Mitch Brown

I'm not a regular thread-starter, but I noticed a bit of debate around the merit of retaining Mitchell Brown in our 22 against Collingwood on Saturday and I wanted to get some opinions/stances before the game (I reckon he'll play).

btw I searched around for another thread on Mitch before I started this one and couldn't find anything so apologies if this has all been covered before and I just missed it !

My opinion has wavered substantially since his encouraging game against the Suns (who admittedly are themselves a very young, inexperienced side).

But I can certainly see both sides of the argument with regards to his spot in this weekend's game, as well as the broader speculation on his possibly career trajectory.

Brown has a many metaphorical question marks surrounding him at this stage of his career, and they will not be answered until he has had a sustained run at AFL level - he has already proven he can thrive at VFL level, and at times has looked a class above; but that doesn't necessarily translate automatically to a successful AFL career.

Let me make it clear that I really hope Mitchell Brown succeeds for both his own benefit and for that of the Geelong Football Club.

But here are some of the queries that need to be addressed :

Durability - this is probably the big one; the young man obviously has talent, but will his body allow him to cope with the rigours of AFL football on a week-to-week basis ?
His injury woes have amounted to a broken leg, which is just unlucky and a significant setback, but one he seems to have generally recovered well from, and his shoulder issues, which is more of a concern.
Also, he just seems generally skinny.
Well, he did, to me anyway - his frame isn't as fragile as i first thought, he's definitely put on some bulk - the arms are still a bit twig-like but the legs weren't too emu-like, and his torso suggested a certain wiry strength that can hopefully be tapped.
So, in my opinion, patience will be the key with Brown as far as his ability to compete regularly as an AFL forward, unless he proves to be way better than any of us think, it will take time for him to establish himself by sheer virtue of his physique.

Position - I have no doubt Brown could play a defensive role quite well given time and exposure, but I reckon it would be a waste and a last resort; he has a consistently been played, and displayed a talent, as a forward.
But will he ever be big enough to hold down a key forward post at AFL level ?
If not, will he be mobile enough to apply the requisite defensive pressure expected of a modern flanker/pocket ?
I think Brown will himself dictate the role he plays to a large extent; he will need to play the game on his terms, which will ultimately entail him being fit enough to allow him to display his creativity; i.e. if he is good enough and works hard enough he will make a spot for himself.

There are plenty to hope for with Brown; he is taller than he looks and will grow into his frame. He is co-ordinated and looks a natural footballer more than an athlete - his kicking for goal looks like it could be a welcome change from the anxiety of watching Hawkins and to a slightly lesser extent Pods. Good footy brain.

So, to lay all these questions to rest, I personally am happy to see him retained not only for the next game but for the rest of the season if his fitness and some kind of reasonable form permits.

needs a nickname.

yeh good read mate.

His legs are pretty solid, really put on a heap of muscle throught he thighs.
The only query I currently have is his 2nd effort once he's out of the contest or unable to get around an opponent.
It's something Pods has been doing and it's kinda frustrating to watch but I think when you watch it on TV...you don't get a good scope of the relevant distances of players considering we are only looking at a 2D image.
When you go to the game and watch it live...sometimes you can excuse them for giving up as they are actually a good 15 or so metres away from doing anything anyways.

I didn't really notice him against the Suns, was not one of the players I was focusing on but you are right, be good for his confidence to play the entire game and he really could pose a question for the Collingwood defense.
He's a very good mark when the footy is kicked out infront, he's also very quick once he's off on the lead and he is also a terrific set shot for goal.
If he does indeed play, Brown or Goldsack may have to switch back to match up on him as Tarrant will need to watch the dangerous Stevie J and Reid will likely take on Hawkins again.

I think he should be developed into a key back who can go forward.

Next year we will have JPod, Vardy and Walker who can all play 2nd to Hawkins.

Our back line is weak, Scarlett is probably going to retire and Lonners shouldn't be far off (he is a servicable kpd at best anyway).

The guy has good skills but his body is a bit fragile so I wouldn't risk him as a full time KPF, not for a few years anyway.

Our back line is weak, Scarlett is probably going to retire and Lonners shouldn't be far off (he is a servicable kpd at best anyway).

o_O
it's not weak cynical.

It's right now sitting 7th for points against and it's also done it's job in the majority of last quarters but we have failed to capitalize the other end which kind of puts more pressure on the defenders.
Enright, Taylor & Lonergan are three exceptional players.
Lonergan isn't just serviceable, he's actually better than most because he plays on the best and beats the best and has done so for a number of years now.
He's 28...defenders last longer than the forwards as well.

Silly to say it's weak because if it was weak, I have no doubt we would have lost last year's grand final.

Sounds like a blaxploitation starlet! I love it!

wonder if his middle name happens to be Muhammad?
'Coco Muhammad Brown'

(blaxploitation ay....for a second there, thought you were going down the X-Rated genre ;))

I guess having pops Kelly already running around, be fitting to have the two come together

P.S. "god I talk shit!" :rolleyes:

Nah it's totes legit. Check out the movie poster I found.

CB2.jpg

He is a curious player, lovely skills and reads the play nicely but I doubt there is a worse contested mark 190cm key forward in the entire league. He actually has no idea how to go for the ball in a pack situation. I'd love to see more of him because there is a good player in there but he has some work to do.

