Opinion Mick Malthouse MEGA THREAD

Should've stuck with Ratts. One more year on his contract, if he delivered great we win, if not, then they can release him whilst keeping their integrity intact knowing that they honoured the contract they gave him and then got Roos.

Way to be impatient, I guess that is the way of the Carlton Football Club. Hoping Mick can deliver because if he doesn't we would've wasted 3 million dollars and the board will be knee deep in it, and we will be going backwards again before we move forward onto success.

What's done is done, people may not agree, but I think it's time to accept what your club has decided upon and embrace it.

Here, Here - well said !!

... but if we lose to Gold Coast next year I'm instructing Swanny to start having dinner with Roosy ;)

Would really love for us to finally hit the magic 50K number next season. The club really expected us to do it this year but the season we had caused us to fall just short. IMO we always bite ourselves in the foot with a loss to an ordinary side or to Essendon or Collingwood early in the season.

The other thing is that there seems to be a big group of sooks that "barrick" for the club that won't sign up because of things like, sacking Fev. There were heaps of them the year after we did that according to a Carlton membership sales person who rang me. You can bet that there will be a few thousand whinging sooks who wont sign up this year because 1 what we did to Ratts, 2 getting Malthouse and/or Cloke or 3 because they don't like Sticks. I just hope the memberships the change brings outweighs what we lose and it should and I also hope we put in a strong nab cup and start the season strongly, including wins over Richmond, Collingwood and Essendon and no losses to ordinary sides. If this happens then we aught to go very close to reaching our goal. The best thing about bad supporters is that they are often also bandwagoners and as soon as we start winning, Malthouse/Cloke will be their greatest hero, Ratts will be in the past and Sticks will be held on their own pedistal. We can hit 50K but we are going to have to get off to a good start to do it.
Who did we lose against in 1995?

Two lowly sides in the Aints and the flying ducks from Sydney...

We should be able to get 50k next year... Regardless of what we did to Ratts.

The thing that might put people off is the Malthouse issue. We are appointing a premiership coach from our greatest enemies and that might put people off renewing their memberships...

However, you will get people like myself and a whole heap of others who support the club regardless of who is in charge of the players and we will renew our memberships.

It sounds like MM Really wants Cloke at Carlton. If the 1st Question Malthouse asks is whats happening with Cloke then it shows that Malthouse wants him in a Carlton jumper in 2013. Or is it just the way i see it and maybe others dont?

I am already seeing signs that its " all about Mick ", just as it was in his last year at Collingwood....
One day he's doing an interview on TV with Brian Taylor, the next day he's doing an interview on TV with Sandy Roberts...Then there's all the radio interviews....Why can't he keep a lower profile at this time, and do most of his talking behind closed doors ?....For a guy that once despised the media, he now really seems to enjoy his media profile.

I am already seeing signs that its " all about Mick ", just as it was in his last year at Collingwood....
One day he's doing an interview on TV with Brian Taylor, the next day he's doing an interview on TV with Sandy Roberts...Then there's all the radio interviews....Why can't he keep a lower profile at this time, and do most of his talking behind closed doors ?....For a guy that once despised the media, he now really seems to enjoy his media profile.

He is actually working for these media outlets and they are getting their money's worth out of him before he leaves. I'm not exactly convinced that Mick is asking to be interviewed for all these segments.

I'm sure he's not quite at their mercy...

Should've stuck with Ratts. One more year on his contract, if he delivered great we win, if not, then they can release him whilst keeping their integrity intact knowing that they honoured the contract they gave him and then got Roos.

Way to be impatient, I guess that is the way of the Carlton Football Club. Hoping Mick can deliver because if he doesn't we would've wasted 3 million dollars and the board will be knee deep in it, and we will be going backwards again before we move forward onto success.

How do we know that getting Roos would have been any different to getting Malthouse. A lot of people on here are being critisised for thinking that Malthouse is the messiah, but the ones who want Roos are doing the exact same thing.
No one knows if Malthouse will be successfull, but he is a proven, flag winning coach who IMO is the best available. I still think we should have kept Ratts, but he's gone and we've got the best coach out there who wants to coach.

How do we know that getting Roos would have been any different to getting Malthouse. A lot of people on here are being critisised for thinking that Malthouse is the messiah, but the ones who want Roos are doing the exact same thing.
No one knows if Malthouse will be successfull, but he is a proven, flag winning coach who IMO is the best available. I still think we should have kept Ratts, but he's gone and we've got the best coach out there who wants to coach.

Roos and Malthouse are very different coaches. MM is a passionate coach, Roos is a rational coach.... our club needs a rational coach right now.

