Minson offensive comments

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

Having a go at a bloke's ok but bringing a sick child into it just totally ****ed and i imagine any reminder of the indecent would make a mother see red, very much doubt Cornes even new about the tweet until after it was sent.

ok, so i've looked at her facebook profile. it seems to combine the worst of both worlds, those inspirational mumsy type quotes/photos, and now looks a lot like your average 16-17-18 yo female bitchfest complete with clucking from the sidelines. loving myself sick since 1982... lol.
she doesn't seem to realize that even if she is in the right (and she in many ways is) she's not going to come out looking the better person after this.

She goes girl. :rolleyes:

Matt Scarlett said Minson stepped over the mark, not sure when he became an authority on the matter particularly when he said enough for a guy that got beaten to a pulp throughout his career by taggers not to shake his hand after his final game. But just like everyone else, he's entitled to his opinion.

Without wanting to dredge this up again, there's two sides to this story, with Harvey playing the Glenn McGrath role in Geelong's version of events.

Don't doubt it. The Bulldogs players will have their version of events as well (which to this point, already contradict the account of Ports'), do you think that will matter over the course of the next few days?

Gary Payton, Steve Smith, Jerry Stackhouse, Reggie Miller...even the guy in the Gatorade commercial...many players had a crack. Whether it was a successful tactic or not is another matter. The guys that NBA players tended to leave alone were the Vernon Maxwell/Charles Oakley/Alvin Robertson types (Stackhouse fits into this category too): Players who couldn't care less about a suspension and were quite willing to throw down during (or after) a game.

Gary found out in the lockeroom not to mess with Vernon Maxwell and they were teammates at the time.

You either have some inside knowledge of what was said to react so vehemently, or you've got some issues my man. Just reflect on what you've posted on the internet mate, to prove a point, and consider how it actually makes you look like a very ill puppy.
Many here say that there is no line to be crossed, anything can be said. It should all stay on the field. There should be no retaliation. No retribution. No reporting. I'm just putting it out there for all of those people if they would accept anything being said to them. Or maybe there is a line. Maybe not everything is fair game. Maybe there are consequences for what you say.

Grow up you half wit. So if he pushed you in your chest a few times, says "I know where you live. I know your your parents live. I will **** your **** of a whore mother. I will rape your little baby girl in the arse and dump her at the tip and burn her pathetic little body", that would be ok with you? Fair enough.

what you just said is bordering on sociopathic, sledging someone that they banged your mother all rough and tough is no big deal.

Many here say that there is no line to be crossed, anything can be said. It should all stay on the field. There should be no retaliation. No retribution. No reporting. I'm just putting it out there for all of those people if they would accept anything being said to them.

if someone on a footy field said that to me id tell em to heck off, and be done with it.

Agree with this Minson doesn't appear to exactly be the sharpest tool in the shed, but is this the path we really want things to go down? A players partner abusing an opponent through social media? So what next? A player sitting there on Brownlow night decides to have a crack at another players partner on her appearance, dress etc? Imagine the shitfest that is going to start.
Hewitt/Edwards/McLeod board

Many here say that there is no line to be crossed, anything can be said. It should all stay on the field. There should be no retaliation. No retribution. No reporting. I'm just putting it out there for all of those people if they would accept anything being said to them. Or maybe there is a line. Maybe not everything is fair game. Maybe there are consequences for what you say.

Dude, if the diatribe you displayed was said to me on a football field I'd be a little confused and somewhat amused. You know, ignorant and stupid people are the only one's that say that sort of thing, and I don't regard them at all, in any situation.

Fair enough you were just trying to prove a point, but jesus man, you really dropped your pants and bent over in front of the camera to do so this time around.

According to Minson:
There was banter between the players.
Pearce asked Minson what he had ever done?
Minson said that he had f**ked his mother.

If that's what actually happened, then this has to be one of the most overblown media stories in recent memory.
Its not on, but suggestions regarding multiple game suspensions, bringing the game in to disrepute are crazy.

Pearce says that Minson went further and said that said things would be forceful.
If that were the case, and Liam Picken in particular says it is not, then by all means give him a nice suspension and a couple of games on the sidelines.

According to Minson:
There was banter between the players.
Pearce asked Minson what he had ever done?
Minson said that he had f**ked his mother.

