Mitchell Johnson

Where's the snipers when you need them?

One bullet to put him, and us, out of our misery.

Hopefully "the in boys club" finally put a rocket up Johnson during the lunch break and told him you are bowling for your immediate test career when we walk back out on the field, i doubt it.
Gotta be a change starting at the top of Australian Cricket starting with Sutherland, the selectors and Nielsen.
It,s one thing not to perform but another not to fight

Bowling average about ot tick over 30.

In fairness to him this isnt his pitch, doesnt have the pace or bounce he requires. But I think he has to go. He's been getting through International Cricket based on bowling short fast and wide, has never during his first class career learnt any sort of swing or seam, and it has unfortunately caught up to him I suspect.

He'll probably knock the tail end over now.

Such a lie. He doesn't have ability to be a test quality bowler. He can do a once off job every now and then but the reality is, that he is first class player most of the time. England thankfully have studied him and realised that the majority of his deliveries you don't need to play at and because he doesn't have the control, you don't have to worry about him bowling maidens.

Johnson will survive another test but really, his career has gone downhill considerably since he got engaged and moved to Perth.

His mental weakness aside, the Poms have figured it out; have the discipline to leave most of his balls, put the inevitable shit couple ever over away, and you've negated him.

This applies to any bowler in the world - if they're bowling poorly. Why don't batsmen leave everything that doesn't hit the stumps and only hit the ones that are going to hit the stumps or the pads? While we're at it, don't hit any to the fieldsmen and instead of getting out lbw all the time, stick the bat in front of the ball to defend it away? You'll never be out again, imagine McGrath's dismay at this paradigm shift in the craft of batting! **** me.

Johnson's gone to shit not because players have "worked him out" but because his lines and lengths have gone out the window. His big wicket taking delivery has been the one that lands on a good length and on a tight enough line that forces the batsman to play; the ball nips away a touch and he has a scalp. But he's not getting them in that area anymore, they're all landing either too wide or virtually on the leg side, easy pickings. That and his ribcage targeting deliveries have lost all venom and hurry. His pace in general has been about 10 clicks down.

Batsmen haven't worked him out, he's just bowling like a dead chook with a pike up its rectum.

Such a lie. He doesn't have ability to be a test quality bowler. He can do a once off job every now and then but the reality is, that he is first class player most of the time. England thankfully have studied him and realised that the majority of his deliveries you don't need to play at and because he doesn't have the control, you don't have to worry about him bowling maidens.
Hey im the first to lay into Johnson, but on a pitch that had every bowler seemingly down 5-10km/hr on pace he was always going to struggle moreso than usual.

I think he should be dropped tbh, dont think he will be.

Johnson's gone to shit not because players have "worked him out" but because his lines and lengths have gone out the window. His big wicket taking delivery has been the one that lands on a good length and on a tight enough line that forces the batsman to play; the ball nips away a touch and he has a scalp. But he's not getting them in that area anymore, they're all landing either too wide or basically on the leg side, easy pickings. That and his ribcage targeting deliveries have lost all venom and hurry. Not to mention his pace is 10 clicks down.

I completely agree with this post and also note the bolded bit. He's also pretty much lost the ability to bowl to left handed batsmen.

He bowled pretty well in NZ, got the arm infection and his tatt before the world T20 and has been very very ordinary since then.

I just hate Johnson body language, it just rubs off on the rest of the team, I just don't understand his action whatsoever, in one series against RSA he was getting the ball to swing in to the RH batsman at pace, and bowled with hostility, I don't I have ever seen a better perfomance in terms of hostile bowling than Johnson in RSA

I honestly reckon the last time I saw Johnson swing it was in RSA ironically enough, what has happened to him?

I completely agree with this post and also note the bolded bit. He's also pretty much lost the ability to bowl to left handed batsmen.

He bowled pretty well in NZ, got the arm infection and his tatt before the world T20 and has been very very ordinary since then.

The most frustrating thing is that when he's bowling even reasonably well, he's the best paceman in either side; and the best bowler easily when he's genuinely on song. We'll beat ANYONE when he's firing. But so often lately he's bloody nowhere, so we're effectively a bowler down. We keep carrying him, we hold out for that devastating form to return and it's beastly when it does, but in the meantime it costs us games. Take the last Ashes series - him and Siddle tore England apart to inflict an innings defeat, which is great, but in the entire series leading up he put us on the backfoot with his waywardness. It's too big a price to pay.

I'm actually wondering if he shouldn't share the opening partnership with Hilfenhaus again. He was putrid for that couple of games in England, but what I think we're learning is that he's off the boil he's just generally putrid, new ball or not; the hardness of the new ball suits his game anyway. Let him try to extract that steepling bounce and find the venom again.

In his last 10 Test bowling innings (inclusive, as at the end of yesterday's play) he has taken 11 wickets at an average of 55.6, strike rate of 91.3 and economy rate of 3.65.

