Mitchell Johnson

I really think Tait is just as soft as butter. And I'm a south Aussie and loved the bloke when he came into the spotlight.

Knowing a few people that have more knowledge of his "situation" than i do, they reckon he is as weak as piss?????

If they really did have "knowledge" of his situation, they wouldn't have said that. My advice is you stop listening to idiots who pretend to know what they're talking about.

What are you trying to say? That his situation was serious and it wasn't just him being mentally soft? Then i would need to make a decision to listen to someone on the internet (you) against people who know him personally.

I'd just shut up footyfreak. You sound like an intolerant "macho" semi-bigot and a serial "I know famous people" type. Just let it go, you sound sillier with every post.

Not interested in alot of the mental toughness stuff but Johnson is best advised to leave talking about this sort of stuff for his self titled autobiography in 2021.

Not sure much good can come from speaking about this whilst he is still playing, especially so far after the event.

Too right - he'll cop shit for being a ******** for years now.

I'd just shut up footyfreak. You sound like an intolerant "macho" semi-bigot and a serial "I know famous people" type. Just let it go, you sound sillier with every post.

Go and get royally ^&*%!!!!!

I'll post what i want. Who the hell are you to tell me what to do? I don't know anyone famous, i know a few AFL footy players and a few crew with ties to cricket, whoop de f'ing doo :rolleyes:

It's you that is reading into that. If you don't like what i am posting, stiff shit, that's the thing with forums, some posts you like, some you don't. If you can't deal with that, I'd leave now!!!!

I laughed at strescothick and now we have our own version.

Johnson is just being soft - but why bring Trescothick into it?

What happened to him was very, very sad - and certainly shouldn't be made light of. He was a very sick man, and deserved/deserves nothing but sympathy and compassion.

Johnson is just being soft - but why bring Trescothick into it?

What happened to him was very, very sad - and certainly shouldn't be made light of. He was a very sick man, and deserved/deserves nothing but sympathy and compassion.

The 31-year-old has not played for England since withdrawing from the tours to India and Australia last year.

"It's always branded as a stress-related illness. I'm not mentally ill, that's for sure," he told the Scotland on Sunday newspaper.

"It all came from the build-up of playing and training, practising and being away from home. It's a combination of different things and the constant grind of being away from home all the time."

And people are bagging me for bringing him up. :rolleyes:

Sounds like he is copping out on "copping out". Stress can exaggerate mental illness. Again, I thought it was more of an anxiety issue ie away from home, comfort zone, family and that regard which I thought was related to marriage break up and so on with kids and other stuff involved but as he has said otherwise, then you can only assume that the guy isn't up to international cricket and is mentally/physically soft to the rigors of that.

I can understand him disliking being away from home and so forth - he's not the first cricketer to have problems with that. Craig McDermott (who was otherwise quite macho and appealed to that particular crowd) had serious problems with touring.

I like Mitch, but I personally would not have said anything about it - at least not now. That's not me being macho or trying to appear tough, but having other people try and use your suffering against you (as the Herald Sun has done to an extent by spinning his story) would just add salt to the wound.

The media look for big stories - not necessarily compassionate ones.

You're a real tough man. A real national hero, let's all salute your hairy-chested brawn and refusal to accept that some men might be more emotionally unstable than others.

You are a true champion, you demonstrate how the weak should be crushed in the wake of your forceful manliness.

:thumbsu:

Forget about him. He peddles that "I'M A REAL OZI BLOKE!" shtick a lot of the time.

In reality, he's probably just as insecure as his target, except that he masks it underneath a macho facade. He's not the first, unfortunately.

He also thinks that I'm a creationist, for some reason. :rolleyes:

i doubt it would have helped him much. i also think the groundwork can be laid for some of the players to become a bit more susceptible. mostly through things like babying them with rest breaks and so they think less about playing and more about 'managing their mental and physical workload', and through this external factors can be introduced quite easily.

they are human beings, mind you. is a bit strange to be reminded of that, but there you go. he gives me her address, and i will personally guarantee she won't bother him again.

