Minson offensive comments

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

Really? I didn't think the umpire actually put him on report but helped with the investigations because he was near the incident and heard some of it.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...ject-of-a-report/story-e6frepf6-1226398759659

"A field umpire from Sunday's Bulldogs-Port Adelaide game today lodged an incident referral form on a clash between Minson and Power midfielder Danyle Pearce."

Will's been suspended for 1 game if it was as vulgar as you claim it was I think the punishment would be a little stronger don't you?

How many players are suspended for sledging? Go and have a look. Maybe the fact that this was vulgar enough to even sanction a suspension should tell you something. The fact that it doesn't is what's bewildering.

I wonder if the Bulldogs are going to put Will out in front of the whole team and treat him like Aker over this?

Surely bad press being stamped out is paramount to them being a Premiership team.

If the process is still in place at the club, I'd hope they do.

You can bet your life that Will would cop it on the chin though, rather than pissing an moaning about it to all and sundry while getting his mates in the media to go in to bat for him.

It's becoming clear that Minson is a dog of a bloke. I thought my experience with him might have been a one off and that he had just had a few too many beers. Glad I said what I said to him because he is a gutless prick.

I'm sure he wishes he took your comments on board now.

OK throw the boots into him, he's a dog, he's scum but I bet you cheer on #18 every week. I'm sure Will would have shown restraint in that situation and paid his fair. What's worse?

It's becoming clear that Minson is a dog of a bloke. I thought my experience with him might have been a one off and that he had just had a few too many beers. Glad I said what I said to him because he is a gutless prick.

You should be put forward for man of the year.

Too bad you are probably 12, and don't yet qualify.

This is a absolute joke, suspended for saying I f***** you mum.
What a sook Danyle Pearce is, pretty sure I hear worse stuff then 2-3 times a week at work but it's a joke so I don't get offended by it.
Hope he gets from opposition players all season, but we know that won't happen with how pathetically soft society is these days. The comment he made should definitely have stayed on the field.

if only he had said something about cancer, the Cornes clan would all be giggling at how witty he is.

Oh well, much rather a 1 week suspension than the $50k fine Thomo was suggesting last night

Hahaha, that's a very balanced and sensible response when dealing with an idiot.

The contradiction in this post puts it in the top five of the thread for mine.

I am aware of the contradiction in my post. I am aware that punching somebody in the face is a massive over reaction to a sledge.

I am also aware that back when punching opponents in the face used to happen a lot more regularly, sledges about opponents mothers did not happen.

As nobody ever said anything remotely like that to me on the field, I never had to throw a punch.

A few years back, some apprentices were arguing and I had to step in and try to resolve the issue. One of them had taken offence to some reference to his mother and was ready to go ballistic on the guy that said it. The other apprentices reckoned that people say stuf all the time about each other's mums. I spoke to the older guys at work (I am 45 now) and all of us agreed that it was a pretty new thing. That growing up, none of us ever said anything to anybody about their mothers. I also think that mates saying stuff to one another is a different kettle of fish to saying something to a stranger or a sporting opponent. We all say things to mates that would be unnacceptable to a stranger.

For the record, I told the apprentices that if they had said anything about my mother that I would have punched them as well.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...ject-of-a-report/story-e6frepf6-1226398759659

"A field umpire from Sunday's Bulldogs-Port Adelaide game today lodged an incident referral form on a clash between Minson and Power midfielder Danyle Pearce."

How many players are suspended for sledging? Go and have a look. Maybe the fact that this was vulgar enough to even sanction a suspension should tell you something. The fact that it doesn't is what's bewildering.

Incident referral is a little different to putting him on report for the comments you claim he made.

Not many have been reported. I can count 2 in recent times that are not racial slurs. Most players walk away from stupid childish comments like that so they never get put in the public eye. I guess this is the path we are going down now so you'll probably see more of this in the future. I hope your angels don't open their yaps any time soon.

Now I've seen it all, a professional football player crying foul because "He said something about my mummy!"

What has the world come to when players dob in opposition over a bit of banter? The Bulldogs will now be forced to sign up at Eggleston hall with the Kangas for lessons in decorum, manners and social protocol.