Jesus, that is horrible, Hauritz must be sitting there thinking why the hell was I the only one dropped.

The most frustrating thing is that when he's bowling even reasonably well, he's the best paceman in either side; and the best bowler easily when he's genuinely on song. We'll beat ANYONE when he's firing. But so often lately he's bloody nowhere, so we're effectively a bowler down. We keep carrying him, we hold out for that devastating form to return and it's beastly when it does, but in the meantime it costs us games. Take the last Ashes series - him and Siddle tore England apart to inflict an innings defeat, which is great, but in the entire series leading up he put us on the backfoot with his waywardness. It's too big a price to pay.

I'm actually wondering if he shouldn't share the opening partnership with Hilfenhaus again. He was putrid for that couple of games in England, but what I think we're learning is that he's off the boil he's just generally putrid, new ball or not; the hardness of the new ball suits his game anyway. Let him try to extract that steepling bounce and find the venom again.

He needs to be dropped. In fact, it would be great to get him away from Troy Cooley altogether as before he got under his wing, his arm was higher and he swung the ball more. You only need to look up old footage of him on Y/T to see that.

Jesus, that is horrible, Hauritz must be sitting there thinking why the hell was I the only one dropped.

Since and including the 09 ashes haurtiz was also averaging 35 with the bat to johnsons 12.

Interesting nobody counted his batting as part of the overall package but for some reason they do with johnson.

Based on the last 18 months losing haurtiz's batting was far bigger than losing johnsons.

The bowling coach has ruined Mitch, thats what it comes down to.

Why has Mitches pace suddenly dropped 10km? Don't tell me its just confidence, he must have been told to drop the pace for added control.

It reminds me a bit of when people told Brett Lee he was now our container and strike bowler, and had about a year of absolute tripe where he tried to become a different bowler.

The bowling coach has ruined Mitch, thats what it comes down to.

Why has Mitches pace suddenly dropped 10km? Don't tell me its just confidence, he must have been told to drop the pace for added control.

It reminds me a bit of when people told Brett Lee he was now our container and strike bowler, and had about a year of absolute tripe where he tried to become a different bowler.

What the ****? You mean the year where he took up the lead role in our attack and completed his best ever season, winning the Allan Border medal? Honestly what on earth are you on about?

He had a good year in ODI which he always did. He only had 1 good summer in Australia and that was it, when Sri Lanka toured here. Other than that he bowled tripe.

The guy averaged over 30 every year other than 07 when he only played 4 tests.

Mate, don't bother trying to talk facts when it comes to Brett Lee. The BS written about Lee over the years on forums like this has been ridiculous. When he spearheaded the Aussie attack he was superb. Prior to that, he was asked to bowl as quick as possible, and that's precisely what he did. The last thing Australia needed was another line and length bowler like McGrath and Gillespie. I'm convinced very few people on this forum have the slightest idea of the roles bowlers play, and they know even less about fast bowlers. 300+ Test wickets and there are still idiots who think he couldn't bowl.

I wouldnt mind if you lot dropped Johnson because i still feel he has the x-factor to be able to rip us to shreds, something i cant see someone like hilfenhaus or bollinger doing

X factor is the biggest wank i've heard in relation to cricket.

Stuart Clark dominated the last series here - and he is about the least x factor bloke i know in cricket history.

Glenn McGrath dominated series after series with one game plan - bowl line and length on or about off stump and let the ball do the job. He varied from this in one series - against India in 2004 when he bowled full on middle peg as part of a team strategy.

The closest thing to X factor is perhaps a guy like Katich who can trundle down a few landmines.

He had a good year in ODI which he always did. He only had 1 good summer in Australia and that was it, when Sri Lanka toured here. Other than that he bowled tripe.

The guy averaged over 30 every year other than 07 when he only played 4 tests.
You don't get 300 test wickets bowling tripe.

Having said that, I don't think he made the most of his considerable ability at Test level - otherwise he would have been one of the greats instead of a very good bowler.

You don't get 300 test wickets bowling tripe.

Having said that, I don't think he made the most of his considerable ability at Test level - otherwise he would have been one of the greats instead of a very good bowler.

When Lee hit the scene - he knocked over blokes with raw power.

When he was figured out (i,e see off his first spell) - he didn't have enough tricks or discipline to become one of the greats.

His ODI bowling is first rate because he can maintain his pace and swing the ball. Rather than just let him tire himself out and then punish him as they did in test cricket - batsmen were forced to try and play him from ball 1.

Mitch Johnson bowls a lot of tripe and has a similar average and strike rate to Lee. Did Lee bowl tripe all the time? No - but there was a lot of tripe amongst it.

The thing with Lee (like Merv Hughes) is they often showed great maturity and discipline with bat in hand - but were often brainless with the ball.