Mick McGuane

He has been away from Collingwood for over 20 years and he has a lot of runs on the board to be considered on his own merit.

He was overlooked for several assistant coaching roles because of his drinking and gambling issues. which were well-known to everyone. Grant Thomas took him on at St Kilda as opposition scouting coach but it lasted only one year as Mick decided to leave when Thomas was shafted. Having said that is it any worse than sleeping with your best friends wife, or going for a joy ride (with a guy who became a convicted killer), or in Nick Stevens' case severely bashing his girlfriend and threatening to kill her?. Despite this Carey went to SA, Didak continued on his merry way and clubs tried to appoint Stevens as coach whilst he had appealed his jail sentence.

David Parkin has stated repeatedly that McGuane has the greatest brain in football that he has come across in his 50+ years in football. He coached Burnie to a premiership in his second year. He coached Gisborne to premierships in 2002-3 as well as coaching the U18's to a premiership in the same year and he he has coached Keilor to two premierships.

Parkin and Mathews have both stated how astute McGuane reads football,But then again Collingwood knows better.
He would be great in some form as in match day analysis perhaps?
But then again we have a few.

Marcus Wagner - Football Operations Manager

Tracey O'Connor - Executive Assistant

Ashley Collins - Performance Analysis Manager

Anthony Stoitsis - Performance Analyst (AFL)

Daniel Pelchen - Performance Analyst (Data)

Shane Joules - Performance Analyst (Opposition)

Ashley Close - Performance Analyst

Matthew Foster - Performance Analyst (VFL and Recruiting)

Parkin and Mathews have both stated how astute McGuane reads football,But then again Collingwood knows better.

Surely some jobs can be cut there and spend more some honest hard working recruiters.

Its like a who's who of nobodys

Im sure they are doing their best, just like Bucks

If he still a liability away from footy? Professionalism is pretty important these days, you don't want bogans who can't manage their personal life around your footy club.

So, we're happy to re-employ 2 drug cheats as well as considering Lethlean to replace Perty? We also kept Wellingham on the list even after he cost us the TAC sponsorship. It's all about how we manage McGuane - while I don't expect him to curb his drinking as long as he keeps it under control and doesn't affect his job I don't see any issues.

Everyone agrees on the upside and it's not as if our coaching panel is overflowing with footy intelligence.

One simply doesn't get to return after leaving for Carlton, that's a one way door.
It's not like he walked out on us like Daisy did. We sacked him. Tony Shaw, his mate and premiership captain no less. Not that it wasn't for good reason but he was pushed. If you listen to him, he's a Collingwood man.

All that really matters is whether he would make us a better if he coached at Collingwood in some capacity.

He turned up half cut to training and belted Matthew Hogg who had won best clubman or something like that. Didn't go down that well but summed up McGuane at he time and why he was exited by Shaw.

I heard Dal Santo speaking on radio last weekend about the best coaches hes had and he mentioned Mick McGuane first as the absolute best he had in his time. Not that Nicky Dal is the messiah or anything, but it was unprompted, and pretty high praise. THink hes worth a look at least.

He turned up half cut to training and belted Matthew Hogg who had won best clubman or something like that. Didn't go down that well but summed up McGuane at he time and why he was exited by Shaw.

The premiership squad from 1990 make Dids Heater and Swanny look like choirboys in comparison. Although Millane and McCarthy are inextricably and tragically linked.

Different times pre internet

Always liked listening to Mick's thoughts on 927. He sees things that often get overlooked by other media. Has a hard edge in his assement too. I remember him potting his cousin Luke, after a poor game, calling for him to be dropped. Did lol.

No appointment to an AFL club but great to hear Michael Christian & Mick McGuane on SEN replacing KB over summer! I listened to their show on 927 for years until they got replaced!

Good show on SEN 9am - 12pm!

It was great listening on Monday and I got a bit of a shock when I first heard Chrisso, but I’d be wrapt if they stepped in to replace Leach next year!