The circumstances shouldn't matter, if a player abuses another player and refers to (for example)a dying child, he is a shit bloke. His teammates will acknowledge he is a shit bloke, the opposition will know he is a shit bloke and he will be told by all and sundry that he is a shit bloke. End of story.

For Pearce to take offence, skulk around and dob the other player in to Andy and his feelgood, fair play police, is the most juvenile and weak thing that has ever occurred on a footy field.
Are we going to start reporting players for hurting others feelings?

When and why we take offence is very subjective and I would imagine suspending Minson in this instance will create a massive grey area that will be impossible to police. On the other hand we could let the boys play footy and if someone has hurt feelings they might just harden up and get over it.

The Dogs had to suspend him. The public opinion of it has spiraled to a point that they were left with no choice.
Yep, we had no other choice really. It's bullshit, but it had to be done.

I am bemused that the dogs supporters can come in here and claim Minson has done nothing wrong despite all the evidence from myself and other posters about previous incidents. The dogs had to suspend this big fool.

What gets me is that Anderson's comments: "There is no place in our game for comments that are offensive and demeaning to women".

AFL to release topics that players are allowed to comment on to another player.

Just so Lucy has more of a say than just people stalking her Facebook and paraphrasing what she has said on there:

"Mrs Cornes was outraged Minson was still employing the same verbal techniques to throw off opponents.
"I'm disappointed that an incident we chose to put behind us in 2008 has resurfaced," she told The Advertiser yesterday.
"His alleged repeat offence makes the apology he issued in 2008 seem somewhat trivial." She said she wanted to show Minson the faces of sick children and to meet abused women to teach him the insensitivity of his comments.
"I would love to have the opportunity to take Will to the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne or to a women's shelter, so that he can see firsthand the difference between a `game' and `life'," she said."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/teams/minson-under-scrutiny-for-comment/story-e6frf9mo-1226398500861
Words can't describe how stupid this article is. In so many ways.

I am aware of the contradiction in my post. I am aware that punching somebody in the face is a massive over reaction to a sledge.

I am also aware that back when punching opponents in the face used to happen a lot more regularly, sledges about opponents mothers did not happen.

As nobody ever said anything remotely like that to me on the field, I never had to throw a punch.

A few years back, some apprentices were arguing and I had to step in and try to resolve the issue. One of them had taken offence to some reference to his mother and was ready to go ballistic on the guy that said it. The other apprentices reckoned that people say stuf all the time about each other's mums. I spoke to the older guys at work (I am 45 now) and all of us agreed that it was a pretty new thing. That growing up, none of us ever said anything to anybody about their mothers. I also think that mates saying stuff to one another is a different kettle of fish to saying something to a stranger or a sporting opponent. We all say things to mates that would be unnacceptable to a stranger.

For the record, I told the apprentices that if they had said anything about my mother that I would have punched them as well.

For the record I abhore violent and verbal abuse against women (and most men for that matter) though I have stated throughout the thread mum sledging goes over my head. I don't think bashing people in the face is a good way to deal with that type of sledging.

We obviously have different standards.

I am bemused that the dogs supporters can come in here and claim Minson has done nothing wrong despite all the evidence from myself and other posters about previous incidents. The dogs had to suspend this big fool.
You mean your "evidence" that he called some chick a fatty in a bar? Sorry mate, that's not evidence.

For the record I abhore violent and verbal abuse against women (and most men for that matter) though I have stated throughout the thread mum sledging goes over my head. I don't think bashing people in the face is a good way to deal with that type of sledging.

We obviously have different standards.

For the record, I have never punched anybody in the face outside of a boxing ring.

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...bout-pearces-mum-looked-at/20120618-gjep.html

Minson allegedly told Pearce: "I f...ed your mother for half an hour last night"

Wow... Pearce & Port need to toughen up a bit if true. Embarrassed for them.

That is what Minson alleges he said himself. Pearce would have heard something along those lines plenty of times.

The reason the Pearce family is pissed is beacuse he Pearce heard him say he r*ped his mum up the non sunshine area.

Clearly its beyond "I enjoyed half an hour of quality time with your mother" but some people have no logic abilities.