Mitch Clark - The SQL

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Honestly chuck 20 on the table and walk away. Brisbane don't take it, tough shit for them, leave it to Mitch and Melbourne to sort out. If he doesn't want that, Brisbane take 20 or get rooted.

Either way, we get Mitch and keep our first rounder, or we possibly get Mitch AND have 16 or 20 and go to the draft.

**** 'em
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

We're in one of the best positions draft-wise this year outside of GWS. Clark is a very nice prospect and I hope he makes it here, but no way is he worth parting with two Top 20 picks in this years draft.

Draft best available KPP and Mid, get Clark in the PSD.

I dont think he adds enough value or we need him desperatly enough to give up a top 20 pick.

Sounds to me from rumours etc that we are still very keen on getting him an brisbane is doing a great job of playing hardball an we are trying hard to accomodate them :(
Rumours were we were trying to get pick 10 in that jeager mega deal to give it to Bris.
Bris wont accept 16 we have to do better etc etc.
Considering hes uncontracted an already said he wants too play here, there is no need for us to be doing all this.
Now we have pick 20 an it seems like 20 will go to bris or possibly 16.
Not happy with any of that.
If bris cant use our late 2nd round pick(+player) thats not our problem its all we should be willing to offer.
They can then use that pick an 1 of there players to try an turn it into a higher pick in a trade elsewhere.

If we are so keen on getting clark coz hes tall an might be able to play forward that we are happy to throw away good picks to get him when its not neccesary.
Ignore mids in this draft an gamble with those picks on 2 tall kpp prospects.

I do not rate Clark as a forward.
Backup ruckman rate him very highly but ZClarke is more than cappable of doing that role an costs us nothing allowing us to use picks on key forwards or backs in draft.

Only problem with that idea is im sure GWS will be using their picks to get alot of the best young kpp so the higher our pick the better.

Not sure how this works?

Surely the PSD is now off the cards.

Melbourne have a PSD pick before Fremantle and can likely match or exceed any salary offer. Heck if Fremantle are willing to pay 500k+, then pick 16+ extras is hardly unreasonable.

Apparently he has already moved to Perth. I can't see it working out for Melbourne having him play on a FIFO basis.

Anyway, it's no disaster for Freo is we don't get him.

I dont think he adds enough value or we need him desperatly enough to give up a top 20 pick.

Sounds to me from rumours etc that we are still very keen on getting him an brisbane is doing a great job of playing hardball an we are trying hard to accomodate them :(
Rumours were we were trying to get pick 10 in that jeager mega deal to give it to Bris.
Bris wont accept 16 we have to do better etc etc.
Considering hes uncontracted an already said he wants too play here, there is no need for us to be doing all this.
Now we have pick 20 an it seems like 20 will go to bris or possibly 16.
Not happy with any of that.
If bris cant use our late 2nd round pick(+player) thats not our problem its all we should be willing to offer.
They can then use that pick an 1 of there players to try an turn it into a higher pick in a trade elsewhere.

If we are so keen on getting clark coz hes tall an might be able to play forward that we are happy to throw away good picks to get him when its not neccesary.
Ignore mids in this draft an gamble with those picks on 2 tall kpp prospects.

I do not rate Clark as a forward.
Backup ruckman rate him very highly but ZClarke is more than cappable of doing that role an costs us nothing allowing us to use picks on key forwards or backs in draft.

Only problem with that idea is im sure GWS will be using their picks to get alot of the best young kpp so the higher our pick the better.

It's an arm wrestle & pick 20 will be knockout punch.

@RalphyHeraldSun Jon Ralph
Just a thought on Mitch Clark - Dees offering millions over 4 years but he kicked only 27 goals this year as sole forward. No superstar
Just about sums it up for me!

News now saying that Griffen will stay. Not sure where we are going to fit them all in? Can Clark defend?

You are hoping?

May be doing Freo a favor if he truly is a "known sook".

Just cannot see why Dockers supporters are still so confident the PSD is the trump card.

I guess all indications are that he wants to come here. Which negates any deal with any other club since he has to sign and agree to it to be traded there, regardless of the size of any offer.

The risk if he goes into the PSD is that someone *may* pick him up first. You know the drill from there.

