Suspended
Oct 8, 2004
Newcastle
Pies,Bulls,Liverpool,AUFC
MM on White line Fever tonight, im going to put a call through hopefully. Going to ask about the Mid-field, the injuries and inspiration and motivation for the Pies in 2005.

Any other suggestions??

Easty
President
Richard Cole Fan Club

I can answer 3 of those for you Hoggy.

McGough can't kick and Mick didn't have the time to teach him how to handball.

Scotland wanted to go

Freeborn was too old and was beginning to become inconsistant.

Would love to find out the logic in letting rup go though. Mind you another 3 clubs looked at him after we sent him packing, and none of them picked him up, so there must have been something negative about him behind the scenes.

Wheres Jacotine now????? (Whos he playing for?)

So if player wants to go we just open the door at let him walk do we.

This "he wanted to go " talk is pure ********.

Tazz wanted to go once but we didnt let him go did we.

we got screwed on scotland.

Stan. said:
So if player wants to go we just open the door at let him walk do we.

This "he wanted to go " talk is pure ********.

Tazz wanted to go once but we didnt let him go did we.

we got screwed on scotland.

I disagree,

There was one reason he wanted to go, and not any single one of us could stop him from going. Football to some was about the money. With Scotland, it wasn't about meeting the price, it was about giving him a fair dinkum go. He had a great 2002 season and an interupted 2003 season, but finsihed the season of as one of our better players.

The question to ask Mick, is Why did you turn him into a fringe player? and keep him that way? The Collingwood gang had a go at keeping him at the club but it was useless. He was always going to leave!!! It was, quite simply, Mick Malthouses fault in the long term. He may have stuck up for him when it counted, (contract time), but in the long term, do what is best for your own good. I actually congradulate Scotland.

Callum Chambers was in the same situation. May have played every game in 2002 coming off the bench, but he had the potnetial and was never used as a player, just a guy to look for when needed. He may well reignite what was a promising career at Carlton.

It was time for Scotland to go. The right deal came up and we went for it.

Tazz is a completely different story. He was getting game time at that stage and we needed him. The other thing is that he just wanted to leave footy, not just play at another club. Further to that if the right deal had of come for him we would of taken it.

I could not see Heath getting the go in the midfield that we have got now. We've got too much like him.

joshieboy said:
It was time for Scotland to go. The right deal came up and we went for it.

Tazz is a completely different story. He was getting game time at that stage and we needed him. The other thing is that he just wanted to leave footy, not just play at another club. Further to that if the right deal had of come for him we would of taken it.

I could not see Heath getting the go in the midfield that we have got now. We've got too much like him.

Yeah, heath wouldnt get a go would he, with all the class ball winners and users that we have at the minute. :rolleyes:

Heath had a year to go on his contract, he didnt just walk he was pushed and we got nothin for him. btw hall has shown nothing till date.

Stan. said:
Yeah, heath wouldnt get a go would he, with all the class ball winners and users that we have at the minute. :rolleyes:

Heath had a year to go on his contract, he didnt just walk he was pushed and we got nothin for him.

Yeah, take out the rolleyes and you would be right. Sarcasm makes your point useless, as joshieboy was correct. Mate, Heath Scotland is as good as any of our midfielders, correct, the fact that he never got a decent go alongside them was the deal, he was too busy on the pine for too man minutes, many more than he and us would have liked!!! He was a star, and still is, it is just that MM used him on the bench, and ruined his career at the pies, and ruined our hopes as supporters for continue to cheer him on in black and white colours.

Stan. said:
btw hall has shown nothing till date.

??? This might be a personal thing between you and joshie boy ??? but if not, what does Hall have got to do with Scotland, Mick Malthouse, or White Line Fever? The Hall i think your talking about is a McKee type, big bodied useless full forward who will spend most of his AFL, i mean VFL career at Willi, before going back to the WAFL.

Hoggy said:
Ask him why he got rid of the following...

Betheras
Scotland
McGough
Freeborn

and to a lesser extent
Jacotine
Rupe was worth keeping over certain other superduds. But, sadly, his time was passing.

Scotland was traded to try and get Stevens, as Port reckoned he couldn't play. Port have done more to strengthen Carlton than Dennis Pagan!

McGough mightn't be able to kick, but he can get the ball going forward and he can handball as well as anyone. He mightn't make it, but if he doesn't, I reckon it'll be because his coach doesn't have enough guts to let him prove himself in the middle.

Freeborn was a hack. And if you disagree, then you should have seen him in the Willi Prelim. He was washed up by that stage and knew it (retired).

Jacotine had less going for him than Freeborn!

Beauty of our midfield was Bucks/Burns and our depth, last year with injuries and Scoots gone we got had bigtime. At least if we got something DECENT for Scotland we could have covered him, not some project 3rd round pick.

Shameful trade.

Okay

Pick 35 (Brent Hall) traded by Carlton for Heath Scotland

The fact is, there actually weren't too many better players picked up after him, yet - Heath Scotland is worth top 20 draft pick always!!!!!

not including re-drafted players
*Eddie Sandsbury (40)
*Ricky Dawson (44)
*Michael Pettigrew (46)
*Matthew Ball (51)
*Daniel Jackson (53)
*Sam Fisher (55)
*Brent LeCras (56)
*Ben Hudson (58)
*Michael Ritschitelli (61)
*Brent Hartigan (70)
*Adrian DeLuca (72)

What jabso said!

I saw Hall a couple of weeks ago and whilst there are some aspects of his game I didn't like, there were also some I did like.

The parts I didn't like were his lack of physicallity, but whilst he's a unit and a half, he's still a boy mentally. Other concerns include his overhead marking (related to physical pressure) and perhaps his pace (reminder: 200cms).

Still, he rucked very well and he showed excellent ability below his knees. Almost Josh like. Very mobile. Just needs to absob some of the confidence from the Cloke boys and learn to use his frame.

But yeah, he's a 19 year old boy FFS. Looking at 200cm ruckmen or tall KP players, there are very, very few who have impact before they're 20 something.

I saw Hall play against Box Hill the other week and pretty much concur with FIGJAM. He's a bloody huge lump and once he learns how to use it he'll be alright. Coming away from that game, I thought that if Hall had Travis Clokes attitude he'd be one scary dude on the footy field, with decent skills to go with it.

MM on whitle line fever