Mick Malthouse/Damien Hardwick

• Thread starter Thread starter win1soon

Mick works for SEN too. You guys have thus far played one Thurs night match where Mick was providing special comments for SEN, another Friday nighter where Mick again was working for SEN and then a Saturday night match where we had already played the night before so as an opposition coach you scout your upcoming opposition that week in advance. So really, he went and watched Richmond once, like ALL AFL coaches do in the lead up to when they play them. The other two times was simply coincidence that Richmond played on the nights Mick happened to be fulfilling his obligations to SEN.
Didnt know Mick had a radio comments job (live on the Gold Coast, no SEN here) or any other media commitments for that matter.

Not too long ago (last couple of months) I think I read an article where Eddie was asked about Mick coaching elsewhere next year. To which Eddie replied something along the lines of: "Absolutely not, Mick has a contract with us and we want him to honour it".

I'm not sure how it works, perhaps if Collingwood let him go he can, but I'd think that if Malthouse has a contract with Collingwood he has to honour it, I don't think he can just bugger off and coach someone else.

Like Thommo.....:cool:

so he came back to Victoria for family reasons then now after two grandchildren come along you reckon he will up and leave back to other side of the country...a Bilion to One of that happening...i really couldn't see him leaving Collingwood until retirement where he will probably bob up in the media

I play footy with one son and cricket with another. He is not going back to WA.

f we want Hardwick to work out long term than bringing in MM would be a disaster. His presence would undermine Hardwick's authority at every turn.

The only way MM at Punt Rd. makes sense woud be as head coach. Someone of his starure and experience in the background would destroy any rookie coach.

Retrograde step. Let Damien create his own legacy.

Yep :thumbsu:

As Mick is contracted I couldn't see Colonwoood releasing him from the contract to take a similar position elsewhere.

If he was offered a position as head coach it may be different though

The only merit to this is that Buckley looks like a pretty hard headed bloke with a bit of ego who might feel that he is above taking advise from someone else and wants to do it his way.

Takes a big ego to demand he takes over regardless of Malthouses' performance.

If Malthouse felt that he would be pushed to the back then that would be hard to handle and perhaps a coach who was going to empower him a little more may be enticing.

Dont know what the relationship is between Malthouse and Buckley. You would think Malthouse would find it hard to support the bloke who has shafted him.

Help lift a club rather than support the bloke who shafted you reaping the rewards for your years of work.

Yep!

You would expect Benny Gale to have already begun the process.:D

Don't worry ox - he already has from what i have heard.

What do we think the FTF is for ;)

Mick Malthouse has always been about challenges and the fact is he has achieved all he can achieve at Collingwood . Not that i know the bloke but i just don't see him lingering in this role @ Collingwood . Too cushy and manufactured based on Eddies ego . If Collingwood jag another flag this year then i reckon its downright embarrassing and will be the downfall of the club .

This whole scenario was created by Eddie Macguire because his robust ego could not stand to see his love child end up at another club so this farcical situation has been created ... and i hope in some way we can be a beneficiary of it

I will bet my left testical that if they win a premiership , and Malthouse is "forced" to step aside ... there will be no way known he will stay at Collingwood . untenable

..... The other side of the coin in this scenario is how would it affect Damien Hardwick bringing Malthouse into the club . We would have to tread very warily

Yep :thumbsu:

As Mick is contracted I couldn't see Colonwoood releasing him from the contract to take a similar position elsewhere.

If he was offered a position as head coach it may be different though
Bomber Thompson was contracted too

If Mick wanted out they would let him go . Ridiculous to force a bloke to stay somewhere where does not want to be

You'd think that would normally be the case IDGAF, but Eddie rabbit has indicated he will play hard ball on this.

As you say they be creating an untenable situation. If Malthouse was offered another coaching job it would be very hard for them to stand in his way, but if it was only a similar postion elsewhere it could be a different story.

Time will tell.

You'd think that would normally be the case IDGAF, but Eddie rabbit has indicated he will play hard ball on this.

As you say they be creating an untenable situation. If Malthouse was offered another coaching job it would be very hard for them to stand in his way, but if it was only a similar postion elsewhere it could be a different story.