If there is any more proof required that cricketers these days are soft as butter this has to be it. Is he ****ing kidding?

Bugger me, first Tait and now MJ is showing just how little mental strength and fortitude he really has.

FFS, if this sort of "mummy tiff" leaves him unable to hit the side of a barn then how the hell will he be able to cope when life dishes up something that requires some true resilience.

He comes across as the type that if slapped across the face would go crying to his mummy... assuming of course she is talking to him.

HTFU or GTFO.
Its because of sooky whiney players like this, that the "aura" of invincibility that used to surround the Australian Cricket Team has gone. This is openly spoken about by other countries, and the days when we were a feared outfit on the world stage have long gone. In the Australian team of old you didnt have to be physically huge in stature to be intimidating. Guys like Langer, border, waugh, boony, and tubby Taylor were respected by their peers, and because of their mental toughness and never die attitude, were able to dominate world cricket for nigh on 15 years.
Unfortunately, the current crop of metrosexuals, led by that imbocile Michael "Beckham" Clarke, have absolutely no prescence whatsoever.
Soft ***** like "yes Lara, whatever you say Lara" Clarke, "I cant cope"Tait, "hamstring Watson, "Mummy boy" Mitchell Johnson, and "backstreet boys" Brett Lee, are too caught up in their sponsorship deals, and their physical appearance to compete with the likes of South Africa and India, on a consistent level.
Ricky Ponting must cringe at some of the shit that he is subjected to in the changerooms, and knowing that the traditions and culture of the Australian Cricket team is soon to be handed over to theis bunch of She men.
With the likes of Lara Bingle and Jessica Bratich in the background, team unity, harmony, and a sense of wanting to be with your mates, to win at all costs for your mates, will be a thing of the past.
When will the men in this team, ie: Ponting, Katich, Haddin put these "boys" back in their collective box, and re instill that killer instinct back into the Australian Cricket Team

^ I don't recall too many 'mummy's boys' playing for Australia in the 80's and yet AFAIK we weren't world beaters back then. How does that fit into your equation of 'metrosexuals/mummy's boys/etc = poor on-field performers'?

your right in respects to australia not being world beaters back in the eighties, however they were a respected outfit by the opposition, because of their mental toughness. Sides knew back then that when they came up against the aussies it was always going to be an emotionally tough, as well as physical battle. These days with the likes of the players I mentioned, they are clearly mentally inferior to teams of the past. The fact that these guys of today are constantly headlined for exactly what I have been talking about is proof in itself. I am so sick and tired of hearing about these guys complaining about work loads, or public pressure, or bickering amongst the wags and family, that I am ready to throw up. You dont hear these issues from blokes like ponting, or haddin, or katich. They get on with the job. And you only have to look back at the most recent personal problems surrounding Glenn McGrath and Adam Gilchrist to see how real men just get on with things. This current group are boys, just boys. Immature and self centred. For fuchs sake, Katich and Clarke even had a falling out because Lara wanted to pull him away from celebrations and festivities with the boys. A tradition that has stood for over a hundred years, and will continue long after he and she are gone. You never heard of these kind of issues until recently, and thats not to say they werent there, its just that they dealt with these issues like adults, LIKE MEN, and got on with things.
If you dont see that guys like Clarke, and johnson, and Tait etc, arent distracted by their underwear endorsements, or new idea interviews, or product commercials, or fail to handle the demands of modern cricket, then you are a flog. An extremely blind flog.
If you also want to be an apologist for these underachieving cry babies you are more than welcome to be, but leave me to my opnions, cause yours matter little to me.
Now go and put on your moisturiser, splash in some hair gel, and go and read your missus some poetry.
On closing, maybe you should try and involve yourself in a team sport mate. Perhaps some manliness might rub off on you, and give you a better understanding on how soft you sound when you run to the defence of these spoilt prima donnas.

