Mitch Clark Return..

if you could sign up a player delisted a few seasons back as a free agent, wouldn't that make the pre-season draft almost irrelevant

It is pretty much irrelevant in the FA era. They might as well scrap it and have teams just pick in the main draft until their list is full.

At least then teams going the rort like Sydney with Tippett would have to use something fairer like a 2nd round pick on him before someone else took the gamble.

if you could sign up a player delisted a few seasons back as a free agent, wouldn't that make the pre-season draft almost irrelevant
I am losing track of the regulations, but I was under the impression that any player who has been delisted by a club is a free agent , unless the club in question offered them a contract. Its a bit murky in Clarke's case because he was let go on compassionate grounds.

According to the AFL website:
"Players delisted by a club are unrestricted free agents but a player who retires or delists himself is not eligible to be a free agent."

Source:
http://www.afl.com.au/afl-hq/the-afl-explained/free-agency

This is the way I see it. Swap him for Gumby and we aren't losing anything in terms of list space, but with a bit of luck we could be gaining a whole lot.
yep - agree on this. I really wanted Gumby to come on but the stars just aren't aligning....

Or possibly its time up for Keps and Clarke could take that list spot

I am all for having speculative pics on our list - hopefully we have some luck with one of them

I think he'd be a good Pick up if Cheap and he feels FULLY right to play AFL again -
Playing some good footy and being supported by a proffesional club would surely spark some form of happiness that at Melbourne ... you'd miss.

A forward Line of:
Crozier Tabener Walters
Ballantyne Pav Clarke(Mitch)

Looks a whole lot more dangerous than Zac Clarke
Throw Fyfe down and you've got a tall yet Agile Forward line.
HUUUGE + for our side.

I think he'd be a good Pick up if Cheap and he feels FULLY right to play AFL again -
Playing some good footy and being supported by a proffesional club would surely spark some form of happiness that at Melbourne ... you'd miss.

A forward Line of:
Crozier Tabener Walters
Ballantyne Pav Clarke(Mitch)

Looks a whole lot more dangerous than Zac Clarke
Throw Fyfe down and you've got a tall yet Agile Forward line.
HUUUGE + for our side.
Can't get his foot sorted. Maybe the long rest will help with that.

I'm not sure what kind of illness MC has but in my wife's case (bi-polar) she took nearly 5 years to stabilize after her initial diagnosis. She was fine for a lot of that time, at one stage going well for a year before she had a psychotic episode. And that was shit. Her psychiatrist is always reviewing her medication and me and the mother-in-law are always on the lookout for the first signs of the black dog. Suffice is to say that a change may well do MC good but there is no guarantees he will get better (but most people do) and there is a fair chance his condition will worsen. Ianad but in my limited experience the 30's are when a lot of mental illnesses reach their "peak". But everyone is different and it'd be great to see him back at his peak again. His Chris Tarrant impersonation was perfection.

He is a genuine ready-made forward/ruck.

Not sure what you mean by "ready made", but if he's been out of the system for the best part of a year, his conditioning will be pretty poor to say the least (and for an injury prone player that is even more of an issue). I don't see him as "ready made" by any stretch - potential maybe, but not ready made.

FWIW, it would take some convincing for me to be happy with us picking him - maybe if we could slot him right down the end of the rookie list and we drop another injury prone player in Gumby, then I might be convinced.

Zulfiquar_Bhatti.png

Not sure what you mean by "ready made", but if he's been out of the system for the best part of a year, his conditioning will be pretty poor to say the least (and for an injury prone player that is even more of an issue). I don't see him as "ready made" by any stretch - potential maybe, but not ready made.

FWIW, it would take some convincing for me to be happy with us picking him - maybe if we could slot him right down the end of the rookie list and we drop another injury prone player in Gumby, then I might be convinced.
Will experienced do?:)

While he might be okay to start testing the waters in the near future I highly doubt his illness would be well suited under RTB chasing a premiership. The group is clearly tight and supportive but also really demanding of each other.

I'd just be seeing if he wanted to come for a run around and to do some more of the social stuff. That's what would actually help him recover.

Just listening to 3AW and McClure spoke to Mitch's manager today.

Mitch is back in Melbourne at the moment having spent 6 weeks in Perth. Has sold his Melbourne home and done some work as a tradie. Has been doing daily boxing workouts with a trainer for the last 8 weeks to build up his fitness. Hasn't touched a footy since he left Melbourne. Mitch apparently is feeling much better and has improved a lot.

Mitch and his manager will be sitting down in 10 days to map out a plan. As pointed out by 3AW, that he still has a manager for his footy is telling and they believe he may be playing next year.

Neither Fremantle or West Coast have contacted his manager but some other clubs have,.

I reckon that is about the only circumstance we would go for him; straight swap for Gumbleton but on the rookie list.

Don't know much about his issues but i would think that selling your house in Melbourne is telling. If he "found" the "black dog" somewhere in Melbourne i would think it would rule out any sensible person sending him back there. Just saying he's nuts (crazy is just bit OTT given the context) if he goes back to melbourne.

In the us to take him senario. I'm still firmly in the camp of changing 5-6 players end of the year. Would I trade an Ibbo/Suban/etc type for a mid to early 2nd round draft pick so that we can; draft 1 in round 1, draft 2 in round 2, leave round 3 selection for the PSD, round 4 promote a rookie and take Mitch Clarke in the PSD? In a heart beat.

Lets be honest, he's cheaper than a FA and when fit is the best of the KPP's available and that includes Frawley.

No way would we consider him.

He screwed us over and when you waste peoples time they won't let their time be wasted again.

MASSIVE do not want.

All the best to him, but I don't foresee it will be in purple.

No way would we consider him.

He screwed us over and when you waste peoples time they won't let their time be wasted again.

MASSIVE do not want.

All the best to him, but I don't foresee it will be in purple.

We have recently met with him so we haven't slammed the door in his face.
If you take the emotion out of it, Mitch in for Gumbleton out is not awful.