Mickey Arthur Sacked

“The Board considered him the outstanding candidate to drive the cultural change required in the team and to take it to the number one ranking in all formats of the game. No-one is underestimating the task at hand but we believe he is the right man for the job. It is up to the players to respond under his leadership and demonstrate their commitment to a successful Australian team,” said Sutherland.

The outstanding candidate. I wonder how many applied for the job. o_O

Good luck to him, but there is no way that CA have done a full analysis of all potential candidates. Smacks of desperation to me.

Also it's interesting to see that Inverarity and Marsh have escaped most of the scrutiny in this as well. While both are acknowledged cricket minds, Invers is into his seventies now and Marsh can't be far behind. Are they the right men to be leading the way? Simmo was turfed when he started to get too cantankerous, these guys are thirty years out of first class cricket now.

Marto had a shot at Inverarity on twitter.

“The Board considered him the outstanding candidate to drive the cultural change required in the team and to take it to the number one ranking in all formats of the game. No-one is underestimating the task at hand but we believe he is the right man for the job. It is up to the players to respond under his leadership and demonstrate their commitment to a successful Australian team,” said Sutherland.

The outstanding candidate. I wonder how many applied for the job. o_O

Good luck to him, but there is no way that CA have done a full analysis of all potential candidates. Smacks of desperation to me.

It's quite interesting that they've already given him the job until Jun 2015.

Says to me that they decided to change after India.

Also it's interesting to see that Inverarity and Marsh have escaped most of the scrutiny in this as well. While both are acknowledged cricket minds, Invers is into his seventies now and Marsh can't be far behind. Are they the right men to be leading the way? Simmo was turfed when he started to get too cantankerous, these guys are thirty years out of first class cricket now.

I can't speak for Marsh, but Inverarity is a cricket nut and a genuine good guy and technically a very sound coach and tactically a genius, he's far from a fool but like his predecsessor, he cops the brunt of blame when things go pear shaped and that's fair enough. Both Hilditch and Invers have both shielded a lot of flack from Ponting and Clarke in terms of selections gone wrong in recent times. Whether the Captain is an official selector or not doesn't phase me as in recent times they have always had a large say in the make up of the team. It will be interesting to see what happens going forward from here. Inverarity has expressed concerns that maybe the generation gap between he and the "new breed" is a bridge too far and he could be right. More to the point the values that he has a very different from the ones of the players he is trying to develop and that isn't going to change anytime soon. Lehmann has a big job in front of him.

It seems ironic that we asked Mickey Arthur to establish a culture in the team. Did he know anything about being Australian? I know there's probably going to be a new bloke in the team who is just off the boat from Pakistan and I know that the days of yobbo Aussie cricket teams should be gone, but can you really establish an Australian team culture if you've never played for the country? It seemed ridiculous to appoint a foreign coach in those circumstances. If they were trying to replicate the South African team culture then Mickey would have been the man, but my understanding is that they want to return to the good ol days of Steve Waugh and Mark Taylor.....isn't there someone who played in that team who could coach?....oh yeh! how about Darren Lehmann??? They should save themselves a million dollars and put me in Sutherland's position.

Is Rodney Hogg always like that? If so, he is either cricket's answer to Sam Newman (the character, not man who plays him) or a dead-set fool.

Clarke took the stickers off his bat because he is selfish? It was somehow disrespectful to Australia?

This silly on the piss?

I can't decide whether Hogg is just an enormously passionate but jaded ex-cricketer, or if he's become the new Neil Harvey-style dial a quote.

I'm leaning towards the latter after listening to that SEN clip yesterday and seeing in on Fox Sports tonight.

Hey, here's a question - I've been at work all day, and didn't hear about this til I got an email at 4pm this arvo.

The media release and press conference have only occured in the last half an hour (watching a really, really friggen dull presser now).

How was this news broken a full 10 hours before the announcement? Is this more evidence of issues within the set up? Or is that just one of those things that happens on an Ashes tour when the journos are in such proximity to the team?

It seems ironic that we asked Mickey Arthur to establish a culture in the team. Did he know anything about being Australian? I know there's probably going to be a new bloke in the team who is just off the boat from Pakistan and I know that the days of yobbo Aussie cricket teams should be gone, but can you really establish an Australian team culture if you've never played for the country? It seemed ridiculous to appoint a foreign coach in those circumstances. If they were trying to replicate the South African team culture then Mickey would have been the man, but my understanding is that they want to return to the good ol days of Steve Waugh and Mark Taylor.....isn't there someone who played in that team who could coach?....oh yeh! how about Darren Lehmann??? They should save themselves a million dollars and put me in Sutherland's position.

And make decisions based on xenephobia and ignorant views on bogan culture?

It's Arthurs' failure that convinces me more than anything of the toxic culture within the team. He created the best team in the world after turning them around from issues far more serious and deeply ingrained than a couple of prima-donnas and cashed up bogans.

