ChrisHunt313131
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Vote 1 to Mick for an AFL club to employ him as a part time strategist.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
He has been away from Collingwood for over 20 years and he has a lot of runs on the board to be considered on his own merit.
He was overlooked for several assistant coaching roles because of his drinking and gambling issues. which were well-known to everyone. Grant Thomas took him on at St Kilda as opposition scouting coach but it lasted only one year as Mick decided to leave when Thomas was shafted. Having said that is it any worse than sleeping with your best friends wife, or going for a joy ride (with a guy who became a convicted killer), or in Nick Stevens' case severely bashing his girlfriend and threatening to kill her?. Despite this Carey went to SA, Didak continued on his merry way and clubs tried to appoint Stevens as coach whilst he had appealed his jail sentence.
David Parkin has stated repeatedly that McGuane has the greatest brain in football that he has come across in his 50+ years in football. He coached Burnie to a premiership in his second year. He coached Gisborne to premierships in 2002-3 as well as coaching the U18's to a premiership in the same year and he he has coached Keilor to two premierships.
Didn't he belt someone in the Blues changeroom? Surely that makes amends for going there in the first place!
Would have made a great forward line coach these day's.yeah. Peter Mckenna never quite got over that hurdle
Parkin and Mathews have both stated how astute McGuane reads football,But then again Collingwood knows better.
He would be great in some form as in match day analysis perhaps?
But then again we have a few.
Marcus Wagner - Football Operations Manager
Tracey O'Connor - Executive Assistant
Ashley Collins - Performance Analysis Manager
Anthony Stoitsis - Performance Analyst (AFL)
Daniel Pelchen - Performance Analyst (Data)
Shane Joules - Performance Analyst (Opposition)
Ashley Close - Performance Analyst
Matthew Foster - Performance Analyst (VFL and Recruiting)
Parkin and Mathews have both stated how astute McGuane reads football,But then again Collingwood knows better.
He would be great in some form as in match day analysis perhaps?
But then again we have a few.
Marcus Wagner - Football Operations Manager
Tracey O'Connor - Executive Assistant
Ashley Collins - Performance Analysis Manager
Anthony Stoitsis - Performance Analyst (AFL)
Daniel Pelchen - Performance Analyst (Data)
Shane Joules - Performance Analyst (Opposition)
Ashley Close - Performance Analyst
Matthew Foster - Performance Analyst (VFL and Recruiting)
If he still a liability away from footy? Professionalism is pretty important these days, you don't want bogans who can't manage their personal life around your footy club.
Only 1? Half hearted attempt!Didn't he belt someone in the Blues changeroom? Surely that makes amends for going there in the first place!
It's not like he walked out on us like Daisy did. We sacked him. Tony Shaw, his mate and premiership captain no less. Not that it wasn't for good reason but he was pushed. If you listen to him, he's a Collingwood man.One simply doesn't get to return after leaving for Carlton, that's a one way door.
I want this to be true so badly lolDidn't he belt someone in the Blues changeroom? Surely that makes amends for going there in the first place!
Is a known jibberer at times, agree with earlier posts - go nuts at another club.If he's off the punt and booze he'd be good.
He turned up half cut to training and belted Matthew Hogg who had won best clubman or something like that. Didn't go down that well but summed up McGuane at he time and why he was exited by Shaw.
There's a link if you know who was on the bus.The premiership squad from 1990 make Dids Heater and Swanny look like choirboys in comparison. Although Millane and McCarthy are inextricably and tragically linked.
Different times pre internet
There's a link if you know who was on the bus.
Chipping in here.
Was Ned the manager of John McCarthy?
Don't know who managed McCarthy. Wasn't referring to the known bus "hijackers".Chipping in here.
Was Ned the manager of John McCarthy?
No appointment to an AFL club but great to hear Michael Christian & Mick McGuane on SEN replacing KB over summer! I listened to their show on 927 for years until they got replaced!
Good show on SEN 9am - 12pm!