnt worked so maybe dropping him will.

Spare man in defense pretty cushy role.
Im sure Sibo,Anthony heck even Mcphee could do just as much down there as MJ currently is.

I want MJ dropped not because he was useless on weekend but because we only see the best of him every now an again.
Needs to be dropped to be taught a lesson.
To get the best out of him as he is extremely talented an a needed player when playing well.

Johnson is so down on confidence at the moment he is playing nervous. The whole situation is reminding me of Adam McPhee at the start of last year when everybody was calling for his head. Harves showed faith when nobody else would and he came good and is a pretty important role player in our team now.

He comes across as lazy and lackadaisical. That's just his style he doesn't have the intensity of someone like Suban or De Boer. But Mundy was never an intense character and got panned for it early in his career and look how that turned out.

I for one will back the coaching staff in and can see the potential that this cat has. I hope soon it will click for him and then we can dig this thread up and all have a laugh.

And how many other players had turnovers when no one was around them... I can count Grover, (who just dropped a mark with 10 minutes left in the last), Pavlich had heaps, Palmer... Ibbo dropped about 3 sitters, van Berlo early fumbled...

The list goes on. Face it Johnson was no where near our worst.

Pav to next start as sub after some of the things he did last night. Had a Barry Crocker.

Dockerland probably accommodates you better.

I think you should read my signature. You continually look quite the fool.

Don't we all Cassius.

Don't we all.

I thought it nice that we're the centre of their existence ;)

Funny how we're the ones with the obsession though ;)

I remember reading their board before a Derby last year and their front page was mostly filled with Freo-centric threads, mostly about how much they hate and don't care about us :p

Who would have thought MJ would end up as the Indigenous Shaun McManus.

I think this thread hit rock bottom when someone suggested Casey Sibosado could replace MJ and no one reacted. Sheesh. :cool:

Who would have thought MJ would end up as the Indigenous Shaun McManus.

I think this thread hit rock bottom when someone suggested Casey Sibosado could replace MJ and no one reacted. Sheesh. :cool:

It's interesting that you think it inconceivable that Sibosado, after a year's good form in the WAFL as a key defender, could possibly play Johnson's role in the AFL, as a loose 3rd tall defender.

Giving McManus the arse pretty much coincided with the start of our club's climb up the ranks. Perhaps Johnno should be the next Mcmanus.

I think the Dr doesnt like change

Anyone can play the loose defender role as good as MJ is CURRENTLY
MJ at close to his best i doubt anyone could come in do it as good as him.

Loose man in defense is easy to play.
Player takes a mark infront of you, hey not my fault, not my man, i was covering for player X.
Anyone can play that role an do an OK job.
Which is what MJ is currently doing.

MJ at his best plays that role really well an also gets involved in setting up attacks.
An when hes playing good he is extremely valueable.
The reason they dont drop him is they know when hes playing well he is easily the best option.

Trouble is he rarely plays well do we accept him playing well every 3 or so games?
Or do we try an do something so he can play close to his best week in week out.

Look at Keps every now an again he would show signs of being a good player.
He struggled to make the team.
Now he is pretty much the 1st forward picked an has taken over the role of 2nd ruck that MJ used to get.

Not good enough......

This is the time a buddy looks for positives.

As a long time non-supporter of MJ, I'd say "send him to the magoos," but we still need to have tall options come finals time, and MJ's best game is better than most, even though his worst is diabolical. If they do it right he'll come back confident, but do it wrong and our tall option list gets shorter with many untested.

He fumbled a few last night but wasn't alone or the worst. He destroyed the ball in the air defensively, so at least he got into the contests.

Harsh but fair...

I think our tall defenders are doing well, Jono looks best in defence, but I admit he is ordinary much of the time, but who do you put in his place? Sibo is a rookie and probably too needs to show more in the WAFL, JA can play down back apparently, but he is being groomed for the forward line, and Faulks is not doing well in the WAFL and is not playing this week at all. Could any of these players do the job as well as MJ?

The other question is - what if we get an injury to one of our tall defenders? We will have to fall back on 3 unknowns or shuffle the team around - put Bradley down back!

I could pick any number of posts here to quote but as it is my first post at BF I will not pick on anyone individually!

