Midfield depth

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE_Phill

Swans will get Garlett and Howard back , so that is some consolation , Will Oshea ( Sp? ) is a talented 19 yr old and should get a league call up some time for SD too:cool:

Will Shea is a pocket rocket, hasn't got games because we had been travelling alright until now. Would have him in front of a few others but I haven't been arguing much this year. No time. :p

Howard has been out of form but has talent. Garlett, Dayle? Hopefully he's also in form now because I thought he was pretty poor early in the year, but I mark my swannies harshly, I know that. ;)

I don't think you understand what I am saying.
There is a centre circle, Mummy/Pyke were walking around to the furthest side from where the umpire comes in and waiting at the centreline for the ball to be bounced before immediately crossing it and blocking his run at it.
NN seem to stay (of what I can remember) in the same position he always does which is 90 degrees off of the centre. If he moved further around the circle he could of maintained his distance that he is accustomed to, or better yet forced Mummy/Pyke around to the other side of the circle, where the umpire would provide a partial natural sheppard (unless Mummy/Pyke wanted to collide with the ump), to maintain the instant body contact on NN as the ball was bounced.

Also they weren't tunnelling they were protecting the drop of the ball so that NN couldn't fly at it. They came around so that by the time the ball was falling into range for NN to hit it, Mummy/Pyke had an outstretched arm to reduce the run up that NN has at the Centre Square meaning he would not only have to jump without a run up but he would also miraculously have to get momentum forward to reach where the ball was falling. The only problem with that being the 100+kg tanks making that impossible.
I Understand you but blocking in a ruck contect is 100% illegal. It is a black and white issue.
What they did was blocking a ruckman from jumping at the ball - not well known (particularly by Roos etc) but is is illegal.
Tunnelling is a basketball termn that has crossed into AFL recently in relation to marking. It is very dangerous for objious reasons - by moving into a ruckmans path to block them short of the ball drop you are effectively tunnelling - effective but illegal
I just hope the club isnt so dumb as to not raise this with the AFL.

let me assure you it is pathetic umpiring not to pick it up.

Not a little premature on Newman?o_O Especially considering he was drafted just last year. It's also too early to call on the others who are 21/22 (bar McGinnity) and not peaking as footballers, but especially on Newman.

Yes - Sorry, I used him in the wrong context, the others were right

Yeh Sydney must have really worked on that strategy for a long time. It was brutally effective. Like our shrugging, it was at the margins of legality and therefore they got away with it. Clever teams exploit the rules.

On topic, we are pretty one dimensional without Shuey in the middle. Further development of Masten and Gaff will aid this, but we could do with another. Problem is, I can't see Scooter or Priddis ever being replaced so there's not much room for another inside mid to develop if we drafted one.

I don't think Scooter is one dimensional and he's improving, we don't need a Priddis replacement because we already have a couple that can't get games (Stevens and Swift). We need players grades above him as far as versatility and hurt factor go.

Swift a replacement for Priddis? Can't see that. Should never get another game IMO.
Can't see Stevens as a Priddis replacement yet although he has heaps more potential than Swift and should get some full games so he can show what he's got and develop.

Brent Maloney? spud this year but he wasnt a spud before, neeld has just come in and tried to hammer defense into the team and maloney's game has suffered. is he an unrest. free agent or a rest. free agent?

Hard body, wins contests and he's not a bad user is he? I cant actually comment on his disposal. Could go alright I reckon.

This is where Nat needs more mongrel in his game, If I were coaching at quarter time I would have taken him aside and said "Mate, if they block your run, put you your knee into the back of their heads a couple of times and they will stop doing it."

I still get the feeling he doesn't quite know what he's capable of, he can jump over them if he wanted to.

Haha well he did try that and the Swans went down the other end and scored :P

Your point stands though, whenever I get frustrated I just stop and remember his age.

But is he our No1 mid??
Maybe thats Kerr with the form he has been in, or Shuey is not far away, even Scooter has taken his game to another level, if he continues to improve then he could be No1.
Pridda was excellent against the Roos, and he is integeral to our mid setup.

And v Richmond when it counted, I vividly see that handball to Masten as I write this.

we don't need a Priddis replacement...We need players grades above him as far as versatility and hurt factor go.
Sorry EH you might have to clarify this cos I don't understand what you mean.

