Mitch Clark - The SQL

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

All for nix, all Melbourne have done is make Freo pay as reasonable price for him instead of stiffing Brisvegas, Freo will get him.

Everyone keeps saying this, but it really has no effect on what we will pay for him.

Ok, if that is the intent, what's in it for Melbourne by doing that if Freo do in fact end up receiving him?
Either you've made this up, or Melbourne rate his possible presence stupidly high.

Freo are more of a threat in the next few years - losing a pick is good for Melbourne.

I am not too fussed, my side is shit and has been for a long time. I am consigned to a life of supporting a club that will struggle for a long time yet.

When I die, I want the Melbourne Demons players to be my pallbearers: so they can let me down one last time!

Freo are more of a threat in the next few years - losing a pick is good for Melbourne.

I am not too fussed, my side is shit and has been for a long time. I am consigned to a life of supporting a club that will struggle for a long time yet.

When I die, I want the Melbourne Demons players to be my pallbearers: so they can let me down one last time!
Fair enough. I'll leave this thread alone now.
Just wondered what the intention was behind the move by Melbourne when Freo clearly is his preference, much like Ebert and Poooort.
Still think the deal will be done, if not this week, then on Monday.

800k for first year then tapering off completely - averaging at 500k.

All for nix, all Melbourne have done is make Freo pay as reasonable price for him instead of stiffing Brisvegas, Freo will get him.

But you also need to read the article on the previous page... where it says we are not budging on our offer of Pick 16.

So Melbourne bidding for him has nothing to do with wanting freo to pay more. We wont.

GWS has just confirmed they are out of trade week now. Silvagni has confirmed it. They are 100% not going to get Goodard

Fair enough. I'll leave this thread alone now.
Just wondered what the intention was behind the move by Melbourne when Freo clearly is his preference, much like Ebert and Poooort.
Still think the deal will be done, if not this week, then on Monday.

I get the feeling Melbourne are prepared to allow Freo to upgrade pick 16 to pick 12. Why else would they get involved. I would assume they'd want something good with 16 in order to give up 12 though. Perhaps Griffin or Mayne. It wouldn't surprise me much.

But it would rely on Brisbane being only willing take take pick 12 and swap a third or fourth round pick. I just don't see why Melbourne would make a very large play for him knowing he would stay in Perth in ideal circumstances.

This is based on speculation, though.

But you also need to read the article on the previous page... where it says we are not budging on our offer of Pick 16.

So Melbourne bidding for him has nothing to do with wanting freo to pay more. We wont.

It wasn't pick 16 before Melbourne got involved I thought? Either way - I think it will be better for everyone if Freo get Clark - it's where the guy wants to be for family and he will be happier/play better footy for it.

EDIT: We have the same sig!

I get the feeling Melbourne are prepared to allow Freo to upgrade pick 16 to pick 12. Why else would they get involved. I would assume they'd want something good with 16 in order to give up 12 though. Perhaps Griffin or Mayne. It wouldn't surprise me much.

But it would rely on Brisbane being only willing take take pick 12 and swap a third or fourth round pick. I just don't see why Melbourne would make a very large play for him knowing he would stay in Perth in ideal circumstances.

This is based on speculation, though.

Im not sure clark wants to be in perth anymore... if the money is too good for him to refuse, he may have changed his mind on his destination of choice..... i reckon something will get done today.... the sooner it happens, the sooner we can focus on offloading jon griffin who port are still going hard after according to rucci

I dont know why people are in such a rush to move on Griffen. He's been a great pick up for the club in my view and I'd prefer him to stay. Not sure that Clark really offers us a great deal at CHF. A better outcome for the club would be Pav at CHF, Griff and Sandi switching off as the second tall forward / ruck combo and we use picks 16 and 20 to get a running defender to replace Roger and maybe another quality inside mid.

If Melbourne want to pay overs for Clark, let them. I'm good with that.

Hoping Bondy is seeing this the same way.

He is in a way. The second first round pick was nabbed so 16 could be used on Clark and 20 on one of those players. Or the other way around. That was the original plan and I'm sure he's not going to use both picks in a deal for Clark.

