Mooney - A message

• Thread starter Thread starter jim boy

Mooney still has a part to play for the team this year. His days of being the spearhead in attack are over, but he has very gracefully settled into a different role as a kind of utility player. Draw a defender to give some space to Stokesy and SJ. Drop back to fill a hole in defence. Five minutes in the ruck here and there. He offers flexibility, which is the big thing Chris Scott has introduced to the team this year.

You have done the best job of anyone of making the case. However, I'm still not convinced, for reasons that follow...

Sure he is not quite fit and a bit out of form, but does anyone really think he won't be better with two or three weeks of footy under his belt? Believe me, in the second half of this year there will be times when Mooney's passion, aggro and selflessness will be needed and we will be glad he didn't retire too soon.

Yes, I don't. He has had:

1. No preseason
2. No ability to string games together due to chronic injury problems
3. Virtually no impact in the games he has managed to play

I see a player who can only lead half pace at the ball, always with a defender right on his tail. I see a bloke who routinely raises just one hand in going for a mark above his head. I see none of the explosiveness of the old Moons. I bet the opposition is pretty glad to see him in the Geelong side right now.

I just can't see his body allowing him to get any better.

There may be no harm (aside from reputational harm as Jim Boy points out) in having him play on. I'm just highly sceptical that it will do the team any good.

I'd play him in the twos if his body is holding up. No point having him as a back-up for injuries if he has no game time under his belt if he has to replace a Podsiadly.

McGrath and Mensch played out their careers in the VFL and arguably had a lasting impact on a bunch of young kids who won a VFL flag and went on to create one of the greatest teams of all time. I see no damage to their reputations for these honourable acts.

Can't believe what I'm reading. How can you make comments like this after just one game back. I'll say this if mooney and Hawkins can get into form by the finals we will win it. But without these 2 men firing we have no chance to beat collingwood. Podsiadly doesn't have the fitness to beat collingwood. Give mooney 4 weeks. If he's still playing like that then maybe it is over. But it's loo early to call. This week I would play podsiadly and mooney this week. Leave Hawkins in reserves for at least 2 weeks to possibly month and make a statement. Even if ottens isn't ready then back Vardy. But Hawkins needs to know he's slating on thin Ice.

I'd play him in the twos if his body is holding up. No point having him as a back-up for injuries if he has no game time under his belt if he has to replace a Podsiadly.

McGrath and Mensch played out their careers in the VFL and arguably had a lasting impact on a bunch of young kids who won a VFL flag and went on to create one of the greatest teams of all time. I see no damage to their reputations for these honourable acts.

A sensible voice. He is on our list and getting payed a lot of money for the privilage and should play in the magoos to get match fitness and try to win his spot back in the 1s.
Our reserves side is performing poorly filled with kids with little senior experience
No one should be too proud to play VFL or be given a gold pass to play seniors only.

Mooney above all else at Geelong would put the team first.

If he and the coaches think it is better for him to attempt to get right for the finals this year rather then pumping forward time into Hawkins or Brown then so be it, they know better then we do.

I'd love to fill some VFL listed spots (not our second 22) with some experienced seniors like Moons, Milburn Scarlett. Pay them a tidy fee to stay around the club a couple more years and give our young kids some of their experience.

Agree Jim Boy. Mooney is passed his best now. Time to give the likes of Brown and Vardy serious game time.

I'd love to fill some VFL listed spots (not our second 22) with some experienced seniors like Moons, Milburn Scarlett. Pay them a tidy fee to stay around the club a couple more years and give our young kids some of their experience.

Would be great. They would teach so much in training and attitude.

Agree Jim Boy. Mooney is passed his best now. Time to give the likes of Brown and Vardy serious game time.

How close do you think Brown is to getting gametime?

I honestly thought he would have played against Gold Coast. Can't see him playing against the Hawks... Maybe the Saints in R13 or then R14 against Adelaide...

He has announced in a pre-match function that he wont play at all this weekend, then spend a month in the twos. If he doesn't get body right or can't get his form back, then he pulls the pin.

I'm told he repeated much of that on MMM today. Also apparently said he'd like to stay on with the Cats in a corporate role post footy. Which ends the speculation about him heading for the GC where his family have business interests.

Smedts is out for the year so we can upgrade a rookie if we want anyway.

I know its a while till next year...but when assessing our future, this is one name we should't forget...

My little birdie tells me he's a gun in the making.

DTC,

Do we think that Smedts "slide" - as some had him top 10 - in the draft may be due to the injury he has now.....

and could this be another Selwood type situation with Wells taking someone that others didnt pick and us benefitting from that decision not to draft him?

Not suggesting for a second that Smedts is the second coming of Selwood by any means and certainly not putting that pressure on him.... just a thought....

and if it is.... what exactly do we need to invent to keep Wellsy here FOREVER!!!!!

Go Catters...

Smedts is out for the year so we can upgrade a rookie if we want anyway.
I believe we can also upgrade a rookie from next week under the 11 week rule

Honestly, there needs to be a dose of realism from a few big footy posters.

Cameron Mooney has insisted, as far back as 2008, that he can't wait for the day that others surpass him (talking about Nathan Ablett at the time, ironically) and he can step aside.

He has already acknowledged this year that he has limited time and needs to be managed accordingly. He was kept this year to offer an option and to get a few good games when called upon. Scott knows this, Mooney knows this and everyone in the Geelong Football Club knows this. He is not holding anyone back...Vardy got in the team on his own merits, Brown is not quite ready (and needs to hold his body together in the VFL for a few more weeks)....and certainly Hawkins nor Pods are being sacrificed for his position.

He is simply doing his job, trying to accomodate the teams needs and hopefully be available as an option further down the year. He does not need to retire and i hope he is able to see out the year and give us a potential option if needed.

The only observation that is correct on a lot of these posts is that the big hairy cat bleeds blue and white and will always put the teams needs ahead of his own. He is still integral to the football club and losing his presence to retirement mid way through the season would be bloody stupid. I certainly don't think he is in the best 22...but saying that he at least keeps a couple of positions honest at the moment as both Pods and Hawkins have been average at times this year.

The time will be right at the end of the year, but why short ourselves of a geniune option now? We have premierships to win.
Very well said Gaz_Brownlow, thanks for your voice of reason.

Moons doesn't need to rush into any decision, I'm hoping that after a month's rest he can have some good games and go out with a blast.

DTC,

Do we think that Smedts "slide" - as some had him top 10 - in the draft may be due to the injury he has now.....

and could this be another Selwood type situation with Wells taking someone that others didnt pick and us benefitting from that decision not to draft him?

Not suggesting for a second that Smedts is the second coming of Selwood by any means and certainly not putting that pressure on him.... just a thought....

and if it is.... what exactly do we need to invent to keep Wellsy here FOREVER!!!!!

Go Catters...

G'day daz......looking a bit disappointing in DT mate...whats the go?

Smedts went to my old school, and apart from seeing some vids of him, I haven't seen him in person. You may not know that Simon Beasley labelled him the best schoolboy footballer he had ever seen!! Everything I have heard about him is that he is one good player....

Not sure about the injury, and didn't know he was considered top 10 by some, though that wouldn't be a surprise...but given the runs Wells has on the board, I suspect they have given him the year to bulk up and get himself right so he can slot in next year.

With Vardy, Mitch Brown, Christensen, Duncan, Menzel, THunt, Smedts and a few others looking the goods ( Cowan, "Shredder", G H-S, Guthrie, Motlop and hopeful about Hawkins, Drum Simpson et al ) ) I have gone from doubtful about our future to optimistic.

Fingers crossed daz...