Mid season review.

• Thread starter Thread starter rgauci

FreoFury said:
This is what is starting to concern me. Big fella's heart doesnt seem to be in it. I hope for all of our sakes I am mis-reading things.
No, I don't think you are mis-reading things. Pav is looking disinterested.

RIPPER_46 said:
Exactly right.

FWIW I thought that they had a red hot go in the third quarter in particular. Pity that they couldn't nail even one goal from all the play & shots they had.

I thought we were in trouble when Ottens & GAbblet couldn't miss.

It is shame that the bigger picture gets lost in the blame game when we lose , even when we play allright.

It depends on how big you want to make the picture. Rip, you tend to focus very narrowly, and it's ironic you suggest we look at the big picture.

One size picture is the third quarter. After flogging us 8 goals to 2, Geelong was always going to drop off and we were going to lift. The game was always going to swing back towards us slightly. In any case Geelong still managed to extend their lead by game's end.

Another size picture is the whole game. We were beaten by 11 goals by a side we should be matching stride for stride, goal for goal.

Another size picture is the season. We have lost 3 of the last 4 with only a last gasp win over Richmond -- a team very much in development mode -- to our credit.

Another size picture is the last three seasons. We have gone into the break with basically a 50-50 record for the last three seasons.

You can spin it anyway you like but none of my points is that open to interpretation, and they all point to a club that has not delivered on its promises. Who will be accountable?

I'm kinda interested in your footy background. If you think we played all right in any quarter yesterday, I'd question your understanding of the game. We were a rabble.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I'm kinda interested in your footy background. If you think we played all right in any quarter yesterday, I'd question your understanding of the game. We were a rabble.

I said they had a red hot go which they did, not played allright.

Despite not playing allright we still had as many inside 50's and as many shots on goal.

That is not spin or someone gut feel, those are the stats.

RIPPER_46 said:
It is shame that the bigger picture gets lost in the blame game when we lose , even when we play allright.

Are you seriously talking about the game on Saturday, Freo vs Geelong? Mate I would love to have your outlook on life if you reckon that was allright.

It was a woeful performance.

Vintage said:
Are you seriously talking about the game on Saturday, Freo vs Geelong? Mate I would love to have your outlook on life if you reckon that was allright.

It was a woeful performance.

Not that particular game, but always when we lose (even narrowly) the same things are said.

I am just saying that whether we win or lose has a huge bearing on the perception of things.

e.g. If the Toast had beat us by less than a kick no one would say that we played well that game.

It would have been all the insipid , lazy , mediocre , disinterested adjectives all get trotted out again.

RIPPER_46 said:
I am just saying that whether we win or lose has a huge bearing on the perception of things.

e.g. If the Toast had beat us by less than a kick no one would say that we played well that game.

It would have been all the insipid , lazy , mediocre , disinterested adjectives all get trotted out again.

That's bullsh1te. My mates and I were already saying that it had been a really good game, and even if we lost it was a good game. Its all about the WAY we have been losing, especially on Saturday.

Vintage said:
That's bullsh1te. My mates and I were already saying that it had been a really good game, and even if we lost it was a good game. Its all about the WAY we have been losing, especially on Saturday.

Can't kick straight. We had as many inside 50's and more shots on goal as we did the week before.

That indicates to me we could bounce back fairly quickly.

RIPPER_46 said:
Of course it still burns.
Dwelling on it achieves nothing though.

I have seen enough in the last half of the year to be enthusiastic about next year.

The out of site improvement and new found hardness in Sandi, Schammer, DJ & Grover.
The imminent return of Haddrill, Hayden , Haines , Dunn , Browne.
The addition of at least two quality young draftee's.

The performance of the reserves in the London game including the physicality.

Interestingly Rodney Eade at the Dogs sent email to all the Club officials telling them to jump on anyone that dropped their heads whem Luke Darcy went down.

It is up to us to get the 19th man thing happening again and generate some optimism & enthusiasm for 2006 , even if we are not quite sure what will happen.