Would like to see us continue develop him in defense via VFL. With Walker, Brown and Vardy we have a wealth of KPF options coming through but only Gillies at the other end.

With Scarletts impending retirement I think he should spend the rest of the year focusing on learning that position.

He has obviously got major potential if he always kills VFL games. He is way too good for VFL.

But he's stuck somewhere in between. Hasn't quite adjusted to AFL level. Give him time, he'll come good

I think he showed a lot of encouraging signs on the weekend. He is not going to be able to hold down a KPF position for quite a while, but I can certainly see him being very handy as a lead-up HFF or even as a switch-hitter on the wing (he seems mobile enough and his size would be a mis-match) or at HBF if needed.

Let's not forget that he only has five senior games under his belt, and those injuries have certainly played a major part if hampering his development. I have a feeling that over the next couple of season he will blossom into a very handy utility until he gets a bit more size about him. Hopefully he will carefully watch how Tomahawk and Pods position themselves in contested situations so that he use his athleticism to good effect in packs when he has the size to compete.

Bobby, if that nickname gets popular, he will hate you. He will despise your soul. But if you don't own up to it, s'all good!

I like it :D

"Coco Brown takes a specTACULAR specky, marks and lines up for goal! What a star!"

o_O
it's not weak cynical.

It's right now sitting 7th for points against and it's also done it's job in the majority of last quarters but we have failed to capitalize the other end which kind of puts more pressure on the defenders.
Enright, Taylor & Lonergan are three exceptional players.
Lonergan isn't just serviceable, he's actually better than most because he plays on the best and beats the best and has done so for a number of years now.
He's 28...defenders last longer than the forwards as well.

Silly to say it's weak because if it was weak, I have no doubt we would have lost last year's grand final.

It is weak, 7th best doesn't win you premierships, especially with our defensive game plan.

Lonergan is serviceable he isn't exceptional he isn't AA, guys who are serviceable don't last into their 30's because they don't have the skills to make up for the deterioration in their body. Loners has done well but over the next few years he will need to be replaced.

Our back line is slow it gets exploited by fast teams on the break. Last year we had an A grade midfield to protect our slow back line.

Our back line is so old we basically need a whole new back 6 besides maybe taylor.

I was going to say Bluey (he is a redhead after all) but nothing is going to beat the Coco Brown.

Some good stuff on this thread. It sort of reminds me of the Mackie comemts early in his career. Weak contested mark , good to great by foot , plays shorter than his height , good conversion form setshots....

I think he somehow needs to add games to his experience bank while his body continues to mature. Perhaps for this reason the backline with occasion minutes forward is the way to go. What we really need is for him to show enough to satisfy doubts while he matures to readiness for when Pods retires.

Bobby, if that nickname gets popular, he will hate you. He will despise your soul. But if you don't own up to it, s'all good!

no, no...I only just mentioned the name but you went and put it out there, he ain't gonna be despising me sorry :)

He is a curious player, lovely skills and reads the play nicely but I doubt there is a worse contested mark 190cm key forward in the entire league. He actually has no idea how to go for the ball in a pack situation. I'd love to see more of him because there is a good player in there but he has some work to do.

Interesting point and probably understandable when you consider he was a 186cm midfielder who grew 10cm into KP size.
He's never going to be a monster like Pods or Hawk so crashing packs will be problematic. He does have a great turn of pace for his size and a good tank so I see him as a roaming tall ( like Darling or Lynch) rather than a KPF. Potentially could be a really difficult match up if he finds consistency and is given the games to develop.

Does he remind anyone - other than me - of Bazza Stoneham? Great read of the play, slight frame for size, beautiful kick and great mark - just best by untimely injuries?

On another point - Bluey McGrath on KROCK a few months ago took a pretty broad swipe at Mitch for not putting in the hard yards in the gym when he got hurt - kinda got into him a bit for being a list filler - in that he has all the talent in the world to make it but wasn't putting the work to get fitter and stronger - which his slighter type body frame would benefit from in his KPP role.

Its the media's job to make opinions etc and maybe someone pissed in Bluey's Corn flakes that morning but I hope he was wrong. Mitch can make it and just needs the time and chance - but one of the things I would certainly like to see is him getting stronger if not bigger. (I'm sure the fitness staff are all over it)

Go Catters

Not sure about him. He clearly has talent. Could tell in what he did last week. Made some really good decisions with the footy. However he did not appear to have a physical side to his game and I don't like reading this stuff about his woeful contested marking. He is simply too tall for that to be the case, Vardy will fly past him. He will hopefully have an injury free preseason and can work on his bulk and these areas.

He reminds me a lot of Mackie at a similar age - albeit with a bit more height. Mackie was our young promising key position forward, I think he kicked 3 goals in his 2nd or 3rd game, pretty agile, decent mark. Then for 2 or three years he looked like he was going nowhere. I think they moved him onto a wing for a year, he had a decent season and found his feet at the level, then was switched into the back line. He's certainly ended up a very good player for us, albeit not as the KPF we drafted.

Perhaps he needs a year on a half-back flank to settle into the team??

He certainly has the talent, he might take a while, but he is only going to get there with experience.