Mitch Clark Return..

It was tongue in cheek, but what would you say instead?

It's a good question, but depression to the scale Clark had isn't a switch on and switch off thing. At his lowest he may have been suicidal. On his good days he would've functioned 'normally'.

You can't tip toe around people, but you can't exclude them from the banter that will surround a footy club.

He has a difficult road ahead, rather then just being physically able and mentally willing.

It's a good question, but depression to the scale Clark had isn't a switch on and switch off thing. At his lowest he may have been suicidal. On his good days he would've functioned 'normally'.

You can't tip toe around people, but you can't exclude them from the banter that will surround a footy club.

He has a difficult road ahead, rather then just being physically able and mentally willing.
Well put

I'm disappointed that the media has created and then perpetuated the story as though they are holier than thou.

It is annoying that the speculation around 'where will Clark go' has come before we even definitively know the answer to 'is he better to the point where he will play football'. A situation like his could not be more conducive to every man and his dog slinging shit in both directions.

I think the point purplefrog was making was that if we were in ANY way still interested in acquiring Mitch's services over this summer, that we would've shown him a little more respect in today's interview. The mood of the answer was one that says we're not interested in pursuing him further.
EXACTERLY My point Thank you:thumbsu:

Clark left Brisbane for family reasons, was lured by the coin and pointed down the shit path by his crap manager. If his manager had anything but dollar signs in his eyes he could have foreseen Clark doing poorly away from family support (which was the problem to begin with).

So surprised that Clark stayed with Young given how the events unfolded.

Thanks for reminding me why I didn't go into medicine.

Was that an incarnation of our friend the doctor? I would have bet he'd be gone by midnight but that was quick.

Love your club but Lyons response was pathetic.
He clearly doesn't understand or give a rats about how his response could be taken.
Still shows there is a massive difference between "knowing about" mental health issues like depression and someone understanding it or at least showing genuine sympathy.
When has football ever been more important than a persons health.
I don't think he was calling a spade a spade...I think it was a thinly veiled dig at Mitch.
Pathetic.
The choice of what team he played with was possibly made before his illness got the better of him.
I feel the point Ross was trying to make is, Clark chose not to come to the Dockers and then secondly Clark does not seem to be a well man.

If you heard Young on 6PR tonight he came across as a total tool. Firstly he said they Clarke was the deal of the lifetime for Freo back a few years ago..how many games did he end up playing....was it 15? You would have thought he was Gary Ablett Jnr according to Young. Secondly if Young was so concerned about his players welfare why is he parading his name around at the moment....any comeback should be very low key and through the rookie list or playing AFL/VFL and thus the pressure would be far less....instead he is parading him around attracting all the attention and making him a spotlight in the media.

Yes i could see you were having a laugh. I just think to call someone who is suffering/suffered from depression as not normal is not right. Just my opinion as i know poitical correctness can have a tendency to go mad these days.

Nah..spot on mate.
It's not a case of being "normal" again...it's a case of being "well" again.
Being a sensitive type who may be susceptible to depression is no less normal than anyone else.
Perhaps people a who lack empathy and sympathy might ask themselves...is it normal for a human being to not care about others?
I'm not saying Lyon is a bad person...just his response was poor (in my opinion) and having suffered from a mental health issue a few years ago, it has the potential to do damage. You already feel a sense of loss, aren't sure who you are anymore and fear that your life will never get better.
Saying "Mitch who?" is not clever and I really hope this wasn't an intentional put down.
If he is well enough to consider football again...that's fantastic.
I'll bail out now and sorry to bang on and interrupt your board. You can disagree with my comments..that's ok.
If anyone does or suspects they may have a mental health issue, don't feel like a freak, get help and remember that good mates will help you through.
http://www.beyondblue.org.au/

If you heard Young on 6PR tonight he came across as a total tool. Firstly he said they Clarke was the deal of the lifetime for Freo back a few years ago..how many games did he end up playing....was it 15? You would have thought he was Gary Ablett Jnr according to Young. Secondly if Young was so concerned about his players welfare why is he parading his name around at the moment....any comeback should be very low key and through the rookie list or playing AFL/VFL and thus the pressure would be far less....instead he is parading him around attracting all the attention and making him a spotlight in the media.

