Michael Long: You are a disgrace

Angry
What would you have had the gutless Demons do? Surely you're not suggesting that they should have used violence against him, seeing that by your post you hate violence whether it's unintentional or not.

------------------
Mantis

having trouble reading shit for brains? I condone all physical contact,Longs act however was an action which could have resulted in a player ending up in a wheel chair.
Players must defend a team mate who is not in a position to defend himself and Long should have been shown that what he did was totally unacceptable.

Angry shit for brains
Were you equally disgusted when Schwarz charged J Johnsons head, or is it OK if they aren't stretchered off.

------------------
Mantis

Unfortunately you have targeted one of the fairest & most outstanding players of the modern game. Argument was lost before it got started!! Yes, it hurts to lose a Grand Final, but it's very poor form to comment on the opposition after the game, win, lose or draw.

I don't follow either of them, dick head,my perception of events are not tainted by a pathetic allegance to a club what he did was totally unacceptable and anyone who has played the game knows that Long had the opportunity to tackle but prefered to take the option he did he will get a mandatory 2 minimum, thank god it did not end up any worse.

Oh one more thing sandie candie,

You are a **** made of shit that knows nothing about Melbourne.

Some gutless dog has used my name in the previous post, for a start I thought Sandie was a bloke,

Someone should tell NERDY HIRD to not try to W.C.W Shwarz on the FOOTBALL field!

Longs incident was pretty bad i hope he gets suspended for a long time!! Hahahaha did u see in the melee that followed Hird just got picked up and dumped or in wrestling terms body slammed hahahah hes pretty soft, unmatched skills but soft.

Originally posted by sandie:
Angry shit for brains
Were you equally disgusted when Schwarz charged J Johnsons head, or is it OK if they aren't stretchered off.

My friend Sandie...
We all know Jason has had it coming all season... Don't cry now...

eek.gif
tongue.gif
eek.gif
tongue.gif
eek.gif
tongue.gif
eek.gif

Live by the sword, die by the sword...

Did you see that!!!! Bloody Long the bastard!!

I'll get him!!! Hang on ! he's too big WAIT I'll get Rama he's small!! Take that you big bully...

Hey Hardwick come over here and hold this young fella while I give him one of my trademark short jabs - yeah hold him good - bang!!!

Sh1t the camera caught that one - um ah - well I've been thinking about retiring for a while now!!!

i wish i could be up there getting a premiership medal like wallis and long are
oh well ill get another chance in 12 years

I love the rough stuff, but.

I thought that Long was a bit rough, eyes not on the footy, if he had his eyes on the footy for a while then it would of been fine. As for Wallis, it was a cheap shot, I don't know what he was trying to achieve by doing it, maybe injure Green. Funny about that.

To me, with Wallis retiring, he just seems like a chicken, he does the crime and doesn't do the time. Sounds like Christopher Skase.

Quote from The Age 6/9/00

"Fletcher and Grgic claimed the initial moments captured on video were as far as it went and they immediately separated and Fletcher went back to fullback and Grgic was wrestled to the ground by the Dons' self-styled hard men Dean Wallis and Damien Hardwick."

Wallis - "Hey Hardwick, here's ANOTHER young fella, hold this one while I give him a couple of sly little wacks while the camera ain't looking - by the way did I tell you I'm retiring, lets give him a couple more!"

Hardwick - "Your'e my hero Wally"

Gee I wish my team was as good as the Mighty Bombers! We can say all the crap we want about them, but at the end of the day I would love for my team to be as successful on and off the field as they are!

hahahahaha

Ah, Long doesnt even cop a premiership game suspension, after the Tribunal supposedly took a dim view to his actions - proves there really wasnt all that much in it. The media and idiots who know little about footy found him just about guilty of first degree murder - yea, ok - see ya in round ONE Longy!!

Originally posted by dees01:
What Michael Long did to Troy Simmonds was an absoloute disgrace and certainly not with in the spirit of the game. He should be suspended and not for the silly Ansett Cup, but for some rounds of the main season. I have never been a big fan of his and I am certainly not now. While I'm all fired up, Dean Wallis is no better. He is nothing but a thug. I hear he might retire. Thank God for that. How he is has got two premierships is beyond me when you see other great players that don't even play finals.

I presume that you also believe that the tackle by David Schwarz on Mark Johnson about 5 minutes earlier in the second quarter was also "an absolute disgrace". Contact was made to Johnson's head in an almost perfectly identical way to the Long bump on Simmonds, and there was little room for doubt about the intention of the tackle. Result: a free kick. Johnson gets up groggy, holding his head, and unable to take the free kick. No stretcher and no neck brace = No media hype and no repeated replaying of the incident.

As for the Wallis punch to the left cheek of Brad Green, well, I suppose that he should've expected it after giving Wallis a left hook to the cheek a few seconds earlier. It was obviously a silly move in retrospect. Unfortunately for the media-men they didn't get the great side-view of that punch, only the less spectacular head-on shot, so they didn't bother replaying it ad-nauseam, as they did with the great side-on shot of the Wallis hook.

Have a look at the replay and WATCH without the stupid headline grabbing commentary, and try to be objective. Better still, watch a game where your team isn't participating and take notes on the physical clashes that happen. These are unfortunate incidents and it would be better that they didn't happen, but don't fall for the media manipulation.

It's a physical game and that's part of its attraction. There are many incidents each week which cause pain and but for luck could cause serious injury. If there is a decision to take out some of those physical aspects, lets do it. But lets do it all the way, not just with the particular incidents that are caught at the angle that makes for a great photo-op, and allows for the over-hyped commentators to grab a sound-byte. On the other hand, I think you'll find it a less exciting game.

Oh and, by the way, neither Schwarz nor Long "charged" their opponents, a "charge" only occurs when you deliberately jump off the ground to make the contact.

The tribunal was lenient. YOur boyfriend was wrong like a few commentators who live with the dinosaurs - there is nothing manly in a charge on a player with his head over the ball - illegal full stop and Long got 4 matches (he'd have got a lot more if he'd had a record with the Tribunal).

Schwarz should have got a suspension too. But his was less dangerous.

In general footy protects the head and neck pretty well these days - once upon a time it didn't. When I played in the late 70s early 80s I wore a rubber cycling helmet. But the AFL have moved with the times and in recognition of medical evidence about the impact of concussion on cognitive ability.

The Rugby codes have a long way to go - head and neck injuries are far far more common. Even Soccer has a problem with Dutch research in the last 2 years showing cognitive deficits in a surprisingly large group of players - especially strikers and defenders who head the ball all the time - mainly from concussion from clashes of heads but also perhaps from the repetitive banging the head with the ball.

Thankfully king hits in footy are becoming rare. The outrage over Long's hit wouldn't have happened a decade ago - he mightn't have even got reported. It was good to hear all the ABC Grandstand radio commentators outraged when the hit occured (I reckon they beat the Channel 7 commentators convincingly and you don't have to listen to commercials), this included former hard man Tommy Hafey - as they said you had to go back a footy generation to see a hit like that.

Anyway Long should've got at least 6 weeks and Schwarz 2 to emphasise the point.

The Australian today carried a letter by a grandmother of young footballers saying she'd have to reconsider encouraging them to play footy if incidents like Michael Long's shirt(head)front get light treatment. Only goes to confirm my point above.
PS:
BigFooty Poll
Did Michael Long get what he deserved?
50%
Yes, but the punishment was not tough enough.
29.1%
Yes, definately.
12.5%
No, a more lenient punishment was in order.
8.3%
No, he should not have been punished.

Total Votes: 24