Mitch Clark - The SQL

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

why melb need a key forward so they are making a play for clark thats what trade week is all about.

Im still pretty confident that he will end up at Frem.

With the Scully compo plus pick 12 in this draft you would have plenty of opportunity to draft one. Instead you sell the farm to get some one who hasn't proved he will make it as a key forward and is primarily a ruckman. Mate if i were you i would be livid.

But you are giving up Ablett like currency for someone who would not be in the top 100 in the AFL.

If this is a real offer (and not a Kerr offer) then you are paying massive overs for someone who doesn't really want to be there. If it goes ahead it should go down as one of the worst trades in AFL history.

Well no one knows what trade melb is going to offer BL cant believe everything u read and hear about, as for saying it will go down as the worst trade in history well that all depends what he does in the future to make that staement.

the only fools in this trade are melbourne.

Why? He'll probably play more than Scullduggery if he came!! Big call but those Leopards as mentioned previously, (Schwab anyway) have many contracts front ended.

This money was already factored in and would be well spent on Mitch. He's still got plenty of improvement in him.

Won't get to Melbourne, but would love to seem him here. As you will at Freo!

Ugh.. I don't want us to get in a bidding war.

I hope we concentrate on other trades, whether thats Bower or any pre listed players and then look to the Clark deal on Monday.

If Melbourne get a deal done, thats great, Clark is not worth two first round picks. That's crazy.

We don't need a ruckman, with Sandi, Griffen, Clarke and Moller coming through. He's an average at best full forward. Lets look to getting in some talented kids.

Well if it's 500k and not 800k, then Clark has even less reason to not go to Melbourne.

I'm sure Clark will end up at Freo.

Well no one knows what trade melb is going to offer BL cant believe everything u read and hear about, as for saying it will go down as the worst trade in history well that all depends what he does in the future to make that staement.
Which is why I stated if it was a real offer.

With the Scully compo plus pick 12 in this draft you would have plenty of opportunity to draft one. Instead you sell the farm to get some one who hasn't proved he will make it as a key forward and is primarily a ruckman. Mate if i were you i would be livid.

I agree i dont want to offer pick 12 plus a compo pick from scully thats way to much.

If Melb are willing to pay that - congrats they want him more. Brissy are happy, Melb get a ruck and Mitch is Daniel Rich.

16 & 20 will help dry my tears.

$800k a year to live in Melbourne and play footy at the MCG.

Yeah they offset each other- money and the G are great, but Melb ....so I see the issue.

I agree i dont want to offer pick 12 plus a compo pick from scully thats way to much.

I think it said 'maybe a compo pick as well'. If they need to trump us I guess. At the moment even the 12 on its own trumps our 16. Big call though, they reckon the top 15 are excellent.

Honestly chuck 20 on the table and walk away. Brisbane don't take it, tough shit for them, leave it to Mitch and Melbourne to sort out. If he doesn't want that, Brisbane take 20 or get rooted.

Either way, we get Mitch and keep our first rounder, or we possibly get Mitch AND have 16 or 20 and go to the draft.

**** 'em

The way I now see it is that if Clark says no to Melbourne, effectively he is saying "Freo only". That makes the PSD a very real possibility for Brisbane, as Clark is clearly saying to other clubs "Don't bother, I won't play for you".

If Clark/Young dismiss the Melbourne offer, then all bets are off. Pick 20, take it or leave it.

Honestly chuck 20 on the table and walk away. Brisbane don't take it, tough shit for them, leave it to Mitch and Melbourne to sort out. If he doesn't want that, Brisbane take 20 or get rooted.

Either way, we get Mitch and keep our first rounder, or we possibly get Mitch AND have 16 or 20 and go to the draft.

**** 'em

Unless Mitch says if he doesn't get traded to Freo he will go into the draft, Brisbane will simply do a deal with Melb or make us match the offer. It's up to Mitch from here. Either play hardball with Brisbane or end up at Melbourne.

If he wasn't interested in GWS who could give him big bucks i don't see him wanting anything to do with Melbourne. With freo he has a realistic chance to win a premiership and be close to family. That should be more than enough leverage than playing for melbourne who are a rabble.

I think the player that free is eyeing off is perhaps a bit of a reach at 16 but wouldn't of lasted until our second rounder. Hence the swap for 20 where said player is still available. Then use 16 on Clark. Nothing to base it on other than gut feel and what i would do.

Free is freo. Damn auto correct nonsense

**** 'em

I love you, man... :D :thumbsu:

I am now coming around to the theory of if we dont get him, no problem, we have talls that can play at both ends, we have a coach who seems to make note of Pav playing more as a forward, we have small to medium forwards and ruckment who will be adequate, ie if Griffen is required, why not play Griff, Sandi and Zac...it can work

yeah, I don't necessarily think our deficiency in talls is current, it is coming. If we don't get Clark, we are going to have to recruit soon and well for the future. That's all.

**** 'em
Not sure how this works?

Surely the PSD is now off the cards.

Melbourne have a PSD pick before Fremantle and can likely match or exceed any salary offer. Heck if Fremantle are willing to pay 500k+, then pick 16+ extras is hardly unreasonable.