Mid Gippy

News is that Glenn Michie is locked in to return to Newborough for 2014. Playing his last year and will travel down each week from Melbourne.

On a serious note, tragic news of Yallourn Nth player Luke Sporton's passing yesterday. Hope everyone at the club is able to get through this difficult time.......Team mates and club officials spoke highly of him as a player and person.:rainbow: Sad day for the league.

Terribly sad news for Sportys family and friends and the YYN footy club. Was a very fine player for the bombers and above all else a ripper bloke. May he rest in peace

Mirboo should do what Newborough did last year and get their premiership shirts made up tonight. Im gving your boys no chance Plugga, haven't seen favourites this short since Traf 2010 :)

Mirboo by 5 goals, Damo Turner best on, Blairy to warm the pine for the on-ballers coming off the ground.

Should be a good contest, get the feeling Newborough will really back themselves and go in confident. Mirboo with one game in a month is a bit of a worry but I think they'll be good enough to get up on the day. Mirboo by 2 goals I reckon.

Good to see Jimmy Dowling take out the league votes on Monday night. Does anyone know if a team of the year was selected?

Big risk playing big kenno this weekend hope it back fires like playing risol last year!!
Mirboo to do the double

I hear today that Chris Kyriacou is heading back to moe after being sacked by traf!!
Would of thought they would keep him on seeing all the players love playing for him

Didn't see the game on Saturday. Did listen to 2nd half on local radio. Radio commentators seemed not to impressed with how the Newborough bench performed. Does anyone believe this may have had an impact on the end result ? Or was Mirboo Nth just to good on the day.

Was a great, even contest all day. In regards to the interchange Newborough probably didn't get as much out of some of the players that started on the bench as they would've liked but that's footy. Can think of one or two Mirboo Nth players who were quiet too. Not everyone can play well in a grand final unfortunately but the interchange didn't really have an effect on the end result. Mirboo just happened to be ahead when the siren went,it was that close all day

Sorry must not of explained my self. The radio commentators were being critical of the people making the moves . Not the players sitting on the bench.

Thanks for that,
Newborough seemed to use the interchange as a real tactic, clearly rotating more than Mirboo. Noticed they would bring a player off after that player had kicked a goal, AFL style, although I don't believe it happened every time. Maybe in hindsight they did rotate a too often. Personally I'd prefer to keep your best players out there in some capacity at least. Eg resting a mid in the forwardline rather than bringing him off completely.
Plugeroo could shed some light on this I'm sure....

The all cashed up Bulldogs go back to back!!! Even without Choco playing seniors (could not beleive it when I saw him running around in the magoos!!o_O) The Newborough treasurer would be under alot of pressure to keep his job after investing so much coin into the last two years and having no flag to show for it!:eek:

If Kman goes to Moe, I'm following!:)

Thanks for that,
Newborough seemed to use the interchange as a real tactic, clearly rotating more than Mirboo. Noticed they would bring a player off after that player had kicked a goal, AFL style, although I don't believe it happened every time. Maybe in hindsight they did rotate a too often. Personally I'd prefer to keep your best players out there in some capacity at least. Eg resting a mid in the forwardline rather than bringing him off completely.
Plugeroo could shed some light on this I'm sure....
Yeah was a tactic that we used the previous week against Yinnar and had toyed with for the previous 6 weeks in preparation.

Kicking a goal was not a prerequisite for coming off. And players only spent 4 minutes on the bench when they did come off, and 16 minutes (at least) on the ground, although not in the midfield for that long. There were other reasons for doing it but Im sure it will be developed further next year so I will say no more.

Against Yinnar it won us the game, and it very nearly paid dividends again on Saturday. Ce La Vie. Mirboo beat us by 11 goals in round 2 or 3 and we just fell short 18 weeks later. Thats footy. Top load of blokes up there.

The all cashed up Bulldogs go back to back!!! Even without Choco playing seniors (could not beleive it when I saw him running around in the magoos!!o_O) The Newborough treasurer would be under alot of pressure to keep his job after investing so much coin into the last two years and having no flag to show for it!:eek:

If Kman goes to Moe, I'm following!:)
Aside of the complete rubbish in the first paragraph, a Traf insider tells me that Chris will be going nowhere and will be working away and will play when he can. But you would know Liam. You are best mates with him.

I'm up in Port Douglas Plugger. In all seriousness I didn't think u guys would get within 6 goals of Mirboo.

1. MN had ur number the last few years. Have not lost in a long while.
2. MN had pretty much a full list to go with, couple of blokes a little under done with match fitness. But no excuses
3. Big ground of Morwell with AGrade condition of ground a big plus for MN talls.

Newbough must have had a blinder Plugeroo. How did it shake out the game.

I'm up in Port Douglas Plugger. In all seriousness I didn't think u guys would get within 6 goals of Mirboo.

1. MN had ur number the last few years. Have not lost in a long while.
2. MN had pretty much a full list to go with, couple of blokes a little under done with match fitness. But no excuses
3. Big ground of Morwell with AGrade condition of ground a big plus for MN talls.

Newbough must have had a blinder Plugeroo. How did it shake out the game.
Well getting the rain early and throughout the game certainly helped us. Some of the bigger boys were hitting bodies and it had a few of the MN boys fumbling a bit. Nothing illegal of course but just hard at the ball.

The rotations, as mentioned above were probably 4-1 in favour of us. Kept our blokes fresher for longer. Rather than tag one player and reduce the rotations, we decided to go head to head and tackle that problem if it arose. We were forced to play permanent half forwards to combat Bence as he ate us up last time. Bringing Kennedy in helped our balance and forced MN to go one on one in defence and we did our best to isolate him when we could.

