Mod. Notice Mod Announcements - Please read latest posts

Re: Brisbane Lions Board - Posting Guidelines

It's quite obvious that the poster slipped that in there as an inside joke.

seems a little hypocritical that statement but anyway, love the brissie board

great club, great coach, great players

Re: Brisbane Lions Board - Posting Guidelines

seems a little hypocritical that statement but anyway, love the brissie board

great club, great coach, great players

and great supporters?

Re: ATTENTION PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST ON THIS BOARD - Brisbane Lions Board - Posting Guidelines

My two pet hates

1) the pop ups that slow the time it takes to look at a new page - fortunately this has stopped whilst I'm looking at this today as opposed to the last time I logged on last year :thumbsu:

2) Posters whom still have to take a big quote from a previous poster hence having a huge post at any given time! :thumbsd::(

Re: ATTENTION PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST ON THIS BOARD - Brisbane Lions Board - Posting Guidelines

My two pet hates

1) the pop ups that slow the time it takes to look at a new page - fortunately this has stopped whilst I'm looking at this today as opposed to the last time I logged on last year

2) Posters whom still have to take a big quote from a previous poster hence having a huge post at any given time! :thumbsd:

PROUD LION
BigFooty Member

Club: Brisbane

Re: Warwick's verbose, unnecessary, and entirely inaccurate 2008 ladder prediction (bookmarks welcom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warwick
1st - Hawthorn Hawks

hawkslogopj8.png

Here they come! The Hawks enter season 2008 as not only a young side on the rise, but as a legitimate premiership threat. I found this team extremely difficult to place as I actually think Hawthorn could bomb out and miss the finals completely or alternatively, finish the H&A season on top. I went for a risk and picked the latter (like I did with the Saints last season) but not with complete confidence. Recently we have seen plenty of teams have an off-year after making big inroads the season before and after everyone predicted them to kick-on (Melbourne in 01, Fremantle in 04 and 07, Collingwood in 04, Geelong in 2006, and Western Bulldogs in 07). But I think this Hawthorn team could do something special.

It must be remembered that Hawthorn only won 13 games last year and finished outside the top 4. Were it not for some Buddy-magic at the death they would have been knocked out in the first week of September. However you only have to look at the last decade to see that teams that finished as minor premiers or went deep into September were not necessarily at the top of the ladder the year before. Geelong won just 10 games in 2006, the 2005 premiers and minor premiers in Sydney and Adelaide won 13 and 8 games respectively in 04, North Melbourne won the flag in 1998 after winning 12 games in 97, and St Kilda won the minor premership and made the grand final in 1997 after missing the finals the year before. Even a couple of the great sides in Brisbane (12 wins in 00) and Essendon (12 in 1998) won less than the Hawks in 07 before going on their great runs.

The main concern I have with Hawthorn is their lack of experience. I think this was highlighted in the final against the Kangaroos (who lost their other two finals by over 100 points) after the jubilation of the week before. They have also lost their captain Richard Vandenberg, Joel Smith, and Ben Dixon from an already young team, and although they didn't have stellar seasons, their on- (and more importantly) off-field roles were very important. The retirements have ultimately left Hawthorn with a very young list which is not the most ideal thing when navigating through September. I think Clarkson may have looked at Dew, not only for his skill and booming kick but also to provide a bit of an experience boost at the business end of the year.

It must be said however, that even with a young list there have been plenty of signs to indicate this side has the maturity to win the flag. Hawthorn finished 2006 with 4 straight wins and high expectations on them to perform in 07. They handled this pressure well, and surprised a few in the process. They also won a final against a very experienced and battle-hardened team in Adelaide, and they have some exceptional young leaders in Mitchell and Hodge. The Hawks only suffered two real blow-out defeats against Sydney and the Crows (typically an indication of the up-and-down style of young teams), with the majority of their losses under 4 goals. They also beat Brisbane when they were in red-hot form in round 19 and managed to beat every side who finished ahead of them on the ladder (although admittantly they did beat Geelong and the Kangaroos when they were struggling at the start of the year, and Port in the middle of a 4 game losing streak).

The Hawthorn squad looks very balanced at the moment with some super young talent waiting for a chance. When you consider Thorp, Munston, Renouf, and Dowler have only played a handfull of games between them, there is a reason why they are a happy team at Hawthorn. While their forward line looks their obvious strength with Franklin, Roughead, Boyle, and a returning Williams up there, I just love their midfield. Mitchell, Hodge, and Lewis are classy inside mids - with Mitchell up there as one of the best extractors in the business, a gun tagger in Sewell, the veteran Crawford who provides much needed experience but still runs as hard as anyone, pace in Bateman, and depth with Ladson, McGlynn, Whitecross, and Young. The key is stopping the opposition from finding the pill as they were ranked 3rd in most opponent possessions per game. Sewell is a super tagger but it is something they can improve on. Their maligned defence is underrated as well, and surprisingly they conceeded the 4th least number of points in 07. They have some quality defenders in Croad, Gilham, and Campbell Brown - one of the most versatile and hardest defenders in the league, with plenty of run and creation coming from Guerra and Birchall.

