bradmanstandguy

swans,arsenal
Is it my imangination or is he finally getting to grips with the game. Iv watched
the last two games on tv and he seems to get better every week?

Is it my imangination or is he finally getting to grips with the game. Iv watched
the last two games on tv and he seems to get better every week?

I certainly hope so, he looks to be up for trade in 3 - 4 years along with another we are developing.

It's all about being given time in your right position, as much as anything else.
He still could do with a map out there, but good luck to the big fella. How much of this is down to Steve Taubert I wonder?

He's getting some more wraps and in the media too. After a lot of skepticism and a lot of disrespect going his way. Brian Taylor is still a bit of a twat with regards to him.

There has been some serious improvement since the colling wood game.

He's been able to pull down some marks and put himself in the right position. He's got to back his judgment now, do what he thinks is right because once he hesitates he will be lost. I'm sure he still needs to drill his role and drill it again and again during the week but if he;s doing the work and it pays off kudos. I still want to see him present as a target for the guys coming out of the back line a bit more often as if Mumfords not on the ground the opposition know were going to LRT if no one is clear.

But yes he looks better and hopefully continues it against Carlton.

Hell yeh he is, though his kicking style can be seen a mile of not to be a natural AFL style but the theory of the game is down pat. He's a natural sportsmen so he'll be fine :)

His kicking has improved alot, he will never be as fluent as someone who has kicked a footy since they were 3yrs old but still effective, in fact I think he hasnt had many clangers stat wise. When he kicked that well weighted kick to Goodes, it is worth mentioning that it was from the glue pot in the centre, great stuff.

I was just about to mention that kick to Goodes. Goodes gets a bit annoyed if kicks miss him, but that one was perfect. Yes, Pyke seems to be getting better every game.

Pyke's also got some strong hands on him so i would like to see him spend time in the forward line when Mumford is rucking as he does provide a clear target which is something we seriously lack at the moment.
Agreed. You guys really should rest him at full forward against Carlton. He's a fair bit bigger than their defense so he could easily provide contests for your little blokes to get to.

Anyways, I like the guy. Not the most talented of guys but he's really making an effort to get better and to learn the game.

Agreed. You guys really should rest him at full forward against Carlton. He's a fair bit bigger than their defense so he could easily provide contests for your little blokes to get to.

Anyways, I like the guy. Not the most talented of guys but he's really making an effort to get better and to learn the game.

Thanks mate, see and this is why I have no problem with Bulldogs supporters! They're always nice, i'll be watching you flog Port this week in Darwin mate ;)

How much further does he need to improve to move ahead of Seaby? Obviously Seaby will still get picked ahead of him regardless, that's not the point. But in my opinion Pyke isn't too far away from being a better player. He's already a better tap ruckman IMO, and is rapidly improving his work around the ground.

All he really needs to do is improve his kicking and work on getting his hands moving a little faster when dishing the ball off, in close. Obviously his positioning and reading of the play could improve further but even that's coming along very, very nicely.

Another facet of his game I've been liking recently is his willingness to throw his weight around the packs. Looks like he's been watching Mumford very closely.

In all honesty, we couldn't have possibly in a million years asked for his development to go any better. It's simply phenomenal the rate he's come up to speed.

As it stands right now, he is an AFL senior standard ruckman. He would be second ruck at the majority of clubs in the league.

I like Mike Pyke.

In his post match interview last week, they talked about Pyke and Tadgh joked that Seaby is going to have a hard time getting back into the side. Actually think it was only half a joke!

But really, how good is Steve Taubert? He's the best ruck coach in the game by a long shot. The work he is able to do with the ruck guys under him is really awe inspiring.
I reckon I could just about give him my mum to coach and she'd become an outstanding ruckman.

With his new found confidence he's also shown he's clever. He's been dishing out the ball quickly and playing on when he can. He may lack the grace of a born AFL player but he understands the game better than some of our more established players and makes decisions quickly. The last couple of games have been a coming of age for him though looking back to the Freo game when he played first ruck against the monster Sandilands he really took him on.

I'm not surprised by his progress. To represent your country in International Rugby you have to be an exceptional sportsman. Hope he continues to shine.

In his post match interview last week, they talked about Pyke and Tadgh joked that Seaby is going to have a hard time getting back into the side. Actually think it was only half a joke!

It was Mumford that was joking about how he and Pyke make a pretty good combination and Seabs might struggle to get back in when interviewed on the boundry straight after the game. I didnt hear Tadgh's version.

My only disappointment is he hasn't yet taken the ball the length of the field. Maybe he hasn't quite got the skills for the long run and bounce.

If you're reading this Mike (and we know you are) you need to learn this routine ... it starts on the half back line...huge pack mark (flattening opposition players), take-off with ball in one hand, run, run, run, bounce, run, don't argue, run, bounce, run, run, run, bounce, run, don't argue, run, don't argue, run, bounce, run, run, run, bounce, don't argue, run, run, steady now, straighten up....launch the fokker ! To steady your nerves just forget about the goals and aim for Soph who will be standing on her seat behind the goals screaming and jumping with her hands in the air.

My only disappointment is he hasn't yet taken the ball the length of the field. Maybe he hasn't quite got the skills for the long run and bounce.

If you're reading this Mike (and we know you are) you need to learn this routine ... it starts on the half back line...huge pack mark (flattening opposition players), take-off with ball in one hand, run, run, run, bounce, run, don't argue, run, bounce, run, run, run, bounce, run, don't argue, run, don't argue, run, bounce, run, run, run, bounce, don't argue, run, run, steady now, straighten up....launch the fokker ! To steady your nerves just forget about the goals and aim for Soph who will be standing on her seat behind the goals screaming and jumping with her hands in the air.

Now that would get people to watch the footy, why hasn't he done that yet, is he holding back?

Watching the way Mumford throws himself around in the ruck I believe Pyke has learned what he is capable of and with Pyke now doing the same thing they have formed a very good 1-2 combination, it will be hard for Seaby to win his position back this year.

While I've said he's improved I was critical of him after the Collingwood game and with just reason. Before I get too excited by him and talk of Seaby needing to re earn his spot I want to see him play well against a strong team. Richmond ruck brigade is very young and while Norths better I want to see him stand up and have some sort of an impact when we play Hawthorn in a few weeks time. That's his real test as to where he is at.

I know what you're saying but in a season peppered with disappointments Mike adds a dash of hope. It's a feelgood story.

I've seen your last 2 games on tv and IMO he has improved out of sight.

We have a mature age American in our VFL team who is 200cm+ as well. He plays ruck and key forward and is learning really well.

I noticed a bit last year when Pyke played ruck he was also being asked to play a kick behind play which must have been quite difficult for someone new to the game.

The past 2 games while he hasn't taken many marks, he takes a big defender away from White and Goodes and just by working hard he is a chance at creating something positive.

IMO he is definitely worth sticking with and will let Seaby take his time and not rush his return.

He's improving immensely -- his contested grabs have become really solid, his ruckwork is good, and he's throwing some immense tackles.

It looks as though he's under instruction from Roos to not kick it if he marks it -- 9 times out of ten he passes it to the closest player for a kick or run. I think that his kicking, while not great, is serviceable, and I've been expecting him to kick it a bit more in the last couple of weeks, given how strong he's looking.

His main flaws that I can see right now are that he has a tendency to drop or throw the ball in high-pressure pack situations, and when he's tackled (again, in high pressure situations). Work on that, and he'll have Seaby worried.