I dont know why people are in such a rush to move on Griffen. He's been a great pick up for the club in my view and I'd prefer him to stay. Not sure that Clark really offers us a great deal at CHF. A better outcome for the club would be Pav at CHF, Griff and Sandi switching off as the second tall forward / ruck combo and we use picks 16 and 20 to get a running defender to replace Roger and maybe another quality inside mid.

if clark gets to freo... he will make a lot of naysayers on this board eat their words. bookmark it. he is a hell of a lot better than bradley/johnson.

yes griff was great in his games this year, but with sandilands and clarke, and the possibility of clark coming, on top of moeller.. he is surplass to needs and this is the year that we will be able to get the best deal for him.

if clark reaches fremantle, we should trade griff to port for pick 28 and maybe push for a third round upgrade

Melbourne have reportedly offered around 2 mil over 4 yrs.
We have offered around 1.5 mil over 3 yrs. Not a big deal IMO.
If Clark plays great Footy for us over his 3 yr contract ,he will know doubt increase his contract price when signing a new contract with us.
So over the 4 yrs he earns 2 mil at Melbourne , at FREO over the 4 years it might bump upto 2.3 mil.

Melbourne have reportedly offered around 2 mil over 4 yrs.
We have offered around 1.5 mil over 3 yrs. Not a big deal IMO.
If Clark plays great Footy for us over his 3 yr contract ,he will know doubt increase his contract price when signing a new contract with us.
So over the 4 yrs he earns 2 mil at Melbourne , at FREO over the 4 years it might bump upto 2.3 mil.

Be interesting to see who wins out the $$$$ at Melbourne or his terminally ill Gran and cousin in jail.

if clark gets to freo... he will make a lot of naysayers on this board eat their words. bookmark it. he is a hell of a lot better than bradley/johnson.

yes griff was great in his games this year, but with sandilands and clarke, and the possibility of clark coming, on top of moeller.. he is surplass to needs and this is the year that we will be able to get the best deal for him.

if clark reaches fremantle, we should trade griff to port for pick 28 and maybe push for a third round upgrade

I don't think Port will trade Pick 28 for Griffin.

I'd love that pick or Pick 33...but you would think their 3rd rounder is possible....however Griffin is contracted so Freo should push for 33 ,see how much Port really want Griffin.

In saying this Clark deal needs to be done or we keep Griffin simple!

What's Moeller done that suggests he will make it. Any third party reports of him being a top ruck talent?

All I read is piss and wind from Freo supporters and some reasonable stats in a Z grade league that the Sydney Swans refuse to put their reserve grade players in.
More than reasonable stats to have 5 goals on debut as a 202cm ruckman who is 16 and skinny.

Agree that it's great to keep Griffin, however if we are able to get a Top 35 pick for a player that we picked up with pick 61 a year ago then it's worth looking at esp. if we land M.Clark beforehand.

It's a compromised draft so picks near the top 30 are valuable.

It's all about weighing up the benefit of a draft pick versus a year of backup ruck services.

What's Moeller done that suggests he will make it. Any third party reports of him being a top ruck talent?

All I read is piss and wind from Freo supporters and some reasonable stats in a Z grade league that the Sydney Swans refuse to put their reserve grade players in.

From AFL site, I know only one game but was impressive in the U18 carnival from reports.

The NSW/ACT Under-18 RAMS have kicked off the 2011 representative AFL season with an impressive 11-point victory over Northern Knights on Saturday.
The RAMS were given a chance to fine-tune their Under-18 NAB National Championships preparations by playing against TAC Cup team, the Northern Knights at Visy Park.
In perfect conditions in their first official match as a team, the RAMS got off to a slow starting before coming from behind to claim a hard-fought victory, winning 16.7.103 to 13.14.92.
The RAMS were led from the front by their two talls, 202-centimetre Craig Moller, who kicked five goals, and 208-centimetre ruckman Jarrod Witts.

RAMS 16.7.103 defeated Northern Knights 13.14.92
NSW/ACT RAMS
GOALS: C. Moller 5, A. Flagg 3, J. Potter 3, T. Head , H. Cunningham , B. Guthrie , J. Harper , O. Tweeddale
BEST: C. Moller, M. Lodge, H. Cunningham, J. Witts, M. Hartley, J. Potter, J. Gourlay, O. Tweeddale

This was against the team with the best ruck in this year's draft in Billy Longer.