Missing a game.

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
My brother is holding his wedding on Feb 24th, which is the same date as our NAB Cup game against Carlton. I havn't missed an official game (in melbourne) since mid-1998 agaisnt the Kangaroos on a Friday night. It's not a H&A game, though, so I'll forgive him. ;)

Anyone else had this problem?

Thats some record, i go sometimes not much, mostly because none of my mates go for Essendon, so i only go to games when both our teams are playing. I'm going to try and get to more games this year.

I moved to Melbourne three years ago and have barely missed a game in that time.

The one game I could not go to last year? Essendon vs Brisbane - yes, where we broke our losing streak. Why? Best friend's 21st, in Warrnambool.

:(

I was always going to go to the party, but I was bloody annoyed about the timing. I knew those bastards would go and win when I couldn't be there. When I was there with my support week in, week out watching them lose. My friend wasn't too happy with me continually going upstairs to watch the game on TV, either...

My brother is holding his wedding on Feb 24th, which is the same date as our NAB Cup game against Carlton. I havn't missed an official game (in melbourne) since mid-1998 agaisnt the Kangaroos on a Friday night. It's not a H&A game, though, so I'll forgive him. ;)

I have the same problem, my brother in laws wedding is also on the 24th :(
If the game was at 7.30pm i could have done a runner early and made it but being at 6.10pm i wont be able to escape.

Mate, that`s pissweak.

I missed heaps of games due to working hospitality. Recitfied that situation this season and beyond. ;)

********! Just realised i have a 21st that night too. Thank god for the early start so i won't miss too much of it. Hopefully the dress aint too formal b/c i'll have no time to change.

Last H/A (in melb) i missed was mid '04 vs the roos when i had to go interstate for a sick family member.

Don't let me start...GF 2005. The sunday of that weekend...wedding in Sydney...Wathcing in a pub doesnt quite compare with being at the G.

I had a record of something like 25 or so games in a row without seeing an essendon loss. The record was broken in 2000 v the dogs. Started in 1997.

This season with other commitments ill be lucky to go to half of the games.

Dan, I've had a gutful of your whinging and excuses.

If its good enough for Nic Stevens, then its certainly good enough for you.

Your going to the footy. ;)

Didn't you tell me once that one of the games you missed was due to a friends/family members wedding? or something like that?

Anyway I've done the sums and it just doesn't add up. I can't make it. Doesn't feel right either, but it's bro's wedding. What is one to do?

I think having a speaking relationship with my parents for the rest of my life makes it worthwhile to be at the wedding!

I had a record of something like 25 or so games in a row without seeing an essendon loss. The record was broken in 2000 v the dogs. Started in 1997.

I have a record that still hasnt been broken. When I have flown to Melbourne to watch a game, I have never seen a loss. Have been about 10 times. I have booked to come over for the dreamtime at the g match this season. Get on us!

Ive unfortunately seen more losses than wins for our side. Some Anzac games pre 2000s, games in the wet we havent taken the points in, particularly against Carlton, the Doggies breaking our perfect record in 2000 and getting smashed by them back in 93 I think at Whitten Oval.

Missing a game.