Toast Michael Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter muckypup

You know what I'm just so happy that he has re-found this form with us and not after we delisted or traded him for half a pack of burger rings.

Who do you give the credit to? If Lyon didn't come over I would be fairly certain that Johnson would not be playing so well. Johnson has obviously done the hard work but Ross has demanded he do so.

Michael Johnson attempts to thread the footy through the eye of a needle because he knows he has a precision kick .

To say johnson is a poor kick is totally ignorant.

When he 1st played I would say " MJ always hits a target." He did. I think a lot of teams picked his strength then closed him down. He likes to pinpoint a perfect pass that a team mate can mark and run. Problem is that sought of pass gets intercepted. Which without doubt affected him. I think he has been reborn, but smarter and more mature.

He's my Buddy. In fact it could be the 3rd time....at least......so I'm feeling pretty good how's traveling.

Whatever the Staff at Freo concluded what is best for MJ and the fact he has done his best to get where he is now is plain and simple not only a good outcome, there would be story behind how it's been achieved.

I hope he maintains his form. We'll get to hear the story that way. :)

*Bump*

Just think MJ deserves a bit more credit for his great start to the season.

You know what I'm just so happy that he has re-found this form with us and not after we delisted or traded him for half a pack of burger rings.

So true.

He said he owed the team, MJ's concentrating on the footy and the results speak for themselves.

Thought I bump this thread.. Michael Johnson set to play his 200th game this Friday against Richmond. What a rise it has been for him, thought he wouldn't get there given his injury last year, getting caught with drugs as well as inconsistent form prior to Ross Lyon being signed. Now can say he's in career best form and certainty one of Freo's all time best defenders.

Cannot underestimate his importance to our team. Now that Dawson has gone down with a long term injury we must look after him and McPharlin.

Johnson has always been very important and dare say we need him more than Mcfarlin. If he goes down our flag hopes are in trouble as we don't have any backups any where close to him.

Man is an absolute legend and has maybe gone a bit unnoticed by the Footy community from standing in McPharlin's shadow over the years.

I'll never forget in 2006 when this lanky 20 year old played on Barry Hall in his prime and kept him goalless throughout the entire game. Thought then that he might have a future with the club.

When Scott was given the job at Geelong, a few weeks into the gig he was asked about Freo and MJ came up in particular, and his response sticks in my mind. Paraphrasing: he said that he could be among the very best in the league, a very talented and very special player. He just needs to work hard (implying 'harder' is what I took).

Well Ross comes along and if he doesn't give you opportunity to be the best you can, then nobody will and MJ has done the rest. He's the perfect Swiss army knife of a back half. Spare-man (which is probably his best spot), tighter one-on-one on a tall, contested play with a small, making good decisions in heated play, creating attacking moves out of defensive actions - he can do it all.

Congrats on Michael on 200 games. :thumbsu:

I remember his woeful kicking, I remember when he pointed after he made mistakes to try and make excuses, but now..

A great kick on him, one of our best defenders, now when he points, he points for a reason.

Congratulations, Johno on the big 200th.

I remember the days when we called him Pointer.

I recanted that heresy a long time ago and now I'm a true believer, even a zealot for MJ.

Remember watching him at Perth as an 19yo CHF and CHB. Big bodied, a touch chubby with a big bum but undoubted talent. Hoped like hell that we'd get him, so glad that we trumped everyone by moving on him in the PSD and have loved watching him ever since.

He's had plenty of ups and downs over the years with the coke issue and drop off's in form but he's stuck true to Freo and always bounced back. And even now the old man and I still laugh that he's good for one absolute howler of a kick every game but he's one of my favourites.

Well done big Jonno!

Interesting article about how he was a die hard Freo supporter before he joined. Lucky bloke. Though iirc we hid him so we could get him in the PSD.

Can't of hidden him too much, he played 20 games at Perth his draft year. He did only play 2 games at Perth the first year he was eligible for the draft through.

I remember the days when we called him Pointer.

I recanted that heresy a long time ago and now I'm a true believer, even a zealot for MJ.

I reckon he learnt his pointing skills as faction captain at school. He had leadership qualities as a kid. Makes me smile to remember him. Now I couldn't be more proud. Congrats Michael.