Mitch Clark

• Thread starter Thread starter manboob

Sweet kicking action , match it too marking its a tasty looking option.
if we can get the ball into our fowardline with Hawk , Inkman and Kerso , we have three guys who can really hurt a backline
He'd need to do something shortly or he won't even be there in 2016 his time is defiantly now or never.

Now or never ? I think thats not the case if Geelong have the decision , 2011 Draft , 21 and 11 months ... Id say he has not used up our tolerance yet. Of course trades happen , but I cant see us just delisting him just yet. I do agree though that its a slippery slope , and while a player may feel they have time one their side , they can sometimes find that they have run out. He must make progress or he risks becoming less relevant. Clark and Hawk , will make it easier for him if he is in the side , he must find a way to demand selection.

I hope he does well, but considering he's never kicked 30+ goals yet in a season when fuilly fit and firing, the expectations for this year are low. But if he can manage to take a key defender away from Tommy, then that will be just what we need. Wouldn't be surprised to see Tommy kick 100 this year.

Worth also remembering Clark is just about finishing his first pre-season since 2011 - naturally, Dees pre-seasons don't count. :D
You say that like it's a joke but it's really not. There have been myriad stories about blokes moving from the Dees to other clubs and being shocked at the required work rate at their new club.

"Watch me kick dem goalz!"
143.png

Now or never ? I think thats not the case if Geelong have the decision , 2011 Draft , 21 and 11 months ... Id say he has not used up our tolerance yet. Of course trades happen , but I cant see us just delisting him just yet. I do agree though that its a slippery slope , and while a player may feel they have time one their side , they can sometimes find that they have run out. He must make progress or he risks becoming less relevant. Clark and Hawk , will make it easier for him if he is in the side , he must find a way to demand selection.
As you state, he has a little time but if just be happy to see more progress and opportunity. He did great out if the blocks and then faded badly with injury.

Show that form from the early games again, build on it and I'll take the lumps of the bad periods that come too.

Hawkins and Clark will help spread the load as well.
If a big offer comes at years end for him of course consider it - but I'm happy just to see him out there doing his thing for now.

Go Catters

Now or never might have been a bit dramatic but I'm guessing we would have 30 odd players listed as either forwards or midfielders so there is heaps of competition for a spot on the forward line and as we have seen recently with Brown if you either can't get on the paddock or can't impact the game when you do others go past you like your standing still.Kersten looks to have the tricks in the kit to succeed but needs to bring them to the table to fight off the challengers, he's not a lock best 22 this morning but lets hope by tonight he has gone some way to building his case.

Linky dink?
The link is the president of my cricket club played golf with him during the week.

They have no immediate plans of playing him in the ruck this season. Want the partnership with Hawkins to develop.

The link is the president of my cricket club played golf with him during the week.

They have no immediate plans of playing him in the ruck this season. Want the partnership with Hawkins to develop.
I hear what you are saying but don't be surprised if he does have some short stints in the ruck it's a good way to get a big bloke like Clark involved early in a game especially now that he has missed a fair bit of footy, it gets the juices pumping and calms the nerves.

Things would have to be pretty dire to see Clark go into the centre square to ruck I reckon. The clear plan is to have him partner Hawkins.

That's not the reason they would do it.
Sorry lost part of your post there unintentional.
I understand your reasoning but to me that falls into the "dire" category - i.e. it would at least involve things not working for him up forward which I can't see happening. He will either flourish or his body will let him down, in which case rucking ain't going to help.

Things would have to be pretty dire to see Clark go into the centre square to ruck I reckon. The clear plan is to have him partner Hawkins.
what they would like to do and plan on doing may not be what ends up happening.

The fact he played ruck recently in a intra club/match simulation says to me they are still open to him pinch hitting in the ruck

The inference was that Clark in the ruck as a ruckmen not a pinch hitter. They don't want to use him as a 'ruckmen'.

They see him in the Tippett or Petrie role, don't need him to ruck but he can if required in F50 stoppages.

I'm just trying to think of a scenario where we see Clark play significant time during a game or over a stretch of games in the ruck. I struggle to see how it happens.

When all of our big blokes fall over during a game he's a chance :D

:(

The inference was that Clark in the ruck as a ruckmen not a pinch hitter. They don't want to use him as a 'ruckmen'.

They see him in the Tippett or Petrie role, don't need him to ruck but he can if required in F50 stoppages.
There is every chance I am blinded by my own want of him being fit and our ruckman...

Isn't that dire??
I wasn't disagreeing with your original point, just saying how the fact he's training a bit in the ruck suggests the club are prepared to use him if needed ... in that dire situation

A little of Dogs game reminded me (perhaps confirmed for me) how important in todays football to have talented and efficient forwards. One must make the most of the i50's or be prepared to pay the consequence's , and Clark has the potential to contribute to that for us. Putting him in the ruck on risks the strategy. If neither Simpson or Hmac strongly contribute to our #1ruck position this year then 1 or both should be moved on

First Port of call. What sort of options do we have this year . Today we will have a look at Lucey. At some stage , some one of will give feedback on Read. Closer to being ready is Stanley ... is he a serious ruck? This too has to be determined. At Stanley/ Blitz ruck option hard sounds threatening it would highly mobile.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...rt-as-forward-at-geelong-20150225-13onw6.html

Geelong see Clark primarily as a marking forward option alongside Tom Hawkins, although Scott said that role was not set in stone.

"I have seen Mitch have a virtual All-Australian year as a ruckman in Brisbane and on the limited exposed form we saw in Melbourne he showed he could be one of the really good power forwards in the competition as well," Scott told AAP.

"We're open-minded.

"The one thing about Mitch is, assuming he is healthy and available to play, if it doesn't work for him in one position, he's got other options."