Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Now I've seen it all, a professional football player crying foul because "He said something about my mummy!"
What has the world come to when players dob in opposition over a bit of banter? The Bulldogs will now be forced to sign up at Eggleston hall with the Kangas for lessons in decorum, manners and social protocol.
The circumstances shouldn't matter, if a player abuses another player and refers to (for example)a dying child, he is a shit bloke. His teammates will acknowledge he is a shit bloke, the opposition will know he is a shit bloke and he will be told by all and sundry that he is a shit bloke. End of story.
For Pearce to take offence, skulk around and dob the other player in to Andy and his feelgood, fair play police, is the most juvenile and weak thing that has ever occurred on a footy field.
Are we going to start reporting players for hurting others feelings?
When and why we take offence is very subjective and I would imagine suspending Minson in this instance will create a massive grey area that will be impossible to police. On the other hand we could let the boys play footy and if someone has hurt feelings they might just harden up and get over it.
You mean your "evidence" that he called some chick a fatty in a bar? Sorry mate, that's not evidence.
I am aware of the contradiction in my post. I am aware that punching somebody in the face is a massive over reaction to a sledge.
I am also aware that back when punching opponents in the face used to happen a lot more regularly, sledges about opponents mothers did not happen.
Doesn't surprise me that Minson is like this. Saw him in a pub a couple of years ago and there was some girls in there that were insulted by something he had said to them, I ended up having a word to him and telling him it wasn't on and then he proceeded to tell me how he was an AFL player etc.
I just get the image of the People's Poet from the Young Ones.Wow aren't you a hero![]()
You need to get your facts straight, mate.
Shirley you can't be serious. Sledging was far more widespread in bygone years.
The reason no one whinged about it was because you had means to square up on field. Nowadays that isn't there, so it happens off-field. But to suggest mum sledges are a new phenomena is ridiculous
I am interested in when anybody here can say that talking about having sex with an opponents mum was prevalent. I made that point that I am 45 to explain the era in which I played. I stopped playing in the mid 80s because of my knees but played social soccer as late as 99 and never heard it then.
I agree. Sledging was very widespread. I played in an era when everyone that was not anglo was called a wog. People with dark skin were called black c....s etc... I was called a pom. Not very sophisticated, but no references to anybody's mother.
You mean like people sooking about Lucy tweeting and using facebookHad to laugh that channel 9 went with the 'racist row' headline with Minsons comments this morning.
Port are just a classless side.
Any other team wouldn't have sooked about that.
Shirley you can't be serious. Sledging was far more widespread in bygone years.
The reason no one whinged about it was because you had means to square up on field. Nowadays that isn't there, so it happens off-field. But to suggest mum sledges are a new phenomena is ridiculous
Lucy Cornes didn't get Will Minson suspended. Will Minson got himself suspended. If you have an issue with his suspension I suggest you take it up with the Western Bulldogs, the organisation that has enforced the suspension.Perhaps now that Minson is suspended Lucy Cornes can get back to using Twitter to suck up to celebrities.
The Dogs had to suspend him. The public opinion of it has spiraled to a point that they were left with no choice.
The dogs were left with no choice but to suspend him because of the media shitstorm she created because big bad Will was picking on poor little Danyle.Lucy Cornes didn't get Will Minson suspended. Will Minson got himself suspended. If you have an issue with his suspension I suggest you take it up with the Western Bulldogs, the organisation that has enforced the suspension.
She is allowed to express an opinion..just the same as you .How is Lucy Cornes even involved with this?
This incident had nothing to do with the Cornes family. As for her "apology in the form of a donation" comment. He apologised 5 years ago.
This incident is a comment to Danyle Pearce, regarding Pearce's mother.
Minson is a dick for making shit personal, but Lucy Cornes should shut the **** up.
The dogs were left with no choice but to suspend him because of the media shitstorm she created because big bad Will was picking on poor little Danyle.
Smart arse question gets a smart arse answer and that should have been the end of it.