Jun 2, 2009
Minnesota Vikings
Hey Guys,

I've always wanted to play in the Midfield and i've been told i will be next year since the two of our clubs midfielder's are leaving and now the pressure's on to get my body ready and learn the tricks of the trade, so i've come on here to ask any other Midfielder's to help me out with some tips on where to position myself ect.

Any help??

Cheer's in advance

Hey Guys,

I've always wanted to play in the Midfield and i've been told i will be next year since the two of our clubs midfielder's are leaving and now the pressure's on to get my body ready and learn the tricks of the trade, so i've come on here to ask any other Midfielder's to help me out with some tips on where to position myself ect.

Any help??

Cheer's in advance

depends what youre strengths are mate, if your quick with a good penetrating kick position yourself a few metres off packs time your run and break the lines, if your thicker in the hips and good in traffic you should always be at the ball (where is bounces lands and runs to) other than that the old tips you get from coaches from the time you can listen are handy, always hit the ball at pace if you can, lift your arms and plant your feet if your going to get tackled and work on having quick hands, im a midfielder not terribly quick if you have quick hands and make good decisions you never look slow.

Thanks phantom, if you want to know..speed is my best attribute and i've been told i'm smart with the footy

If speed is your best attribute how is your body size? Are you a Stephen Hill or a Anthony Morabito?

If I was a coach and you were a Hill I would be playing you on the wings but if you were a Morabito in the inside midfield.

Just be aware of the niggles and cheap shots while in the inside midfield I hated it but I was more of an outside midfielder at senior level and attacking half back at junior level so when I did have a stint in the guts the cheap shots came as a surprise. It also depends on what role the coach wants you to play. My senior coach told me as a wingman he just wanted me to work back the forth from the half back line to the half forward line and to keep that workrate up at all times as a 17 in my first senior league year I was reguarly taken off for a break.

If speed is your best attribute how is your body size? Are you a Stephen Hill or a Anthony Morabito?

If I was a coach and you were a Hill I would be playing you on the wings but if you were a Morabito in the inside midfield.

Just be aware of the niggles and cheap shots while in the inside midfield I hated it but I was more of an outside midfielder at senior level and attacking half back at junior level so when I did have a stint in the guts the cheap shots came as a surprise. It also depends on what role the coach wants you to play. My senior coach told me as a wingman he just wanted me to work back the forth from the half back line to the half forward line and to keep that workrate up at all times as a 17 in my first senior league year I was reguarly taken off for a break.

Probably in the middle with the Hill or Morabito question but i'm gonna start building up now since i'm not playing until next year so i have plenty of time with the current season not yet over and then i have the off-season and pre-season...i'm fine with the niggles and the cheap shots as well but when i build up i'd still like to keep my speed

Fartlek traning and strenghening your calves and really pushing yourself in that fartlek training is what I use to do to keep the speed but in saying this I was more of a Hill body type player while playing back then. But until the coach tells you what he specifically wants you to do next season just concentrate on building up muscle and keeping fit

Cheers mate

No worries mate, i was an inside midfielder, played a fairly high level, i have a strong work rate and a big body, but pace and foot skills were not my strength, if you have some big bodies in your side let them do the bullocking work. If you don't and have to play both roles (Chris Judd style) work on a 5 metre burst, fast little steps are best for speed and direction change, if you can burst for five metres it gives you time and space to steady and deliver also what pacey said, if youre in the thick of it be ready to cop some attention, my advice for stoppages is always wait til the ball is in the air and turn to your opponent and give him a mighty shove then go and get the footy (especially good if you have a tagger) and additionally work on set ups and stoppages (not sure what level were talking here) but if you have all players going at the footy its a waste, make sure you have an idea of who is getting the footy, who is blocking, who is spreading and who is defensively set.

Thanks phantom, if you want to know..speed is my best attribute and i've been told i'm smart with the footy

No worries mate, i was an inside midfielder, played a fairly high level, i have a strong work rate and a big body, but pace and foot skills were not my strength, if you have some big bodies in your side let them do the bullocking work. If you don't and have to play both roles (Chris Judd style) work on a 5 metre burst, fast little steps are best for speed and direction change, if you can burst for five metres it gives you time and space to steady and deliver also what pacey said, if youre in the thick of it be ready to cop some attention, my advice for stoppages is always wait til the ball is in the air and turn to your opponent and give him a mighty shove then go and get the footy (especially good if you have a tagger) and additionally work on set ups and stoppages (not sure what level were talking here) but if you have all players going at the footy its a waste, make sure you have an idea of who is getting the footy, who is blocking, who is spreading and who is defensively set.

The level is Reserves so it'll be pretty hard for a while getting used to it but i'll learn as it goes along and i'll get better, thanks for some exercises..by the way i just finished my warm-down..it was only a short 5k run

Just did some 50m sprints, just wanted to review my speed and it's still pretty good,

By the way my mate wants to be a Midfielder as well but he's pretty tall, tall mid's aren't common right??

How tall? As long as he can run there is no reason why not, more common as a centreman (there is a decided difference) to create mismatch one on ones. As long as he can run and is good below his knees can tackle etc sure...

195cm, and i'll tell him about what you said

Can he jump?

Put him in the ruck, thats the midfield spot for players 195cm plus.

Yeah i'll tell him and i don't know how high he can jump, my midfield chances just took a huge hit, we recruited a Peel Thunder Midfielder (Colts)

These days playing Half Back Flank or on the wing or even the Half Forward line is more fun than playing on the ball anyway, thats in my opinion anyway.

The way it is you still get plenty of the ball, but its probably not as difficult.

Playing on the ball looks good on TV, but geez, let me tell you that a few hours after the game you'll definatley know you've played a game of footy. :thumbsu:

These days playing Half Back Flank or on the wing or even the Half Forward line is more fun than playing on the ball anyway, thats in my opinion anyway.

The way it is you still get plenty of the ball, but its probably not as difficult.

Playing on the ball looks good on TV, but geez, let me tell you that a few hours after the game you'll definatley know you've played a game of footy. :thumbsu:

I'm probably gonna move up Forward, cause with our new Midfielder we won't need another one so it'll either be CHF or FF and i'm actually probably too tall for the Midfield same as me mate

Not going to tell you where you should or shouldnt play but FF, CHF and FB are probably the only three possies that are still very specialised.

I have played FF and CHF most of my life but i've always wanted to play on the ball, now that ain't likely even though i was told i would a week ago

That sucks man.

:thumbsu:

Agreed

I have played FF and CHF most of my life but i've always wanted to play on the ball, now that ain't likely even though i was told i would a week ago
I probably see you going on to the wing still, but if you are tall and strong with the pace you said you have had you should be a gun at FF and CHF. Just need to take contested marks and kick goals.