We're on pretty good odds at the moment, hence the confidence.

You are hoping?

Just cannot see why Dockers supporters are still so confident the PSD is the trump card.

The PSD becomes the trump card IF he rejects Melbourne. IF that happens, there's no way Melbourne, Richmond or Port pick him up. Despite Kerr's bravado this morning, Brisbane won't pick him either. They would re-sign him prior to PSD. That leaves GWS and GC, then us.

You are hoping?

If Mitch Clark came out and said that he is absolutely not interested in the offer put to him by Melbourne or any other non-WA club, then they would not go anywhere near him with a 10 foot pole in the PSD. It would be utter stupidity to throw giant wads of cash at a player who doesn't want to be there, regardless of whether you got him for free in the PSD. As far as I can see, provided that the list managers of AFL clubs are rational people, Mitch Clark has complete say in whether or not he goes to Fremantle. Complete.

You are hoping?

I don't think we're all that confident, many of us are just not that fussed. If it means selling the farm to GUARANTEE him coming here in trade week, then it's just not worth it, especially as there's A CHANCE that he might yet come to us for nothing via PSD. And if the PSD doesn't work out, we'll still have our picks 15 and/or 20 etc. to play with at draft time as compensation, that's where our 'confidence' lies ...

Also, whoever does jump at Clark in the PSD ahead of us will probably have an overpaid, unhappy and likely under-performing player, and Bris will have didly squat (unless they re-sign him of course in which case we've also lost nothing). I'll be happy enough with that.

They want more than a first rounder. Judd got 3, 20 odd and Josh Kennedy.

The best player in the comp. A brownlow medalist, premiership captain in his prime age wise. With 10 teams to choose from.
Vs a guy that's played on decent year of footy but happens to tall. They want 2 first rounders or our first rounder and a first 22 player.
Ablett only got 2 first rounders.

Can someone start a book that we can bet on, to see which draft pick we use to secure M. Clark?

Example: pick 16 $ 3.00
Pick 20 $ 1.10
PSD. $ 1.45
Pick 38. $ 1.95
Pick 56 $ 3.10

I would like to take this opportunity to wish farewell to some of our Brisbane brethren, who will now go on a short vacation to the Demon boards to engage in fun activities such as gloating, trolling and circle jerking.

We await your angry posts here when you come back to reality on Monday.

Have fun! :)

I would like to take this opportunity to wish farewell to some of our Brisbane brethren, who will now go on a short vacation to the Demon boards to engage in fun activities such as gloating, trolling and circle jerking.

We await your angry posts here when you come back to reality on Monday.

Have fun! :)

I laughed... :thumbsu:

I still see Freo trying to get a top 10 pick from GWS....or atleast picks 11,13

They want more than a first rounder. Judd got 3, 20 odd and Josh Kennedy.

The best player in the comp. A brownlow medalist, premiership captain in his prime age wise. With 10 teams to choose from.
Vs a guy that's played on decent year of footy but happens to tall. They want 2 first rounders or our first rounder and a first 22 player.
Ablett only got 2 first rounders.
Now you are just being silly Lach.

There is a huuuuuuge difference between pick 3 and 20 v pick 20. Not to mention Kennedy, who is young and now one of the better KPF in the league.

I counter your comparison of pick 20+ to the Judd trade with pick 11 for McLean.

Both equally as ridiculous, both equally as relevant (i.e. not at all).

Even mentioning Ablett makes me think you have been drinking. It wasn't a trade, but a formula devised by the AFL. It has no reflection on Abletts worth.

Now you are just being silly Lach.

There is a huuuuuuge difference between pick 3 and 20 v pick 20. Not to mention Kennedy, who is young and now one of the better KPF in the league.

I counter your comparison of pick 20+ to the Judd trade with pick 11 for McLean.

Both equally as ridiculous, both equally as relevant (i.e. not at all).

Even mentioning Ablett makes me think you have been drinking. It wasn't a trade, but a formula devised by the AFL. It has no reflection on Abletts worth.

Plus the picks used to secure Judd weren't in a compromised draft.

How bad is Hackdorn? He is woeful with his research.

"Clark is in really good form". + "Even the PSD is now out of the equation, even though Freo have an earlier pick than Melbourne".