Mitch Thorp

• Thread starter Thread starter Wizard

If we have a 'no tools' policy, then why did we get Ballantyne last year?

ballas is a champion bloke, met him a good dozen times as he is a close friend of a friend of mine and everythime he has been great. he is a prankster and a larakin, but he is certainly no tool... a tool would be paul hasleby or paul meduhurst.. ballas is a champ

Pro's
Thorp has got talent - check
Appears to have got over his injuries - check
Would fit in with Freo Structure - check
Is still young enough (he's still 20) - check

Con's
Its understood that his attitude is questionable (understatement)
Needs someone to kick him up the arse and ride him to get his head straight - Can Freo do it? (Hope so!)

If all the above can be considered AND he can actually get to Freo (not be picked up by a team beforehand)....reckon you guys can pick up a beauty at cheap price.

He has an Australian flag tattooed on his arm. Instant tool.

Congratulations... you have just won 'Big Footy's Weakest Argument Response Award'

Nic Suban drives a purple ute.... tool aswell?

Pro's
Thorp has got talent - check
Appears to have got over his injuries - check
Would fit in with Freo Structure - check
Is still young enough (he's still 20) - check

Con's
Its understood that his attitude is questionable (understatement)
Needs someone to kick him up the arse and ride him to get his head straight - Can Freo do it? (Hope so!)

If all the above can be considered AND he can actually get to Freo (not be picked up by a team beforehand)....reckon you guys can pick up a beauty at cheap price.

If he wanted to come to WA and we thought he could turn it around Thorp would be a good fit as a young KP forward.
Carlton and Richmond are said to be interested in Thorp. National Draft nominations are due Tuesday week so it'll be intersting to see if Thorp nominates or has a preferred club through the PSD.

He has an Australian flag tattooed on his arm. Instant tool.

You can be a bogan without being a tool, I've seen it done.:D
Apparently Frodo's Aussie flag tatt is missing one of the Southern Cross stars - he got it done in Bali at the end of 2008 but didn't realise until someone noticed it at Dockers pre-season training!

what's with bagging our players..
seems like there are a few tools on this forum!

Yeah OK, Mr 2 month member.

What has my membership join date got to do with the argument that Ballantyne is a tool?

I hate posters on here claiming to know the character of a player they only watch play footy.

Nature of the beast ehh... yeah thats why we are here. To read to utter shite being thrown at the players of our fine football club. Lets stick to facts, not assumptions and rumors.

because we had already broken it with palmer the year before. Admire the bloke on the field but not off it...
\
oh yeah, more of this eagle nonsence about palmer being a loose unit, arrogant, druggie etc etc etc..... give it a rest, until i see evidence to the contrary rhys is a champ who can do no wrong and in fact could be the closest thing to jesus that our club has had since one M. Pavlich was drafted

What has my membership join date got to do with the argument that Ballantyne is a tool?

I hate posters on here claiming to know the character of a player they only watch play footy.

Nature of the beast ehh... yeah thats why we are here. To read to utter shite being thrown at the players of our fine football club. Lets stick to facts, not assumptions and rumors.

I don't think you should be telling posters to GTFO.

It's not 'why' we are here however discussing sports, clubs, players, coaches inevitably will lead to assumptions being made. Look at the media, they make their living off of it, that's all thats going on in here.

Seriously, how boring would trade week be if we stuck to facts.

I don't think you should be telling posters to GTFO.

It's not 'why' we are here however discussing sports, clubs, players, coaches inevitably will lead to assumptions being made. Look at the media, they make their living off of it, that's all thats going on in here.

Seriously, how boring would trade week be if we stuck to facts.

8% BF or GTFO.... ? :D.... maybe I should use emoticons next time

Lets get back on topic.... besides, this is between gravy and I.... i don't like condiments very much :rolleyes:

I think we will nominate McDonald with #3 in the psd. How will we get M Thorp?... would be nice to grab both.
I think having a coach like Harves and a captain in Pav, any perceived attitude problems may be sorted out.

\
oh yeah, more of this eagle nonsence about palmer being a loose unit, arrogant, druggie etc etc etc..... give it a rest, until i see evidence to the contrary rhys is a champ who can do no wrong and in fact could be the closest thing to jesus that our club has had since one M. Pavlich was drafted

yeah eagle nonsense... its gotta be if you dont like it hey mate? From what myself and mates have observed he is a tool. Maybe its just when he's on the drink.

i have also heard that palmer is a massive tool from people that went to school with him. love the guy how he plays and is one of my favourite players but wouldnt suprise me if he acts like a tool outside of footy. seriously more than half of the footy players probably are

seriously more than half of the footy players probably are

fair point...

An Australian flag on the arm does usually qualify someone for instant tool status but i am just gonna turn a blind eye for the mayor. I am sure he was drunk. Just hope he didn't get hep B in the dodgy Balinese tattoo parlour.

No in all seriousness the guy plays like a champion and seems llike a character to say the least. I love the way he was an unfit chubber when he rocked up to training at the start of last year. At least he managed to work most of it off. Also when he wore an ill-fitting suit that he borrowed off a mate when he won the Sandover. That has got to be worth something.

Dunno why people think Hasleby would be a tool, seems like a pretty decent bloke. I also think him and Pav have always been the utmost of professionals which is commendable.