Draft Profile Mitchell Marsh

Perhaps a question for our Dockers and Eagles friends.
Mitchell Marsh (son of Geoff the cricketer) was touted as being a top 10 pcik this year but chose cricket.
Made a very polished 60 not out (off 29 balls) for WA in the Ford Ranger Cup today. Interesting that he was promised to be fast tracked trough the system if he didn't cross to footy.
Was he any good at footy?

Are you kidding! Had know idea he was being touted a top10 pick!!

Will be a fantastic cricket player, not too many 18yo's make 60 of 29 balls not out and add to that he can wicket-keep. Will be a great player, eagles are probably pissed off he chose cricket so theyre going fr his cousin sheppard instead:p

Are you kidding! Had know idea he was being touted a top10 pick!!

Will be a fantastic cricket player, not too many 18yo's make 60 of 29 balls not out and add to that he can wicket-keep. Will be a great player, eagles are probably pissed off he chose cricket so theyre going fr his cousin sheppard instead:p

Is sheppard his cousin:eek:

Was getting ready to play a 2nd grade WACA match (about 3 years ago) and saw an under 17 make an unbelievable score...all the fielders on the boundary and this kid was still hitting it past them or over them....kids name was Mitch Marsh and he went on to score 200 odd in that game.

He is a 10 times better cricketer than he would be as an AFL player. BTW played a little with (and against) and watched Shaun Marsh who was/is also an unbelievable talent but reckon Mitch has him covered.

Was getting ready to play a 2nd grade WACA match (about 3 years ago) and saw an under 17 make an unbelievable score...all the fielders on the boundary and this kid was still hitting it past them or over them....kids name was Mitch Marsh and he went on to score 200 odd in that game.

He is a 10 times better cricketer than he would be as an AFL player. BTW played a little with (and against) and watched Shaun Marsh who was/is also an unbelievable talent but reckon Mitch has him covered.

Yeah he's made the right choice I reckon. Should be pushing into the Aussie team soon, have heard he is a freak at cricket.

Was a pretty good football player, dont think he would have gone top ten. He is a freak cricketer, he hit the fastest 50 by a West Australian.

Mitch on Sheppard.

"And I will be watching (the draft) closely because my cousin (Brad Sheppard) is likely to be drafted.

"I am hoping he goes to the Eagles and anywhere else I won't be too happy.”

Both went to Wesley College, ran a 400m relay with Shepps and Marsh, they both made the right decsion, Sheppard is a better footballer than Marsh.........just.........Marsh is a better crickter than Shepps......by a lot....And im not saying Shepps aint good, as a 16 year old he got asked to play under 19s state cricket, its just Marsh is unbeilably good at cricket. Tbh i dont think Marsh would have had a successful career at football. Hes big and talented and quick, just dont think he had the tools for AFL tho, he will play for Australia before he is 22 though.

Yeah Shepps and Marsh are said to be cousins as I read in the paper, Lucky Marsh was playing for WA and scored 60 odd because they were rolled for 130 odd. Marsh was smoking runs for Fremantle when he was like 16 or 17.

Mitch on Sheppard.

"And I will be watching (the draft) closely because my cousin (Brad Sheppard) is likely to be drafted.

"I am hoping he goes to the Eagles and anywhere else I won't be too happy.”

Where did you pull that from?????

I know for a fact that Marsh supports the Dockers, not sure why he would want Sheppard at the Eagles if thats the case

He was likely to go in between Freo's picks so I guess he's just saying he want's his cousin to stay at home

He had zero chance of going to fremantle, very unlikely he would slip to pick 20. Marsh wanted him at the eagles so he would stay home. When it comes to draft its not about playing for your favorite side or hoping your mate goes to the side you support.

Yep they are all proud Freo and South Freo supporters.

Geoff played 2 or 3 games in 1978 for South when the WAFL competition was very strong so he must have been a pretty good player to run around with Maurice Rioli, Basil Campbell, Noel Carter and Stephen Michael.

And of course Mitch played colts for South last year.