Hands up all those who have actually seen Sibosado play for Perth. Anyone who has and is actually suggesting a swap for Johnson must have seen something that I am missing. He has neither the skills nor the tank to step up to AFL and probably never will. He is not the great white hope and in my view falls into a basket which includes fellow Perth players Ruffles and Bollenhagen (and Ash Smith for good measure) as players who won't make the grade at AFL level.

I watch Perth quite closely as I have a relative who plays there and I would take Matt Rogers over any of that lot. Heck I would even have McDougal before them all which is saying something.

I could pick any number of posts here to quote but as it is my first post at BF I will not pick on anyone individually!

Hands up all those who have actually seen Sibosado play for Perth. Anyone who has and is actually suggesting a swap for Johnson must have seen something that I am missing. He has neither the skills nor the tank to step up to AFL and probably never will. He is not the great white hope and in my view falls into a basket which includes fellow Perth players Ruffles and Bollenhagen (and Ash Smith for good measure) as players who won't make the grade at AFL level.

I watch Perth quite closely as I have a relative who plays there and I would take Matt Rogers over any of that lot. Heck I would even have McDougal before them all which is saying something.

What did you think of MJ's form for Perth last year?

The only Perth game I caught last year where MJ played was the one against Subi (I think) which was possibly his first after being busted. He worked pretty hard but had his share of stuff ups. If I recall he had an opportunity which could have snared a win for the Demons but missed from about 50m out.

Reality is that he offers a combination of endurance, speed, skills and flexibility which none of our other talls in waiting can at this stage. I am certainly not a fan of MJ, but I reckon he is a better option than any of the fit players we have running around at WAFL level.

Theres no doubting his talent and what he CAN bring to the team.
But has he been using any of it lately?
Is his current output (not potential) currently better than any other player could offer?

I know when he is close to his best he is irreplaceable easily best 22.
But we arent seeing it.
Why continue to carry him just because he has potential to be very good in a game.

All important games late last year when we needed people to step up an give it their all to help us win.
He stepped up an delivered.

I want our team to be stronger an by getting MJ to perform week in week out it makes us stronger.
Playing him every week hoping he plays a good game isnt working.
So maybe if he was dropped an had to fight for his spot we would see the Johnson that cares, an isnt afraid to crash into packs with his body to spoil etc every week.

Theres no doubting his talent and what he CAN bring to the team.
But has he been using any of it lately?
Is his current output (not potential) currently better than any other player could offer?

I know when he is close to his best he is irreplaceable easily best 22.
But we arent seeing it.
Why continue to carry him just because he has potential to be very good in a game.

All important games late last year when we needed people to step up an give it their all to help us win.
He stepped up an delivered.

I want our team to be stronger an by getting MJ to perform week in week out it makes us stronger.
Playing him every week hoping he plays a good game isnt working.
So maybe if he was dropped an had to fight for his spot we would see the Johnson that cares, an isnt afraid to crash into packs with his body to spoil etc every week.

I agree. Plus there's another side to this debate that no one seems to be registering.

By rewarding players having a decent crack in the WAFL (ala Pearce, Anthony, Sibo, Griffen) you also maintain that pressure for spots that is so important to keeping the team playing well week in, week out.

If fringe players continue to see best 22 players get games based on past performance instead of actual performance, they'll naturally drop off out of frustration and suddenly our depth is more questionable.

Also, there's certain players we simply have to develop or at least give a few games to this year to see if they can make it (last year on rookie list for Pearce and Sibo). Seems like the perfect opportunity to play them in place of someone out of form i.e. Crowley or Johnson becoz the loss of output will be minimal. And hell, like Fyfe etc last year, we might be pleasantly surprised - just look at Blair for Collingwood, who could have guessed he'd hold his place in that team?

Having said that, no ones saying get rid of Johnson permanently. If he ever did spend a week in the WAFL, I'd be very surprised not to see him back in the 22 the following week. Ditto Crowley. And if their replacements did well enough to make them wait an extra week, win-win, coz pressure for spots goes up tenfold.

I appreciate that this forum allows armcair pundits to shoot the sh1t on footy topics but by continually lambasting MJ as lazy or incompetent we insult Mark Harvey.

From what I've seen from Harvs, he doesn't tolerate incompetence and definately not laziness.