Roos handles pressure (publicly at least) much better than MM. In the last few years at the pies Mick didn't handle pressure well at all, constantly fighting with the media and the milne incident. Also, Mick is already 59, not a long term prospect, Roos could coach for another 15 years.

Really disappointed at how this has gone down, didn't try hard enough with Roos because they didn't want to offend MM. FFS loan the Roosesesess the private jet to fly between Syd and Melb for the year....

well I'll Kennetted... when has Jeff ever been relevant?
I would say that he was relevant when he was premier of Victoria pulling the State out of the Cain/ Kirner abyss ( fairly relevant if you were a teacher getting sacked). Then after 6 years he got delusions of grandure, lost an unlosable election and left the labour party an increable war chest that decimated the State liberal party for a decade. Interestingly the election was on the day of the greatest game of football ever (1999 prelim). ?Since that day though - irrelevant.

He's giving Ch7 and 3AW as much leverage in this as possible. He earns big bucks with them, they rightly want all the exclusivity in this because to them it means ratings.

I have no problem with this. It's an orchestrated charade, you can tell by the way he and his mate BT go about it with each other.

I would say that he was relevant when he was premier of Victoria pulling the State out of the Cain/ Kirner abyss ( fairly relevant if you were a teacher getting sacked). Then after 6 years he got delusions of grandure, lost an unlosable election and left the labour party an increable war chest that decimated the State liberal party for a decade. Interestingly the election was on the day of the greatest game of football ever (1999 prelim). ?Since that day though - irrelevant.

Yep, and it was quite interesting how he went about doing it.

Roos and Malthouse are very different coaches. MM is a passionate coach, Roos is a rational coach.... our club needs a rational coach right now.

Roos handles pressure (publicly at least) much better than MM. In the last few years at the pies Mick didn't handle pressure well at all, constantly fighting with the media and the milne incident. Also, Mick is already 59, not a long term prospect, Roos could coach for another 15 years.

Really disappointed at how this has gone down, didn't try hard enough with Roos because they didn't want to offend MM. FFS loan the Roosesesess the private jet to fly between Syd and Melb for the year....

Agree, but Roos has NEVER been available to coach us, MM has. Maybe we should have kept Ratts on for 1 more year and then grabbed Roos.

Hindsight is a wonderful word but at the end of the day, the deal is done. And as soon as MM signs on the dotted line he will have my support 100%.

If Roos' isn't 100% into it, what results are you going to get?

His 2007-2010 seasons weren't the greatest and even he showed signs of "crackpot" syndrome with comments directed at opposition clubs, the AFL and players.

Roos' policy is trade away draft picks for players at other clubs. Is that what Carlton needs right now?

If Malthouse is the man, I'll back him. If it's someone else, I'll support them, too.

Interesting that Roos was a lot closer than we thought. One more year and he would have been the appointment.

It's just so disappointing that we couldn't have kept Ratts for that extra year, and then gotten Roos.
I actually agree with Kennett, and I cannot stand him or his 'family' club.
A bigger vision, and a longer term plan, with good values underpinning everything.

Oh well..it's done, and time to move on.
I'll wish the Silver Fox well, and hope we thrive with him as coach.

If I had a preference between Malthouse and Roos, I would probably lean towards Roos. However Roos doesn't really seem too fussed if he coaches again, where as Malthouse seems really eager to prove that he is still a capable coach, and probably doesn't want to be remembered for the way it ended at Collingwood.

I think the club has made the right decision

It seems that many are complaining about the way that the coaching appointment has been handled, but I just see it as a positive.

We're done for the year, yet we're still creating all the headlines.
We've let the pain of the Ratten sacking dissipate whilst slowing building excitement for the pending appointment of the new coach.

It may have come across as a mess but all this has been well orchestrated and should eventuate to adding members next year.

Roos and Malthouse are very different coaches. MM is a passionate coach, Roos is a rational coach.... our club needs a rational coach right now..

At his best Roos demonstrated that he was just as "passionate" a coach as Malthouse. I believe that this is a common misconception about Roos who you have to understand coached in the bubble of Sydney. I'm taking nothing away from his outstanding record or his actual coaching abilities but the man did it in a bubble. Could he replicate the same at a club that is going to be in the public spotlight 24x7x365? Malthouse has proven to be successful at two clubs who are in the spotlight as much as he will be at Carlton in the West Coast Eagles and Collingwood pressure cookers.

where as Malthouse seems really eager to prove that he is still a capable coach
Probably an understatement, I'm surprised he didn't fist-pump during the channel 7 interview last night :p

Kennett lecturing about one man being bigger than a club when all he did was make himself look like a flog whilst at the poo and wee's, even the palyers were embarrassed by the things he said..................push of Kennett, now you have left the Hawks it looks like you may take the flag, say much about you??