your right in respects to australia not being world beaters back in the eighties, however they were a respected outfit by the opposition, because of their mental toughness. Sides knew back then that when they came up against the aussies it was always going to be an emotionally tough, as well as physical battle. These days with the likes of the players I mentioned, they are clearly mentally inferior to teams of the past. The fact that these guys of today are constantly headlined for exactly what I have been talking about is proof in itself. I am so sick and tired of hearing about these guys complaining about work loads, or public pressure, or bickering amongst the wags and family, that I am ready to throw up. You dont hear these issues from blokes like ponting, or haddin, or katich. They get on with the job. And you only have to look back at the most recent personal problems surrounding Glenn McGrath and Adam Gilchrist to see how real men just get on with things. This current group are boys, just boys. Immature and self centred. For fuchs sake, Katich and Clarke even had a falling out because Lara wanted to pull him away from celebrations and festivities with the boys. A tradition that has stood for over a hundred years, and will continue long after he and she are gone. You never heard of these kind of issues until recently, and thats not to say they werent there, its just that they dealt with these issues like adults, LIKE MEN, and got on with things.
If you dont see that guys like Clarke, and johnson, and Tait etc, arent distracted by their underwear endorsements, or new idea interviews, or product commercials, or fail to handle the demands of modern cricket, then you are a flog. An extremely blind flog.
If you also want to be an apologist for these underachieving cry babies you are more than welcome to be, but leave me to my opnions, cause yours matter little to me.
Now go and put on your moisturiser, splash in some hair gel, and go and read your missus some poetry.
On closing, maybe you should try and involve yourself in a team sport mate. Perhaps some manliness might rub off on you, and give you a better understanding on how soft you sound when you run to the defence of these spoilt prima donnas.

I hear ya mate. i was in northampton in 2005 for the tour game against said county in the middle of the infamous ashes series. Taity, after just hitting some poor pom square in the face and bloodying him up like nothing else then took a fierce straight drive that hit him in the chest. he doubled up, clearly winded in the middle of the pitch. haydos then walked up to him and from the body language it was clear even from the the boundary he was pointing taity back to his mark and yelling "don't be so f'n soft". I thought it was unfair at the time given it was a blitzing drive and that taity was just a young kid back then but given whats happened since i suppose it was a fair call. yes we are a soft team full of metrosexual posers. but you can shove yer brut 33 up yer arse. yer never gonna pull with that sh1t

that said, has anyone heard this rumour doing the rounds that haury refused to play the 5th test? apparently someone reckons he was sh1tting it and withdrew himself from contention for the 5th. true story or random bullsh1t?

Metrosexual posers?

Katich: Pretty blokey.
Watson: Maybe, but the guy's toughed thru a shit load of injury that his weak critics would avoid.
Ponting: No.
Hussey: No.
Clarke: Maybe, but who cares. He is who he is, a bogan done good.
North: No.
Haddin: No.
Johnson: Maybe, but hardly, his girlfriend would kick your ass.
Hauritz: No.
Siddle: Ex woodchopper.
Hilfenhaus: Ex brickie.

It's guys who make heroes of themself on the internet that are weak as piss. Grow up.

Metrosexual posers?

Katich: Pretty blokey.
Watson: Maybe, but the guy's toughed thru a shit load of injury that his weak critics would avoid.
Ponting: No.
Hussey: No.
Clarke: Maybe, but who cares. He is who he is, a bogan done good.
North: No.
Haddin: No.
Johnson: Maybe, but hardly, his girlfriend would kick your ass.
Hauritz: No.
Siddle: Ex woodchopper.
Hilfenhaus: Ex brickie

guys who care about their skin 'n' hair are ****ing gay ******s who ain't good at sports.

M I RITE?!?!

:rolleyes:

He got a bit carried away, but he does have a point.

Pup being Mrs Bingle.

Johnson sooking because his Mum was a bitch to him.

Those two guys should be men of steel, like Punter, Waugh, Haydos, Langer, McGrath etc; they're key players, we need them projecting an aura of invincibility, not an aura of softness.