If that's what actually happened, then this has to be one of the most overblown media stories in recent memory.
Its not on, but suggestions regarding multiple game suspensions, bringing the game in to disrepute are crazy.

Pearce says that Minson went further and said that said things would be forceful.
If that were the case, and Liam Picken in particular says it is not, then by all means give him a nice suspension and a couple of games on the sidelines.

That's pretty much how it sits right now.

There was an umpire in the vicinity so a lot will ride on what he heard or didn't hear.

I haven't read through most of the thread but what is the general sentiment if someone retorted to being sledged with "That's not what your mum/wife/sister said last night" or words to that effect?

Also is the 'line' based on values held by the larger community or determined by the individual in question? Or Both? Because people take offense to different things and at different levels based on their own past experience.

I haven't read through most of the thread but what is the general sentiment if someone retorted to being sledged with "That's not what your mum/wife/sister said last night" or words to that effect?

Also is the 'line' based on values held by the larger community or determined by the individual in question? Or Both? Because people take offense to different things and at different levels based on their own past experience.

Personally, I wouldn't give it a second thought, but I think when you start bringing other people into the sledging, you run the risk of getting a reaction that you're not expecting. There's no better sledge than calling a player's courage or ability into question, particularly when there's an element of truth to it.

The only thing this story (If you can call it a story) is doing is giving attention to a WAG that really doesn't deserve it so, I'll leave her to her 15 minutes of fame and hope she enjoys it.

There was an umpire in the vicinity so a lot will ride on what he heard or didn't hear.

oh don't worry'...whoever that umpire happens to be will gladly take the time to dribble out as many syllables he can possibly muster if it gets him the chance for 15 minutes of fame

What a joke.

Sounds like Pearce is a bit of a mummy's boy. I guess the sledge worked.

Why Lucy Cornes is getting involved with this I don't know. Whatever happened in the past is irrelevant. How horrible, saying Big Wilbur is an "oxygen thief." Oh the hypocrisy!

My own mother has said worse things to me, heck I've even been on the receiving end of sledges myself!

Chasing 188 in a cricket GF a few years ago, we were on the ropes at 3/18 and I was due to come in next. Being a pretty tidy batsman, pretty susceptible to the short ball though, the opposition knew this and had a crack as I walked out to the crease, one bloke said 'I've seen harder hitters in a needle exchange' .... while this may seem pretty standard to some, to me it was insulting as only a few days earlier my uncle died as a result of a heroin overdose, and the bloke who chirped it had a fair idea that this was the case, but I let it be and it made me more determined to succeed.
We ended up winning and whilst I didn't make many, I remained not out. We shook hands after the game, but there was no apology. I honestly believe that nobody means the off the cuff comments they blurt during games, at the end of the day you cannot do anything violent without any ramifications, so some resort to different sorts of lip.

Anyway, I saw him about 3 months ago at the pub and he apologised for what he said, saying that in the heat of battle sometimes he just didn't think of the consequences when trying to win, and we had a few beers.

But seriously, is every player going to start dobbing in everything that is being said out on the field? I mean, mum jokes have been around for years. Of course they're out of bounds if the above is deceased or the accused has knowledge of certain issues regarding the old cheese.

Let's fine the next bloke who calls an opponent a 'weak see you next tuesday'.

In saying that, Minson is a repeat offender and it has clearly offended the blokes on the receiving end, so he has to learn to keep his mouth shut sometimes.

Grow up you half wit. So if he pushed you in your chest a few times, says "I know where you live. I know where your parents live. I will **** your **** of a whore mother. I will rape your little baby girl in the arse and dump her at the tip and burn her pathetic little body", that would be ok with you? Fair enough.
You must have got lost. this isn't Lucy's facebook page, my mother is a wh_re you prob wouldn't have to try hard. give her one. :thumbsu:

Poor dear being sledged like that. Was probably just defending the honour of his family by crying and sooking over nothing.
Reacting to kindergarten mum jokes ?
Soft as hell...no wonder he hasnt taken his career anywhere.

geezus ...go and get delisted ya sook.

Amazing the petty crap that passes as a scandal these days. WTF happened to men to turn them this bloody soft...and why is there some sort of dobbing culcha creeping into the game ?

Lets all pretend to giveashit and celebrate our inner sensitivity.