Time will tell.
It will youcancallmebetty ... it will

I suspect it will easily be the biggest story off field this year . Of course Eddie will say he is going to play hard ball , would not expect anything less , but with 8 coaches coming off contract ... Malthouse will be in an amazing position of strength .

Whilst i would love to see him at Punt rd. i suspect he will end up "somewhere" with a Wayne Bennett like contract of uber proportions

with any luck the whole episode will tear the fabric of the club apart and vastly reduce their time at the top.

Buckly thinking he will have a premiership handed to him on a platter but missing out would be History sweetly repeating itself:thumbsu:

with any luck the whole episode will tear the fabric of the club apart and vastly reduce their time at the top.

Buckly thinking he will have a premiership handed to him on a platter but missing out would be History sweetly repeating itself:thumbsu:
that would be magnificent .

interesting point also is how would they know if Bucks can coach when he is merely getting behind the wheel of a rolls royce purring magnificently ?

Imagine Matthews getting out of Brisbane half way through their reign ?

Same with Bomber Thompson .

The mark of a coach is when they build it from the ground up . If Collingwood are smart they will eat a little humble pie and sit down with all parties and rethink their situation because there is a very simple age old addage ..."if it aint broke don't try and fix it"

Collingwood thought 18 months ago That MM's time was up but right now clearly that is not the case ... Buckley himself would have to see that . But will his ego let him be reasonable about it ?;)

that would be magnificent .

interesting point also is how would they know if Bucks can coach when he is merely getting behind the wheel of a rolls royce purring magnificently ?

Imagine Matthews getting out of Brisbane half way through their reign ?

Same with Bomber Thompson .

The mark of a coach is when they build it from the ground up . If Collingwood are smart they will eat a little humble pie and sit down with all parties and rethink their situation because there is a very simple age old addage ..."if it aint broke don't try and fix it"
Collingwood thought 18 months ago That MM's time was up but right now clearly that is not the case ... Buckley himself would have to see that . But will his ego let him be reasonable about it ?;)

thats precisely what they should do, I honestly couldn't see MM going anywhere, he's no swooper Northey that would walk whilst contracted, he is made of much sterner stuff than that. sadly he's never showed a great inclination to revel in the old times at punt rd, declining any interest at various times during "situations vacant". For mine he looks to enjoy dabbling in the media, he will retire on top perhaps a year or two longer than initially thought but last stop as a magpie

The Eagles are into him in a massive way. Would not surprise me to see him head back west.

I was thinking the same thing tugga, but didn't Kristie not long ago have children. Makes Mick a grandfather. This may have a bearing on him staying in Melbourne??
Thoughts anyone on weather it's a factor or??

Pffft Mick had his chance .... he wanted a team we all hate.

All aboard the Dimma train *toot* *toot*

I can hear it now:

The Premiership coach of the Richmond Football Club in season 2*** Damien Hardwick !!! *Crowd erupts and Roars many supporters crying tears of joy*

Hardwick immortalised as the greatest living person in the world, new batch of Richmond babies named "Damien" or "Hardwick" and PRR can finally die a satisfied man :D

thats precisely what they should do, I honestly couldn't see MM going anywhere, he's no swooper Northey that would walk whilst contracted, he is made of much sterner stuff than that. sadly he's never showed a great inclination to revel in the old times at punt rd, declining any interest at various times during "situations vacant". For mine he looks to enjoy dabbling in the media, he will retire on top perhaps a year or two longer than initially thought but last stop as a magpie

You're an idiot. Like everything Eddie, it was a PR convenience to say he would be moving upstairs to accomodate Buckley after 2 years.

Neither Eddie, Buckley or Malthouse want that arrangement. They were buying themselves time. Do your homework sunshine.

What do we think the FTF is for ;)

Mick Malthouse has always been about challenges and the fact is he has achieved all he can achieve at Collingwood . Not that i know the bloke but i just don't see him lingering in this role @ Collingwood . Too cushy and manufactured based on Eddies ego . If Collingwood jag another flag this year then i reckon its downright embarrassing and will be the downfall of the club .