I think he's saying we don't need another Priddis - we need someone that can play that role just as well with a bunch of other facets to their game. Developing players behind him that are deficient in other areas won't get us anywhere. We need a Priddis with more strings to his bow.

The thing is, a guy like that is a top 10-15 player.

We do not have a big body hard ball get midfielder ala Swan, Kennedy etc in our team, anywhere! We need one. Woosh throw some cash at this!

Daniel Kerr? Scott Selwood could develop into that if you take his first month of the season into account

A Grade
Kerr - surely has 2 more seasons tops. Thrown hs body around more than Gavin Brown.
Shuey
Gaff - I wonder if he will have the body to start in the square next year. He's an exception wingman and runner. They may just leave him there. Wherever he plays he will be A grade

B Grade
Selwood - ran out of legs. Should get ore consistency next year
Priddis - he's good when the team is firing. It's never going to be the guy grabbing a game by the scruff of the neck or dragging us back into a game.
Lecras - I'd like to see him play on the ball next year. Could be A grade.
Rosa - I'm over him. Can't stand up in tough games. You don't want him in your team if you're 5 goals down in a granny.

Others
Embley - prefer him on HFF but can play wing
Sheppard - I like potential on the wing
Swift, Stevens (can we swap him for Kanye Lucas?), McDuddity, Dazzler - **** off already.

I think we might have to get a ring in. Options:

Griffen
Goddard (probably can get him cheap and probably needs a change of scenery)
Rich
Yarran - under contract but worth a try

Small bodied outside wingers look to be what we have recruited. Unfortunately they tend to be slow.

Gaff runs but doesnt seem to have the body remain a wingman
masten is a lightweight and can not break a pack or stop most opponents remain a wing HF
Shep looks like a Gaff with a bit of zip but less tank (a prospect)
Shuey - class but not big- will develop more
S Sellwood - tough trier but slow and not a big body - will develop more
Newman - looks a find but still not a big body (Core looks ok)
McGinity, Swift and Stevens - VFL or WAFL (sadly)
Rosa - soft if Embers comes in I would run gaff and Embers on the wings
Kerr and Embers - we know them
LeCras class, disposal and decision making - but not a big body (I hope he is in the gym
Darling - must build a tank to take bursts in the midfield
NN - needs to develop a bigger tank and will. I believe we should use him more as a burst inpact player - he looks overworked at the moment being asked to run as a ruckman, ruck rover to cox and as a forward target. (Development I assume and we are short Kennedy)
Smith??? has pace and some size
Butler - as Rosa twin
Brennan - a prospect

A wise mature recruit would be very helpful. as would a very focused pre season

masten is a lightweight and can not break a pack or stop most opponents remain a wing HF

Maybe in previous years but he is actually quite solid these days. Has turned into a strong tackler as well. Is strong enough now and has the tank to be given more of a midfield role. Especially with his tank.

Out of the loist of available free agents i want to see GODDARD at West Coast the most. Still one of the best utilities in the game. Can add some midfield hardness that we want, the pace to play outside, can play forward or as a creative defender.

Our starting 3 following group (Kerr, Priddis, Scooter) go well but depth and discipline is required. Luke Shuey...

Out of the loist of available free agents i want to see GODDARD at West Coast the most. Still one of the best utilities in the game. Can add some midfield hardness that we want, the pace to play outside, can play forward or as a creative defender.

Our starting 3 following group (Kerr, Priddis, Scooter) go well but depth and discipline is required. Luke Shuey...
Goddard is showing himself as a bit of a bitch this year though, maybe stats prove me wrong but he isn't the same player when he's not getting a free ride as a sweeper.

In saying that I would gladly see him there though. Looks like he needs a change too.

Don't mind the poor quality below.

goddard_eagles.jpg

Swift a replacement for Priddis? Can't see that. Should never get another game IMO.
Can't see Stevens as a Priddis replacement yet although he has heaps more potential than Swift and should get some full games so he can show what he's got and develop.

None of them link up, run and create space enough space through general play. Stevens has the most utility because he regularly kicks goals and we should be getting games into him.