I can't decide whether Hogg is just an enormously passionate but jaded ex-cricketer, or if he's become the new Neil Harvey-style dial a quote.

I'm leaning towards the latter after listening to that SEN clip yesterday and seeing in on Fox Sports tonight.

Hey, here's a question - I've been at work all day, and didn't hear about this til I got an email at 4pm this arvo.

The media release and press conference have only occured in the last half an hour (watching a really, really friggen dull presser now).

How was this news broken a full 10 hours before the announcement? Is this more evidence of issues within the set up? Or is that just one of those things that happens on an Ashes tour when the journos are in such proximity to the team?

Well Arthur and the players would have being told in the morning.

So if James Sutherland is so adamant the decision was made due to poor performance, why is it the man in charge of performance sitting next to him is still in a job, while the coach is not

Well Arthur and the players would have being told in the morning.

Obviously.

I'm more asking, is it likely something that was supposed to be kept in house until tonight?

Or is the nature of an Ashes tour just that it was impossible to keep quiet?

Think Mickey Arthur's stretching it a bit to say that we were 20 minutes away from something special in the Champions Trophy

Well Darren Lehmann should get rid of the ridiculous decision to never select Cosgrove.

Bloke scores runs. I don't care that he is fat.

Christ almighty. Don't really know where to start with this. A few of my mates reckon that this improves Australia's chances slightly if only because it appears the players will be happier with 'one of their own' in charge. Whether it'll be enough to clear up the disharmony in the dressing room, which seemed more about pro- and anti-Clarke factions than it did about Mickey Arthur - remains to be seen.

But it doesn't say much for the attitude of some of the players that a) they're letting their personal dislike (if that's what it is) of their captain and best player affect their own performances and commitment, and b) that the coach who tried to improve their professionalism lost his job.

As far as I can can gather, most of the admiration for Lehmann stems not from any tactical savvy but from his old-school, uncomplicated motivation of players. That'll get you so far but, as we say over here, you can't polish a turd. Overall the appointment strikes me as about as well thought through as appointing Kevin Keegan as manager of the England football team: he was very well-liked by players and pundits alike, passionate and had had reasonable success at club level. But it very soon turned out he was totally unsuited to the complexities and subtleties of international management: he was tactically unsophisticated, too close to the players to have critical distance, and didn't have the intelligence or cunning necessary to play the behind-the-scenes politics game. His time in charge was a shambles.

Lehmann will probably be a much better motivator but his experience of handling a major Test team is virtually nil, far less than Mickey Arthur's. It's a huge step up, even if things were going well, but they're clearly not. I suppose what that means though is that rock bottom has now been reached and that the only way is up.

Clarke hates anyone who dares to threaten his humongous ego. Arthur stroked it, thats why they got a along and he stayed for too long.

Clarke is the captaincy role is a cancer.

Clarke is probably unpopular in the camp. This unpopularity was less of a factor while the veteran figures of Hussey and Ponting were around to hold the camp together. But as soon as Hussey and Ponting stepped down everything has fallen apart. Its a team with no real leaders .

resignation should be rejected. the reality is, the captain is still gonna have a say in selection. they shouldn't, but cricket likes to think it's different and the powers that be will have a hard time saying no and so the captain will still be asked for his thoughts, and his thoughts will still carry a lot. The difference is now there's absolutely zero accountability. (which is the whole reason the captain and coach officially joined the panel). if this is the start of a brand new era where players play, fine, but we all know it won't be. Let's go get Nathan Hauritz's candid thoughts on the role captain has in selection....
btw clarke offered to resign after the indian tour so it probably was rejected, and: "While no longer an official selector, Sutherland says that Clarke will still be heavily consulted by the National Selection Panel on all team selection issues." so

that is a long tour. i don't think davey warner's drinking buddies could handle 8 years of non stop drinking.

I'm sure the Warriors can make up for it.

don't have an issue with Arthurs being sacked as I quite like Lemann, what I want to know is when Invererity will fall on his sword

And make decisions based on xenephobia and ignorant views on bogan culture?

It's Arthurs' failure that convinces me more than anything of the toxic culture within the team. He created the best team in the world after turning them around from issues far more serious and deeply ingrained than a couple of prima-donnas and cashed up bogans.

Personally I think the culture is set by the fact that the players can go to India and make a million bucks for half an hour of slogging the ball for a couple of weeks. btw I dont think employing an Australian to coach Australia is xenophobic...

don't have an issue with Arthurs being sacked as I quite like Lemann, what I want to know is when Invererity will fall on his sword

Why should Inverarity fall on his sword?

Not his fault that there aren't any decent batsman in the country to pick.

List of problems with Lehmann:

Played for SA, Victoria and Yorkshire
Once re-tweeted a tweet sent by The Governor
Uses the term old school
Gave Luke Pomersbach another chance
Seems to like Daniel Christian
Racist abuse thing

ok guys what else.

Doesn't mind a sook.