Mitch Clark Return..

He had his chance, we offered decent coin in his home state and an opportunity to play finals. He took the big bucks at a basket case club (pre Roos) with no future so he made his bed. Lets develop what we have at a cheaper price

I wouldn't mind us looking at him on a performance based contract. This would be dependent on him passing a fairly stringent psych evaluation.

If he sits out 3/4 of a season -> the only loss is a spot on our list. If he plays most of a season, then he is obviously performing at a level to get games.

I don't hate him for going to Melbourne. He made a business decision. They offered a lot more money for the same services that we demanded of him. He would be a fool not to look at it. He decided based on his circumstances that the pay was worth a few extra years away from home. If somebody offered me double the coin to move interstate, I'd be packing my family up to move as soon as I got home. Somehow footballers are supposed to be all about the club, and while I respect the loyalty shown by club stalwarts, it is also their livelihood, and they have to get what they can from it while they can.

Maybe that decision was the wrong one as he battled depression away from his support network, but it was definitely his decision to make. If he gets his body right, and his head looks half screwed on, I would not mind him on a performance based contract.

I don't think we will get him, but I'll hardly be slashing my wrists if we do.

No! Do not want. Had his chance and back flipped chasing dollars.

I'd much rather see us develop Apeness.

I hear what you're saying jusjoshin , but it is the manner in which he conducted himself when making the infamous "Melbourne" decision.

He had obviously made an in principle agreement to come here, to the point of us releasing a media statement to that effect.

Some may argue that we went off half-cocked, but I don't buy that. A man's word is his bond, and for Clarke to suddenly back flip and leave the club looking like a total goose is just piss weak and goes to the character of the man.

In addition, as a long term depression sufferer, it is quite common for "false dawns" to occur. One morning you're confident that all is well and you can take on the world, nek minnut you want to drink the cool aid again.

He would have been nuts to have turned down Schwab's ridiculous offer to him. But still, his issues have driven down his value.

No! Do not want. Had his chance and back flipped chasing dollars.

I'd much rather see us develop Apeness.

We can still develop Apeness. The two players are not mutually exclusive.

I hear what you're saying jusjoshin , but it is the manner in which he conducted himself when making the infamous "Melbourne" decision.

He had obviously made an in principle agreement to come here, to the point of us releasing a media statement to that effect.

Some may argue that we went off half-cocked, but I don't buy that. A man's word is his bond, and for Clarke to suddenly back flip and leave the club looking like a total goose is just piss weak and goes to the character of the man.

In addition, as a long term depression sufferer, it is quite common for "false dawns" to occur. One morning you're confident that all is well and you can take on the world, nek minnut you want to drink the cool aid again.

I see what you are driving at as well, I just don't really think the decision to go to Melbourne was a reflection of his character, more to do with Melbourne backing a truck of cash up to his front door. We announced that he was coming before we had a signature, Melbourne then offered ridiculous money and he switched. I can't see us offering similar coin to him again, and I can't really see the harm in a performance based contract given his recent issues with injury and depression.

I don't even think we would risk it next year, but if he plays in the WAFL without incident for a year, I think we'd be negligent not to consider him.

Maybe we could convince him to play a season in Peel so we can keep a close eye on him?

There was a fair amont of resentment expressed by the player group at the time, and I reckon that he may be a target for a smack behind play more than a possible selection.

For mine, this thread should be merged. Agree with slicedndiced, don't go creating new threads when there's a perfectly good thread for this discussion (and the thread below has reared its head lately when Mitch retired etc):

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...we-made-another-play-for-mitch-clark.1010133/

My two cents- I reckon he's kidding himself if he thinks he can so simply 'turn a corner' and expect the worst is behind him just like that. But I don't think he feels that is the case. More like the media is taking a comment and running away with it.

If he's being well looked after, he'd understand how long the path in front of him is, and I'd guess he's more likely heading towards playing footy minus the pressures of AFL.

Good luck to him.

he played 12 games and 1 for us.
Cheers. He doen't appear to be the most durable of players.

Just checking out the injuries thread and a poster on the 2nd last page highlighted the fact that his ETA hasn't changed for a few weeks now. Same case with Duffy, which is frustrating. Some kids just don't have the body to withstand elite footballers training loads.

Cheers. He doen't appear to be the most durable of players.

Just checking out the injuries thread and a poster on the 2nd last page highlighted the fact that his ETA hasn't changed for a few weeks now. Same case with Duffy, which is frustrating. Some kids just don't have the body to withstand elite footballers training loads.
its quite sad really ive seen Tanner play he was starting to hit some good footy, the worse thing is Duffy was starting to hit some highs before being struck by injury. he could of had some game time by now i would of thought.

Here's hoping you have zero aspirations of becoming a List Manager.

What makes you say that? A fit Mitch would be a valuable addition to our team. Gumby is on a short term contract if I remember correctly. Where is our risk?

It's a like your missus sleeping with your best mate, or in this case your worst enemy. The treachery of his actions make any possible payoff seem unpalatable. It's been 3 years since he was good, and even then it was mostly potential. He's developed a self preservation outlook on life, I want a kamikaze, not a runner.
Nope it's more like any other profession (we are professionals aren't we?). Like someone your company was trying to poach and got beaten by a third party and then 3 years later you still have the same need so being in a better position you contemplate poaching him a second time. The only question should be, is he still the best bang for buck option or are we better of else where (I my opinion there are many better options).

I'm with jusjoshin. We have to take the rough with the smooth in a professional environment and we pinched Dawson, D Pearce and Sylvia on finical grounds but if someone says "no you didn't pay enough" they are somehow "less" than everyone else we managed to get the price right for o_O. I take the point about people giving their word but lets be honest in most other business/employment around this country it all means very little without a signature on paper.

He's worth a punt. Would be ideal really on the assumption he can work through his issues.

If he wants to ever enjoy playing footy again without out resentment and anxiety constantly attached, he should probably stop associating making a living out of it and just play for fun in the WAFL with no strings attached. External expectations compounding in Mitch's mind got him to where he is in the first place.