Agree re Young. Not smart at all.
Whoops...I'm outta here

Nah..spot on mate.
Being a sensitive type who may be susceptible to depression is no less normal than anyone else.
Perhaps people a who lack empathy and sympathy might ask themselves...is it normal for a human being to not care about others?
I'm not saying Lyon is a bad person...just his response was poor (in my opinion) and having suffered from a mental health issue a few years ago, it has the potential to do damage. You already feel a sense of loss, aren't sure who you are anymore and fear that your life will never get better.
Saying "Mitch who?" is not clever and I really hope this wasn't an intentional put down.
I'll bail out now and sorry to bang on and interrupt your board. You can disagree with my comments..that's ok.
If anyone does or suspects they may have a mental health issue, don't feel like a freak, get help and remember that good mates will help you through.

Here in lies the problem. You have one person who has been diagnosed with clinical depression, but people are suppose to be careful what they say.

He chose Melbourne over Freo. He's now leaving Melbourne only a few years later. Are we suppose to forget what he did because he has depression? Lyon isn't being insensitive. If anything the person who asked him the question is an idiot as it should be a press conference to do with our finals, not after season potential events.

Just about every currrent Freo player has said Lyon is the best coach they've ever had and I'd be pretty sure it's because he's and understanding bloke who demands excellence, not a ruthless dictator who expects it.

If anybody is suffering from, or likely to be susceptible to, depression, I'm going to go out on a limb and say that a public internet forum is not the healthiest place to be visiting on a regular basis.

I would actually disagree with you there, Reg. Having passions and interests in your life like footy or the Dockers can be a very healthy thing, especially when dealing with depression. Depression also makes you withdraw socially, so an internet forum like this can be the only means of social interaction available.

I can see what you mean however, as you definitely have to build up a thick skin to take part as some of the posts can be hostile or insensitive etc.

Clark left Brisbane for family reasons, was lured by the coin and pointed down the shit path by his crap manager. If his manager had anything but dollar signs in his eyes he could have foreseen Clark doing poorly away from family support (which was the problem to begin with).

So surprised that Clark stayed with Young given how the events unfolded.
Especially if his wife is a doctor, they didn't even need to go for the money. Really stupid decision he made.

I don't get why, if he's ready to play again, he doesn't go to play for the team that he's on the list of, the one that's been very good to him.

He's obviously a snake oil salesman masquerading as a player manager.

There would be triggers at Melbourne.

With any due respect to them, he will still be part of a losing team at Melbourne and anyone will ask themselves if it is worth it.

Young makes it out that had Fremantle just given Brisbane the two first rounders they wanted it would have been done before Melbourne came along with a better cash deal.

He should sell used cars.

Nah..spot on mate.
You make some really good points. However, does anyone think that it could have been a legitimate moment where his surname lapsed from his memory? I know I have and I'm sure most if not all of you have had those split second moments where any other time and place you'd spit someones name out, but for whatever reason you just can't recall it in that moment.

I mean, it wouldn't be like a journo to make it look like he was taking the piss, would it? Realistically, he could have been. Or it could have been a moment of bad judgement where he did in fact pretend to not know his name but he didn't mean anything by it. I just find it odd that Ross states that he doesn't feel comfortable talking about his illness, but yet, a few seconds earlier was apparently being disrespectful. Ross doesn't strike me as the disrespectful type either.

I reckon it was a genuine memory lapse and the *cough* Journo *cough* has run with it.

And young is a spanker.

Personally love Lyon and what he has brought to our club, but this was not his finest hour. He would know perfectly well like the rest of us of the emerging Mitch Clark story.

In my opinion he did go out of his way to disrespect Clark on the basis of the 2011 snub. One part of me enjoyed hearing that, but overall that wasn't the appropriate response IMO.