Strategy MIDFIELD - 2015

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Yeah hope Cripps is back this week and Whiley gets to debut. Walker prob does need another game or 2 in ressies but once he does come back. Bang him in the midfield I reckon

Cripps was sore back. Not sure how it happened or how bad, but I would hope he'd be back this week. He really needs to start stringing a few games together.
Might be quick for Walker, but he always seems to find his fitness pretty quick.
I'm not sure that we DIDN'T match Adelaide's offer to Betts. Regardless, he is on $500k and we reportedly offered him $450k. If you love the club, players, etc and want to take that next step to a flag, you take little hit to keep the team together and help keep room for more players. I doubt he would uproot his young family for the sake of a few extra dollars. He grew up in Adelaide, supported the Crows and had already bought a house over there while he was still "negotiating" with Carlton. He was gone.

Are we rushing AW back to early? He has only had won match prep. Mind you that is more than some of his other team mates.
I like the idea of Whiley coming in for Carrazzo. any one know why Cripps pull out against WC?
Cripps was experiencing back spasms prior to the match and did not fly over to perth. Asked the same question re Cripps on the weekend as i was not aware he was injured.

I've been big on moving Walker from the backlines to the forward line for this season as we are going to struggle to kick a winning score most weeks, however what if we chucked Walker into the midfield once he returns to the team.
We all no he has a big tank and can find the footy but has never really been given a full season in the midfield to see what he can do. Might help with our lack of depth through the middle.

Walker is really good in the guts. He's one of the few in the team that'll actually lay a solid shepherd on a tagger so a Judd or Murphy can get a bit of space. They need to get Bell doing that too. Someone that big should be able to just about kill a tagger if he lined them up from only a few metres away...

Need to get Whiley and Cripps in the middle with Bell, set up for a slog and go as long as you can this week.

It will all look so much better, in the long and short term, if some big young kids are getting first hands to the ball.

If you can feed the runners, maybe even bring in Buckley and Boekhorst, the potential for run in the team on paper should cause us trouble.

Hey guys.
Is it just me or did anyone else see the irony in the skipper getting on TV saying that some of the players need to take a hard look at themselves? 2011 he was B & F & bordering on being an elite midfielder. Since Dangerfield collected him early 2012 he frankly hasn't fired a shot. Thought Simmo was a shoe-in for Captain as Murph was still developing & since made Captain has struggled. Can't recall the last time he was BOG in a game. Having 20 something touches & doing little with them is no longer good enough when your senior player. If he's fair dinkum he more than any player needs to stand up, play dangerous, play kamikaze football & take risks.

Sorry, laughing at some supporters saying Carrazzo and Curnow can't play in the same team.
They later list the ins and outs, wanting both Carrazzo and Curnow out of the match against Essendon.
Does not make sense. Regardless of what player you bring in.

Boeky doesn't have the tank yet. If we throw him in now the whole post-match thread will be full of "omg he's so unfit why did we gift him a game drop him immediately!!1!"

Huh???

We're playing Smith off the sub bench.

Believe he was pick #734.

Yeah I know right. And did you read the posts about him? "Looks like the Clem experiment has failed" etc. Boek's tank is no bigger than Clem's.

So what is your point?

Whoever Boekurst is, is a mature age draft pick and can't get a game in the most decimated mid-field of all time.

That why would we replace one unfit player with another? They both need time in the VFL to build up their fitness, we can't continually throw new players to the wolves just to appease the masses with their approved time frames.

Bollocks.

We drafted a mature age mid as a first rounder, would assume he is ready to play from Round One.

Bollocks.

We drafted a mature age mid as a first rounder, would assume he is ready to play from Round One.

But. He's. Not.
Regardless of our intentions, he's not ready. I've watched him play 3 games now, and in one he was good, in one he was ordinary, and in the third he didn't have an impact. I don't know what else to tell you. You can want him to be ready all you like, but he's not AFL fit. He might be older but there's a big difference between WAFL and AFL...and towards the end of the VFL practice match against Box Hill he wasn't keeping up with the VFL players. So what does that tell you?

But. He's. Not.
Regardless of our intentions, he's not ready. I've watched him play 3 games now, and in one he was good, in one he was ordinary, and in the third he didn't have an impact. I don't know what else to tell you. You can want him to be ready all you like, but he's not AFL fit. He might be older but there's a big difference between WAFL and AFL...and towards the end of the VFL practice match against Box Hill he wasn't keeping up with the VFL players. So what does that tell you?

Huh??

Maybe I just fell out of a spaceship on planet AFL.

A 21 year old, mature age first round pick, isn't ready for AFL footy, off the sub bench, because he's what???????

Huh??

Maybe I just fell out of a spaceship on planet AFL.

A 21 year old, mature age first round pick, isn't ready for AFL footy, off the sub bench, because he's what???????

Unfit.
I don't understand what your issue is. Do you think he's fit enough to play 4 quarters of AFL football? Because Clem Smith certainly isn't, and look how that's ****ed us over with him coming off the sub bench. Bringing Boek in as the sub instead of Smith is literally swapping one unfit player for another--more reshuffling of deck chairs.

We all want Boek to be fit enough to play now but that doesn't mean it's going to happen.

Unfit.
I don't understand what your issue is. Do you think he's fit enough to play 4 quarters of AFL football? Because Clem Smith certainly isn't, and look how that's stuffed us over with him coming off the sub bench. Bringing Boek in as the sub instead of Smith is literally swapping one unfit player for another--more reshuffling of deck chairs.

We all want Boek to be fit enough to play now but that doesn't mean it's going to happen.

Jesus wept, more bollocks.

If we drafted him as a 17 year old as a slow burn, you'd expect him to be right for Round One.

This is a mature age mid..................and he's unfit?????