Mitch Clark - The SQL

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Might I say, that we've never once used the word loyalty in any discussion about the playing group :P

In any case - everyone knows Fyfey will be our future captain :P

Barlow, Deboer or Suban will be our captain before Fyfe.
He is a pure footballer, that is all... Not Captain material.

Deboer will have to improve a fair bit to even hold his spot in the team. It sounds like Suban is going to be almost traded out every year and Barlow?? no can't see it.

Whoa, I don't know about that. The guy has captain written all over him. Throws himself at the footy, wins more contested footy than anyone else in the team, runs all day long and is an inspiration to his teamates. With a few more years of development it will be hard to find a more worthy captain.

Not to mention he is already the media spokesman for the club most off the time. He is the perfect package as future captain, Suban his deputy.

I love it how all the Brisbane supporters were best friends with the Eagles supporters on Monday and are now best friends with Melbourne supporters today. Boasting about how good Clark will be, how he will complement their forward line, how they are going places now and how unproffesional and amateur we are.

One supporter expressing that the reason we havent given something good early is the reason we haven't won a premiership!

Quite the opposite, our history is full of giving teams excactly what they want, even more! Thats why we haven't won one.

Look at Collingwood the year before their premiership, were they an amateur oraganisation for not giving St Kilda what they demanded.

Also were not getting Goddard, If Bond and Co were so private about the negotiations, why the hell did he tell his mate over the phone who obviously cant keep a secret?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/brisbane-big-man-mitch-clark-in-line-for-3m-payday/story-fn69a32t-1226166306148

Fremantle is refusing to budge on its offer of pick 16. The Demons can trump it with pick 12 and also have the option of using a Scully compensation pick to stitch the deal.

The Dockers and Clark may be prepared to try their luck in the pre-season draft, but the Demons' offer is tempting.

It is understood that Fremantle has offered Clark a three-year deal and will not pay "overs" to lure him and throw out its list management

:thumbsu:

I agree Goddard most likely won't happen, but we should at least try if there is even a remote chance to land him.

With GWS having pretty much all the picks before us, apart from a few that belong to bottomed-out clubs that hold no interest to Goddard ... our first couple of picks are not as bad as they seem if Goddard does not want to go to a club that will languish near the bottom for the next few years.

If Goddard is available, we should move heaven and earth. Sell the farm. I know we've done it before for other players and it didn't work, but for some reason I think this is different. The guy is an absolute superstar, in 2010 he was close to the best player in the game.

It all comes down to just how much being with his family is worth to him...

Oh noes, why didn't we know he only has two fingers on his right hand before we tried to recruit him???

That seals it - he's a crab :p

I heard on SEN mention of Tim Gossage saying the Dockers will trade Chris Mayne to get Clark, not sure if that is just his opinion or if it is a rumour. I wonder if Mayne and a second round draft pick would seal the deal.

If Melbourne put up that offer, it just reinforces how ****ing glad I am that Schwabb & CC have ****ed off.

agreed, how much better have the last few years been having someone dealing for our club with half a brain! I don't give a rats if the Clark deal falls through ... just move on and draft well.

I heard on SEN mention of Tim Gossage saying the Dockers will trade Chris Mayne to get Clark, not sure if that is just his opinion or if it is a rumour. I wonder if Mayne and a second round draft pick would seal the deal.

Our 2nd rounder is useless to Brisb unless they can arrange an on trade (unlikely).

We need Maynes chase and pressure, to me I'd rather drop 16 or 20 than lose him.

Seriously?!

Goddard for 16, Griffin & Suban?

You're bloody dreaming..

A) St Kilda are reported to have 14 players STILL currently uncontracted because they're over the salary cap, in any case some of their team will be heading to the draft to find other teams, and we're supposed to believe they're going to find some magic money source that those 14 players don't get that Griffin & Suban will command from the Saints?? Absolutely dreaming.

B) They'd want at the VERY LEAST 16 + 20 and not a sceric less. Only 16 for Goddard is laughable. Not even the Clark deal is gunning for that carrot.

C) If Goddard was on the table at all it'd be to reduce their cap in which case they'd be looking to draft base wage 18 year olds in the draft with high picks. They'd be talking to GWS & GC about the best picks possible and not us.

Tell your mate he's had his laugh but it's time to put the jay down.

Settle Nickos. We all know it will never happen. But hey it's trade week we need to talk about something ;)

Also very happy with our stance re: Clark and it bloody should be that.

Obviously Freo realise we isn't the missing puzzle piece to us winning the premiership. So why pay overs for a bloke who wants to come to us and is uncontracted.

$800k per season.. madness..
Still think you guys are in the box seat though.. feels like one of those eleventh hour type deals will be done.
Perhaps trade up pick 20 to something better than 16 and a fringe player may do it.
Surely can't be worth what Melbourne are offering, admittedly though, I haven't seen a huge lot of him.

$800k per season.. madness..
Still think you guys are in the box seat though.. feels like one of those eleventh hour type deals will be done.
Perhaps trade up pick 20 to something better than 16 and a fringe player may do it.
Surely can't be worth what Melbourne are offering, admittedly though, I haven't seen a huge lot of him.

800k for first year then tapering off completely - averaging at 500k.

All for nix, all Melbourne have done is make Freo pay as reasonable price for him instead of stiffing Brisvegas, Freo will get him.

If he comes to Melbourne and doesn't want to be here, he seems like one of those guys who will sook and play like shit. On the other hand, being happy at Freo he will ****ing brain it!

All for nix, all Melbourne have done is make Freo pay as reasonable price for him instead of stiffing Brisvegas, Freo will get him.
Ok, if that is the intent, what's in it for Melbourne by doing that if Freo do in fact end up receiving him?
Either you've made this up, or Melbourne rate his possible presence stupidly high.