The Hawks have two of the best youngsters in the game and potential AFL superstars in Franklin and Hodge. Franklin nearly won the Coleman at 20 and played some incredible games. He will need to keep improving however as opposition coaches will make him their prime suspect. And as seen in the final against the Kangaroos - stop Franklin, and you go a long way to stopping the Hawks. Luke Hodge has also stamped himself as a long-term leader of the club. It's almost a shame Hawthorn have so many good forwards as Hodge played some of his best footy up there last season. If Hodge and Franklin continue to improve, expect to see the Hawks continue to rise.

I also like how Hawthorn have drafted to improve their 3 (and only) main weaknesses on their list (key defender, fast midfielder, and crumbing forward). Cyril Rioli ticks two of those boxes and should be ready to go. I would also like to see Roughead get a chance down back considering another "tall" forward in Williams will be returning. In fact, it's the clever drafting strategies that have turned this team around. Before Hawthorn, clubs were hesitant to trade good players for picks, but the Hawks have shown the value in high selections. They have made some tough decisions and traded AA-standard players such as Thompson, Hay, Rawlings, and Everitt to chance their luck on draft day. They have also had a few poor years near the bottom and dealt with the Kangaroos which has improved their situation. In fact Hawthorn have had a total of 22 picks in the first or second round since 2001 (including 9 1st rounders since 2004). They have also made some smart selections by stockpiling talls early. The way Hawthorn has regenerated their list is a credit to some gutsy decision making at the trade and draft table.

I just get the feeling this team is ready to shine. Although they don't have a great record at Aurora, they do have a genuine home ground advantage in Tasmania and play some teams that have recently provided them with some trouble down there - Adelaide (lost by 71 points in 07), Port (lost 8 from the last 9), Western Bulldogs (lost 3 from 4), and Brisbane Lions (lost 4 from last 5). If their key defenders stand up, and Hodge, Franklin, Mitchell, and Campbell stay fit, they will give things a real shake.

Draw:
Play twice: Melbourne, Kangaroos, Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, West Coast, Richmond, Collingwood
Games breakdown: 10 @ MCG, 4 @ TD, 4 @ Aurora, 2 @ Subiaco, 1 @ Gabba, 1 @ AAMI.

3 most important players:
1. Lance Franklin
2. Trent Croad
3. Luke Hodge

One to watch: Mitch Thorp - was very much on Brisbane's radar in the 2006 draft so it will be interesting to see where he will play. He got a small taste of AFL footy in 2007 but may have a bigger role next year. It would be great to see him play a couple of the games in Tasmania. Stuart Dew is another one to keep an eye on. He may have a key role to play towards the end of the year as the Hawks charge towards the finals. We will have to weight and see (pathetic I know).

Best team:
B: Brown, Gilham, Guerra
HB: Birchall, Croad, Ellis
C: Crawford, Mitchell, Sewell
HF: Bateman, Franklin, Young
F: Boyle, Roughead, Williams
Foll: Campbell, Hodge, Lewis
Int: Bailey, Dew, Rioli, Taylor, McGlynn, Ladson, Thorp

Strengths: Tall forwards - Franklin is a gun, Roughead who is extremely strong and always improving, Boyle who kicked 32 goals from 20 matches, and Williams who plays tall. Inner mids are among the best in the league - Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, and Lewis. They also have a lot of variety with players capable of playing a number of positions at either end of the ground. Ruck depth is good - Campbell, Taylor, Bailey, and Renouf.

Weaknesses: They lack another key defender, outside/fast midfielder, and a forward crumber. If Cyril Rioli realises his potential they can scrap two of those needs.

Ins: Rioli, Whitecross, Dew
Outs: Vandenberg, Smith, Dixon

1st for the Hawks would be a major surprise for me .....thinking more 6-8 mark if Franklin kicks 70+ again.

The players in bold red I see as queries, either in big games, drive to succeed or just not good enough to be included in a possible Top 4 team.

If either of Gilham or Croad go down for major parts of 2008, they have no hope of stopping Geelong, St.Kilda, Brisbane, Fremantle etc....as their tall forwards would decide the game.

TAKE NOTE PROUD LION :p:D:)

At least it wasn't quote-a-massive-post-only-to-post-"I agree". :D

You Idiot Proud Lion!!! :p

Ha ha. :D

1) the pop ups that slow the time it takes to look at a new page - fortunately this has stopped whilst I'm looking at this today as opposed to the last time I logged on last year :thumbsu:

Firefox + Adblock = no banner or popup ads.