Webber kicked 3-3 and hit the post twice. Another poster from someone else as well (MN hit it twice too, if I recall). MN kicked a goal in junk time in both the 1st and 2nd quarters (both right on the siren and from the boundary). We arrested the lead at about the 10 minute mark of the last. Our blokes were terrific and held them off until about 3 minutes to go when they scrapped a goal that bounced through after a turnover on our half back line. Funnily enough, we have hit the post 8 times in 2 grand finals and lost by a total of 14 points...ha ha!

We tried our best to arrest the lead back, but when Hank won a free kick 5 seconds before the siren and about 60m out, the big fella was never going to get the distance and it was directed at the top of the square when the siren sounded. Chandler came off with about 5 to go with a torn hammy so we missed his experience out there, at the crucial time. In the end, Mirboo were just a bit better under pressure and with their delivery than we were in the frantic final quarter. Mirboo won the premiership, but we would have been just as deserving winners.

What I liked was that I dont think either team got out to more than 12 points all day, and both had their time with leads like that. It was a real see-sawing game and both sides were fantastic at stages.

Was a top game and anyone that paid their $12 would have got their money's worth.

Newborough were always going to be a tough match up for Mirboo North.
Newborough have a gun ruck and Mirboo North weakness is their midfield, evens things up.
Game starts from there and if sides can limit MN going forward, they have a chance.
I expected a very close game and was on record on here saying I didn't think Mirboo North could win the flag with their current midfield, so congrats to them, they done a terrific job and deserved the flag.

Scary thing is that it's hard to see Mirboo North going backwards, given the quality of kids they have coming through - and older blokes like Traill don't appear to be slowing down.

And Bay Sixer, I laughed as well when I seen Peters in the seconds.
He might be a flog, but he is class player and for Mirboo North to drop him ahead of blokes who were committed from the start of the year - that has to be applauded, I assume that is what happened, perhaps someone can shed some light on that?

Newborough were always going to be a tough match up for Mirboo North.
Newborough have a gun ruck and Mirboo North weakness is their midfield, evens things up.
Game starts from there and if sides can limit MN going forward, they have a chance.
I expected a very close game and was on record on here saying I didn't think Mirboo North could win the flag with their current midfield, so congrats to them, they done a terrific job and deserved the flag.

Scary thing is that it's hard to see Mirboo North going backwards, given the quality of kids they have coming through - and older blokes like Traill don't appear to be slowing down.

And Bay Sixer, I laughed as well when I seen Peters in the seconds.
He might be a flog, but he is class player and for Mirboo North to drop him ahead of blokes who were committed from the start of the year - that has to be applauded, I assume that is what happened, perhaps someone can shed some light on that?

U say Newbough was always going to be a tough match up for MN. How many games in a row had MN beaten Newbough again????

Fxxxxcking lots is the answer.

U say Newbough was always going to be a tough match up for MN. How many games in a row had MN beaten Newbough again????

Fxxxxcking lots is the answer.

Mirboo North won by 4 points in a great game, obviously leading into the finals I didn't think they had the midfield to win the flag, they won by 4 points, so I guess you are right and I am wrong.
It was a good game to watch and Mirboo North were deserving winners.

I had Newborough captain or coach best on, as well as I think it was J.Nash had a good game, speaking of which I think Gippy Latrobe sides should be lining up for those Nash kids, we could sure do with them at East anyway.

Good game both sides and agree or disagree Hodgy, we'll carry on with it next year and congrats on the flag:)

I hear today that Chris Kyriacou is heading back to moe after being sacked by traf!!
Would of thought they would keep him on seeing all the players love playing for him

haha got to get you facts right Kyra didn't get sacxked he stood down after the game cause he has a family now and wants to focus on them !!! P.s durks you are a flog !

Well getting the rain early and throughout the game certainly helped us. Some of the bigger boys were hitting bodies and it had a few of the MN boys fumbling a bit. Nothing illegal of course but just hard at the ball.

The rotations, as mentioned above were probably 4-1 in favour of us. Kept our blokes fresher for longer. Rather than tag one player and reduce the rotations, we decided to go head to head and tackle that problem if it arose. We were forced to play permanent half forwards to combat Bence as he ate us up last time. Bringing Kennedy in helped our balance and forced MN to go one on one in defence and we did our best to isolate him when we could.

Webber kicked 3-3 and hit the post twice. Another poster from someone else as well (MN hit it twice too, if I recall). MN kicked a goal in junk time in both the 1st and 2nd quarters (both right on the siren and from the boundary). We arrested the lead at about the 10 minute mark of the last. Our blokes were terrific and held them off until about 3 minutes to go when they scrapped a goal that bounced through after a turnover on our half back line. Funnily enough, we have hit the post 8 times in 2 grand finals and lost by a total of 14 points...ha ha!

We tried our best to arrest the lead back, but when Hank won a free kick 5 seconds before the siren and about 60m out, the big fella was never going to get the distance and it was directed at the top of the square when the siren sounded. Chandler came off with about 5 to go with a torn hammy so we missed his experience out there, at the crucial time. In the end, Mirboo were just a bit better under pressure and with their delivery than we were in the frantic final quarter. Mirboo won the premiership, but we would have been just as deserving winners.

What I liked was that I dont think either team got out to more than 12 points all day, and both had their time with leads like that. It was a real see-sawing game and both sides were fantastic at stages.

Was a top game and anyone that paid their $12 would have got their money's worth.
Good summation of the game Plug. You have to feel for the Newborough players, whether you like the club or not you have to admire and respect the effort they put in on the day. They did very little wrong and as has been aludded to the game could've gone either way. It will be interesting to see where they go from here. Do Hank and Kenno go on? Will Risol come back? And who will coach? Have heard all sorts of rumours flying around