This whole scenario was created by Eddie Macguire because his robust ego could not stand to see his love child end up at another club so this farcical situation has been created ... and i hope in some way we can be a beneficiary of it

I will bet my left testical that if they win a premiership , and Malthouse is "forced" to step aside ... there will be no way known he will stay at Collingwood . untenable

..... The other side of the coin in this scenario is how would it affect Damien Hardwick bringing Malthouse into the club . We would have to tread very warily

Good points, but where do you sit with this? Do you support MM at Punt Road in a Bomber Thompson role or as the senior coach instead of Hardwick?

Honestly ??? ... probably not

Not saying much for our "rock solid game plan" should we try and tweek things now . As much of a romantic situation it is it would be , would only de-stablise things that have so painstakiningly put into place .

Would only continue our long tradition of knee-jerk thinking and reacting ...

The only way it possibly happen was if the sat down with DH and he was %110 for it .

Having said all this , i am near certain as i can be he will end up on the biggest contract in history a-la Wayne Bennett somewhere else anyway ... supply and demand and MM holds all the aces

Would love to see this. Malthouse as assistant with Hardwick would be amazing. Mick is one of if not the best coach of the last 5-10 years, I dont think it would happen but let's face it. Once a tiger, always a tiger:thumbsu:

Well, he actually grew up supporting Collingwood.

So I'd say he'd be pretty happy staying there. Was at one stage worried we might lose him, but to be honest, I'm now 99.99% confident he'll honour the contract.

I cant believe that the sight of Buckley holding the premiership cup aloft would appeal to MM at all.

Mick has been shafted by Buckley. The two years and bullshit appointment only covers it up. I couldnt for a minute imagine Malthouse really liking what Buckley did.

I reckon Mick would love to see someone like Hardwick show up Buckley.

Based on what?

MM used to play for us thirty years ago and hasnt been interested in the place since.

Nick is Jacks cousin?

Nice result just little basis behind it.

Well i have predictions a lot that come true, i am not saying i am a fortune teller or anything lol. with krakeour coming back, i predicted that 2 years before it happend and i won myself a really nice bet between a mate :D....

why i think nick will come to the tigers is that his contract is almost over, st.Kilda are on the down and will only drop more, the scandals he has had has put him in a shell, and it doesn't look like his happy down there. He knows the tigers are on the up, he was spotted talking to dimma a couple of years back, ive read how much Jack and Nick like to have a kick with each other and discuss there footy tactics.

i think Nick is losing his passion down at the saints. A fresh start and dominating partnership between Jack and Nick might win him over when it comes to the end of his contract. I just cant see Nick been at St.Kilda for the rest of his career. If he leaves, i can see Richmond been right on his door step.

i would love to watch these 2 on the same side

MM i cant see him hanging around Collingwood after he hands it to bucks. He still has a few years of coaching he can share with other sides. i think im more hopeing that he would come to the tigers then predicting it. i would probably change the years of my prediction as well

Well i have predictions a lot that come true, i am not saying i am a fortune teller or anything lol. with krakeour coming back, i predicted that 2 years before it happend and i won myself a really nice bet between a mate :D....

why i think nick will come to the tigers is that his contract is almost over, st.Kilda are on the down and will only drop more, the scandals he has had has put him in a shell, and it doesn't look like his happy down there. He knows the tigers are on the up, he was spotted talking to dimma a couple of years back, ive read how much Jack and Nick like to have a kick with each other and discuss there footy tactics.

i think Nick is losing his passion down at the saints. A fresh start and dominating partnership between Jack and Nick might win him over when it comes to the end of his contract. I just cant see Nick been at St.Kilda for the rest of his career. If he leaves, i can see Richmond been right on his door step.

i would love to watch these 2 on the same side

MM i cant see him hanging around Collingwood after he hands it to bucks. He still has a few years of coaching he can share with other sides. i think im more hopeing that he would come to the tigers then predicting it. i would probably change the years of my prediction as well

I just can't see Nick leaving the Saints and who for?
Cotchin?
Martin?
Lids?

FFS.

Starting to lose our minds in here.