MRP / Trib. Mitch Brown

i suggest all supporters that went onto twitter and started defending schofield delete your tweets now before the media have a chance to see this s*** that's gone down and start publishing them, putting out names.....
They should never have done it in the first place.

Not sure these guys need defending, nor does anyone seem to know the particulars of what has happened.

Just because you are passionate about the game, does not mean you have to idolise and defend the players as individuals or assume they are good blokes (or at least don't make mistakes).

Don't the media generally censor out names anyway?

I more or less told Toby McGrath to sit the **** down. I don't think I've got too much to worry about. :p

I agree with Schofield in that if Toby McGrath had a problem with what Brown did, should've done it at the time, not had a cry on twitter.

Can't commend on the incident itself,
Didn't see it. I'm all for the boys going into bat for their mate. Certainly unifies the team. Twitter isn't the way to air grievances, should've done it on the field.

If Brown smacked him one unprovoked then he probably deserves a suspension, but no one actually seems to actually know what happened. Mitch Brown hasn't got a reputation of being a dirty sniper, I can't see that changing in a WAFL match. Surely there's more to it.

Just because you are passionate about the game, does not mean you have to idolise and defend the players as individuals or assume they are good blokes (or at least don't make mistakes).

Similarly, it doesn't have to mean we assume his guilt in the incident either, particularly when we have all see him play since 2006 and not seen anything remotely like what he has been accused of doing.

like masto said it's a game of footy, shit happens

surprised our guys are even tweeting at WAFL players though. let them have their whinge.

Obviously going on twitter made the players feel though. Didn't have the balls to square up on the field.

Soft.

I doubt he will face charges as if there is no footage then Brown will say accident and the only witnesses will be the little boys bitching on twitter. Which won't look good for them.

So Souths are looking at pressing criminal charges against Brown? Holy heck :(

ive studied this particular area in law a few years ago, i really doubt they will find him guilty, its hard to say with out any facts, but the threshold you have to pass is pretty big, if there was any push and shove before the incident you'd think he'll be fine.

also Cory Dell'Olio should get a pretty stern talking to, an Afl player cant be saying that stuf on twitter.

Edit: the west reported the Dell'Olio thing wrong, it wasn't from his account at all he was just the first mention in the tweet.
also if Mitch did break some kids jaw unprovoked, thats a shitty thing and to be clear i'm not defending him

also Cory Dell'Olio should get a pretty stern talking to, an Afl player cant be saying that stuf on twitter.

looks like the comments came from an imposter dell'olio account.

a kid copping a broken jaw in back play is not cool at any level. not afl, not wafl and not saturday park football.

i wasn't there but things aren't sounding too good for mitch at this point. still, he'll probably miss less football than mason shaw.

Similarly, it doesn't have to mean we assume his guilt in the incident either, particularly when we have all see him play since 2006 and not seen anything remotely like what he has been accused of doing.
Who has assumed guilt? Even if you think he is innocent its a stupid move for fans to jump on twitter and inflame a situation.

Someone needs to take Toby's keyboard away from him. That eye for an eye macho shit doesn't help anything.

Can't have it both ways. Most are congratulating Shuey on his "everyone's tough on twitter hey.. Didn't wanna say anything to browny today?" tweet... ie having a go at McGrath for NOT carrying out the eye for an eye macho shit onfield. But agree that Toby's tweeting doesn't do much for his standing in the game.

My guess is that neither McGrath nor Googs saw anything, other than who was in the vicinity of the incident. But, I'm guessing that they know or trust that Dean Reynolds wouldn't make stuff up.

I'm guessing (I wasn't there either) that we are going to see a repeat of the Sandi-Seaby incident here. As one of the few who actually saw that one, it was very similar to the recent Reece Conca incident, but without the TV vision. Hard to be sure if it was a block gone bad or a swinging elbow, but the arm was raised, and I reckon in this era it would be 3-4 weeks, especially if it was caught on camera, regardless of intent (ie a reckless act).

And the Dell Olio account is real, but he didn't say the original tweet. That was Dean Reynolds. I think some people don't know how to read a twitter timeline (it does get confusing, but this is the basic flow see here)

Dean Reynolds ‏ @deanreynolds_
@Mitchbrownie sweet elbow behind play pal

Cory Dell'Olio‏ @cdellolio_
@deanreynolds_ @mitchbrownie no credit in breaking a 17 year olds jaw

Toby McGrath ‏ @tobymac39
@cdellolio_ @FootballBudget dog act by @mitchbrownie breaking a kids jaw behind the play... Possible criminal charges to be proposed by SFFC

MRP / Trib. Mitch Brown