Midfield Rookies

• Thread starter Thread starter Jiska

Which rookie priced midfielders are you selecting??

Why in the world would Alex Georgiou be your sub haha? It's supposed to be an impact player, not a key defender that's slow... Just because Matt Jones, JKH and Michie are probably better footballers does not necessarily mean Georgiou will be the sub.

This ^

JKH will be the sub, bookmark it. :thumbsu:
Methinks so too.

Guys Jiska has said it a lot already, a lot of the Melbourne forward line is missing. JKH not as likely as you think
If you're hinging all your scoring hopes on a raw 18 year old small forward in his first game you're gonna have a bad time.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

If you're hinging all your scoring hopes on a raw 18 year old small forward in his first game you're gonna have a bad time.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Its either Matt Jones or JKH for sub in that game. Michie is an in and under midfielder and Georgiou will have a specific defensive role. My money would be on Jones being sub

If Clarke, Dawes and Hogan, or any one of them, were available, I'd agree on JKH. Given the situation, I personally feel he'll start and if he runs out of steam they'll sub him OUT. I can swallow Matt Jones starting as the sub more than I can JKH.

It's not a question of hinging scoring on him, it's more a fact that we don't have a forward line and need players that can kick goals. Having JKH running around at Howe's feet while he goes up for hangers seems pretty damn logical to me.

Then again, it wouldn't be the first time Melbourne had made an absolutely bizarre and illogical move, so I wouldn't be surprised at all if you're all right.

Toss of the coin I reckon mate with that one.

I know it's my team, but I would highly recommend starting Dunstan on field. He is named center for us and loves contested possessions. In the absence of both Lenny and Jack, he will be there all day with Armo - big body, smart, shown he can rack up contested pos already in NAB. Serious potential to go big, and I'm going to go on record here now - I could see him beating Polec score this weekend (there, I've said it, someone set up my witch stake to burn on come Monday...)

I hate you. :(

I already had a tough decision having to choose 3 of Tyson, Michie, Ellis and Aish
now you've thrown Dunstan into the equation lol

Some more food for thought on the Dees sub situation. Roo's never coached in the era of subs from memory. We really do not know how he views the rule, or where he believes the greatest advantage to be gained from - yes, its well established now that most coaches believe a fast impact player is the way to go, but we don't know what he thinks on this. I would avoid starting any Dees rookies for that reason.

I hate you. :(

I already had a tough decision having to choose 3 of Tyson, Michie, Ellis and Aish
now you've thrown Dunstan into the equation lol

Ah sorry, I know how frustrating that can be! Stick with your gut on this, its not a make or break decision - just the view I've taken, and wanted to be on record for it. I feel like all the conditions are set for him to do so - he just needs to take his chance.
Like I said, you might well be toasting me come Monday ;).

I am thinking Roos needs a crumber in that forward line so i reckon JKH will start but could well be subbed off later if he isnt playing well

If Clarke, Dawes and Hogan, or any one of them, were available, I'd agree on JKH. Given the situation, I personally feel he'll start and if he runs out of steam they'll sub him OUT. I can swallow Matt Jones starting as the sub more than I can JKH.

It's not a question of hinging scoring on him, it's more a fact that we don't have a forward line and need players that can kick goals. Having JKH running around at Howe's feet while he goes up for hangers seems pretty damn logical to me.

Then again, it wouldn't be the first time Melbourne had made an absolutely bizarre and illogical move, so I wouldn't be surprised at all if you're all right.
You're discounting Roos ideology with easing in first year players.

I agree with you that JKH should be starting, and I'll be disappointed if he doesn't. He should certainly be in the side ahead of Byrnes. I too hope the sub is Jones.

But none of that changes the fact that it won't be greatly surprising to see the 18 year old zippy small forward with the green vest on.

Anyone thinking about Jamie Bennell to fill F10?
Mature age recruit who can win the footy.

Extended bench at this stage, wait until after 6pm tonight, if you are keen,

Anyone thinking about Jamie Bennell to fill F10?
Mature age recruit who can win the footy.
...and does diabolical things with it. Not a good SC option at all.

I can't really see how Clark, Dawes and Hogan being out has much relevance to JHK's chances of getting the green vest. He's hardly a power forward like they are. Fitzpatrick and Pedersen are their replacements. JHK plays the same role as Byrne who has also been selected and, given Roos' history of not rushing kids, I can see him getting first crack at it while JHK gets the vest. Your sub should be a pacey player who can come on and make an impact when the opposition is tiring. JHK fits that description, but so does Jones. I see them as equally likely to be sub, but I can't see any sense in giving the green vest to a player of Georgiou's type. Personally, I hope JHK avoids the vest. He's in my team regardless of the risk but more importantly, as a Melbourne supporter, I want to see him play the whole game

No. Jamie Bennel is chosen on field. He was shit in NAB. Avoid is my advice.

*waits and hopes to god I am wrong.

Yes, you're right, he was chosen on field, :cool:

Ok, not too bad from Dunstan. Polec did end up beating him, but I think I can safely stand by my call when he knocks up his first ton ;)