At least it wasn't quote-a-massive-post-only-to-post-"I agree". :D

Agreed.

Must admit, our mods definately are the best on this site :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Even brown nosing couldn't save him from a red card :D

(Of course I know when where and what he actually did)

Even brown nosing couldn't save him from a red card :D

Very funny CJ, but I wasn't brown nosing, simply stating the truth.

That bloody FRED banned me :thumbsd: for using the word '"******" twice. Real tough computer geek that one :rolleyes:

This is one of my back up names for when I get red carded ;)

Very funny CJ, but I wasn't brown nosing, simply stating the truth.

That bloody FRED banned me :thumbsd: for using the word '"******" twice. Real tough computer geek that one :rolleyes:

This is one of my back up names for when I get red carded ;)

Using the word again will only increase the sentence, as will ban evasion. (just ask Fairley)

No need to abuse Fred either, the mods have made it very clear in the past that that word is unacceptable.

Using the word again will only increase the sentence, as will ban evasion. (just ask Fairley)

No need to abuse Fred either, the mods have made it very clear in the past that that word is unacceptable.

I'm not evading the ban, PROUD LION is temporarily offline ;)......but seriously, to be banned from a footy fan forum seems a touch far fetched :rolleyes:

I must not use the word ******

You're not too smart are you? If you get in quickly you might be able to read the forum rules. Point 1 is particularly relevant. Point 10 also.

I'm not evading the ban, PROUD LION is temporarily offline ;)......but seriously, to be banned from a footy fan forum seems a touch far fetched :rolleyes:

You're not too smart are you? If you get in quickly you might be able to read the forum rules. Point 1 is particularly relevant. Point 10 also.

Read and noted :thumbsu:

But to answer you, I am quite smart, just very bored @ work today, so don't judge TFB ;)

The post on the main board certainly doesn't do the reputation of Brisbane posters any good though.

Surely there are other ways to amuse yourself.

Out of my hands now. You've admitted to breaking the rules and have had a crack at mods in general and mock the decisions they make.

But you're posting on a thread that links to those forum rules - rules, which you are directed to read upon registration. This means that you've passed up on that opportunity twice (presuming you have no other alias accounts).

Lastly, I'm not bored at work, but quite busy. But here i am taking time from work to deal with crap like this.

He's now got time to get even more bored.

You're Funny

You may think you're standing up to authority or making some sort of righteous stand Proud_Lion, but you're just embarrassing yourself and making our board look a whole lot more childish.

I have read the aforementioned and will strictly adhere to these rules and regulations :thumbsu:

What a coincidence.... you join up and go straight to the two threads that Proud_Lion has been playing around in before he got banned. One on this board, and one on the main board.

:rolleyes:

Heard that you had a little chat to David Schwartz yesterday.

Guys, the undercurrent of shittyness around here is getting a little hard to take.

It is inevitable in a group this size that some people are going to rub each other up the wrong way. I completely understand how some people can find other posters extremely irritating.

But it gets really dull trying to read the board when every second post has some not so subtle dig or passive-aggressive sneer. If I have to read one more contemptuous post where person x is trying to imply that they have vastly more footy inside knowledge/understanding/credibility than person y I think I am going to throw up.

I don’t wanna get all hard arse cricket mod on anyone but I will if pushed.

We don’t have to all like each other, but we are all stuck together, so let’s at least try to keep things civil.

Lets ixnay the condescending attitudes and passive-aggressiveness in the exchanges.

Fair enough. So in other words everyone has to show respect to each other or else they get warnings and/or infractions.

Guys, the undercurrent of shittyness around here is getting a little hard to take.

It is inevitable in a group this size that some people are going to rub each other up the wrong way. I completely understand how some people can find other posters extremely irritating.

But it gets really dull trying to read the board when every second post has some not so subtle dig or passive-aggressive sneer. If I have to read one more contemptuous post where person x is trying to imply that they have vastly more footy inside knowledge/understanding/credibility than person y I think I am going to throw up.

I don’t wanna get all hard arse cricket mod on anyone but I will if pushed.

We don’t have to all like each other, but we are all stuck together, so let’s at least try to keep things civil.

Lets ixnay the condescending attitudes and passive-aggressiveness in the exchanges.

It's nice to know in this world of constant turmoil and change you can rely on the some things staying the same. And I still think the Roy's jumper should be worn in Melbourne.

And I still think the Roy's jumper should be worn in Melbourne.

Words of wisdom Maroon and Blue. Count me (and heaps others) in on the Roys jumper in Melbourne.