Let's look forward and not backwards.

If we bomb out in 2006 at the end of the season I will be leading the lynching party but you won't catch me grizzling when things are achievable.

Cheers.

Ripper , We all love your support and positive spin , but we got flogged against the cats ... and as per your reply to a post earlier in the year , We are all awaiting your lead in the Lynching mob ...

We have been promised to play finals and win one this season , With our % Can you see us coming back intot he eight ? We all hope so , But there has been no improvement in the last 3 seasons . We are all want to move forward , but we always remain the same mid ladder ...

Cheers ...

p.s. Been to Meeka a few times ...

Topdock65 said:
Ripper , We all love your support and positive spin , but we got flogged against the cats ... and as per your reply to a post earlier in the year , We are all awaiting your lead in the Lynching mob ...

We have been promised to play finals and win one this season , With our % Can you see us coming back intot he eight ? We all hope so , But there has been no improvement in the last 3 seasons . We are all want to move forward , but we always remain the same mid ladder ...

Cheers ...

p.s. Been to Meeka a few times ...

I'll be leading the lyching party at the end of the season if need be.

Things can turn quickly, look at Port or Geelong or even the Tigers.

It was only a couple of weeks ago everybody wanted Thompson and Chocco sacked.

Bell - 5/10, should step down as Captain for next season, gets cheap kicks in backline when he should be leading from the front doing the hard things he used to do at the Roos
Black - 5/10, way down on last year, not as aggressive as last year, & has he kicked a goal this year?
Browne - yet to play, needs a game or 2 by seasons end to see if worth another punt for 2007
Campbell - 3/10, just the 1 game, liked him at West Perth this year, is developing but needs to sit in goalsquare at FF if tried again
Josh Carr - 8/10, probably his best season to date, had a shocker in round 1 but been very good since
Matt Carr - 4/10, not playing anywhere near his capacity, not running hard, not being hard enough at the man, lacks conviction
Cook - 2/10, played a handful of games, but seems to slow, poor skills, great tackler, great heart but is past it
Copping - yet to play & from what I've seen of him probably won't ever play
Crowley - 5/10, started off well enough, but then really struggled after being BOG v Carlton, then got injured & 1st up effort last v Geelong was very average
Dodd - 6/10, improved slightly being our #1 tagger, struggles with his disposal though
Drum - yet to play, but apparently played his best game for Perth on weekend, may get chance by end of year
Farmer - 5/10, Started off well averaging 3 goals a game but since then has struggled, did some stupid things on weekend, needs to lift
Gilmore - 2/10, Played a handful of games but has had no real influence & seems bound for Wafl stardom
Grover - 6/10, our best defender & was superb in 1st 8 games, then struggled badly against Brisbane, will be missed though in next 2 months....badly
Haddrill - 1/10, played 1st game on weekend did knee out again until 2007, hasn't played much since 2003, will be kept but must be on last chance next year
Haines - yet to play & won't pull on purple guernsey again after yet another long term injury
Hasleby - 4/10, played 2-3 games superbly but all other games has looked tired or injured or both & disinterested. Turning out not to be the great player he was destined for...doesn't chase hard enough, would even contemplate a trade dare I say it
Hayden - 2/10, p-layed 3 games, 2 were awful with skill clangers very high, whilst the 1 good game was against Port Adelaide in the win at Aami. Playing good footy at Souths so hopefully can redeem himself after bye
Headland - 6/10, playing his best year at the club, running hard & whilst still just an outside player is finishing off well (bar v Geelong) & also showing good aggression
Ibbotson - yet to play & won't this year, currently playing reserves footy for East Freo
Johnson - 8/10, great year form 2nd year player, superbly skilled, great overhead, will only get better...but what happened v geelong, hopefully just a hiccup
Longmuir - 2/10, injured most of the year but when he played had little or no impact...hopefully the rest will rekindle something as should be in out top 5 players & he isn't...has been on list 1998!
McManus - 6/10, sparked up again after last years disaster...playing hard aggressive footy & keeping clangers to a minimum
McPharlin - 3/10, terrible season at FF, misses easy shots on goal, getting in Pav's way, playing dumb forward line footy, must return to CHB for now
Medhurst - 5/10, starting to play good footy at HFF, just needs to think a bit more & remember how to kick goals on the run. I'm sure he must be leading Afl for points kicked this year?
Mundy - 6/10, doesn't miss a target, playing good honest footy down back, would prefer him to have a man other than be loose across half back but what can you do
Murphy - 3/10, played 1 good game wher he kicked 3 opportunistic goals other than that has done nothing, may be called upon for defensive option in 2nd half of year
Parker - 4/10, played 2-3 honest reliable games but has been down on previous years...still manages to repeatedly give away stupid clanger goals weekly...last year please!
Pavlich - 7/10, tried his heart out in forward line often swamped with 2-3 opponents, still needs to step up another cog in 2nd half
Peake - 6/10, 1st few games were woeful from peakey but has hit his straps in past month & been the only Freo player willing to run hard & direct into forward line...needs to improve kicking skills though
Polak - 5/10, started off brilliantly on return up forward but struggled since, pinch hitting in the ruck. perhaps a return down back would help?
Sandilands - 5/10 Started slowly after great pre-season, then broke jaw in derby, played last 3 games & has been very good...good aggression & we've won the clearances
Schammer - 4/10 Should return to midfield, started off "ok" in backline but has declined rapidly since then...makes far too many mistakes & may even end up back at claremont if he continues. No good in marking contested down back
Schofield - 1/10, played his last game for freo
Thornton - 3/10, unlucky doing his shoulder in Brisbane, was starting to get back to last years form, hopefully return sooner rather than later
Walker - 3/10, has been very average...doesn some hard tackling then will drop off his game during a match...nearing 150 games but not many of those games would have him rater higher than average
Warnock - yet to play but doing nice things down at West perth. Likely to play some role next year or 2008
Warren - 1/10, played the 1 game pinch hitting in the ruck, is simply not up to Afl standard, too slow
Webster - yet to play this year but may get chance soon, I belive too slow, but his aggression across half forward may help?
Duffield - 4/10 started off brilliantly but has dropped away since to the point of being dropped for 1 game, playd poorly v geelong as well, but 1 for the future

RIPPER_46 said:
Can't kick straight. We had as many inside 50's and more shots on goal as we did the week before.
But have a look at the tape Rip, and compare the quality of the delivery into the 50. There's a world of difference between the skill levels and/or ball movement. Mooney would make a lead, get a block and get 5 metres on Johnson and get a ball delivered chest high that he could take well out in front if him. Pav gets no block, and gets the ball bombed on top of his head giving the defenders every chance to take a flying leap to punch the ball away. That's why the stats are so misleading.

How high is the question.

RIPPER_46 said:

I've seen enough over the past 3 years to know that we could beat Sydney in a couple of weeks. Not overly likely, but if the Swans don't treat us with respect we could jag a win, we have the talent out there.
But that would merely mask the underlying problem, and when the going gets tough again and it's a battle to play finals, we'll get flogged.

RIPPER_46 said:
I'll be leading the lyching party at the end of the season if need be.

Things can turn quickly, look at Port or Geelong or even the Tigers.

It was only a couple of weeks ago everybody wanted Thompson and Chocco sacked.

How do you define quickly? Is three years quick enough? A lot of us have been calling for CC's head from years ago, not just the last few weeks. Nothing has changed, and I can guarantee nothing will while CC is in charge. He is an incompetent tool, and anybody who can't see that is kidding themselves.

In reference to our season, the only player who has gotten the best out of their ability is McManus, surprise surprise. And Johnson. The entire rest of the team have been coasting and not giving it their absolute best, although honourable mentions go to a few like J.Carr, Pavlich, Peake and Sandilands.