Mooney and Hodge

• Thread starter Thread starter bashar

I thought it was pretty funny. Two guys having a chuckle about how bad the report was, I mean, seriously, who wouldn't laugh when an umpire says "I know you were going for the ball, but you hit his head so I have to report you!!!". The sheer fact that the report apparently HAD to be made because there was contact to the head is enough to make anyone laugh. Especially two blokes who do play the game hard.

Just on the game in general, whilst over umpired, was great to watch. Always guys hard at the contest and the man and the pace of the game was incredible for round 1.

I thought Hodge and Mooney having a chat was quite funny.

Mooney's kicking for goal is not funny.

Funny? piss weak!, I'd say, after your own mate(?) gets head wacked from a front on attack!
Get bloody serious Mooney! and then you might be worthy of your team mates. I reckon he must have a high opinion of himself to adopt such an indifferent attitude toward his own teammate.
If we had some sizable forwards I'd love to see him go after that.
That was the attitude of a coward.:mad:

Funny? piss weak!, I'd say, after your own mate(?) gets head wacked from a front on attack!
Get bloody serious Mooney! and then you might be worthy of your team mates. I reckon he must have a high opinion of himself to adopt such an indifferent attitude toward his own teammate.

Oh lighten up will u...only on Big Footy could players actually enjoying their footy be put so much under the microscope and called cowardly...

That's what annoyed me so much, that it was Mooney exchanging pleasantries with the opposition after reportable contact on our own player.
If he doesn't fire up who will. If Selwood gets KO'D nobody seems to care about it much, I just hope they find the fire they'll need come September.
We're clearly the better team. Twice the scoring shots at half time.

If the ref thinks his comments wont be brought forward at tribunal he is wrong.

Refs were shocking last night

Looks like the Hawk bandwagon picked up a soccer groupie :eek:

Calm down precious.If Lonergan had've been injured Mooney wouldn't have been laughing with Hodge.Like most people he realised it was just worth a 50m penalty and not reportable.

If you want robots then go and follow Lloyd at Essendon.

That's what annoyed me so much, that it was Mooney exchanging pleasantries with the opposition after reportable contact on our own player.
If he doesn't fire up who will. If Selwood gets KO'D nobody seems to care about it much, I just hope they find the fire they'll need come September.
We're clearly the better team. Twice the scoring shots at half time.

meto, your not clearly the better team. I think that's quite evident. We have beaten you by 26 pts when it counts and then in round 1 when you were meant to thump an undermaned hawthorn side you were unable to do that. You had the opportunity when 43 pts up and there would be nothing more motivating to thump a side you have on the ropes than a Grand Final loss but you were unable to do that because we are 2 brilliantly matched sides. Either could beat either on any given day.
How arrogant or dillusional of you to say you are clearly the better team when 2 of of the previous 5 games have been down to the last few mins and the other 3, we had sown up well in advance.
Just cause you smash everyone else and you will again this season, doesn't make you clearly the better team when you play Hawthorn...

meto, your not clearly the better team. I think that's quite evident. We have beaten you by 26 pts when it counts and then in round 1 when you were meant to thump an undermaned hawthorn side you were unable to do that. You had the opportunity when 43 pts up and there would be nothing more motivating to thump a side you have on the ropes than a Grand Final loss but you were unable to do that because we are 2 brilliantly matched sides. Either could beat either on any given day.
How arrogant or dillusional of you to say you are clearly the better team when 2 of of the previous 5 games have been down to the last few mins and the other 3, we had sown up well in advance.
Just cause you smash everyone else and you will again this season, doesn't make you clearly the better team when you play Hawthorn...

I have to agree, meto does come across as arrogant and comments like his don't help his credibility or ours as a group depending on who reads it.

It is however our board and I think his comments are an indication of his expectations considering what the two teams do against the rest of the competition compared to how they play against each other. Its completely frustrating for each and every cat supporter because we're perceived as the favourites.

My problem is that we're going to become too Hawthorn focused and forget about the rest of the competition. If that happens we're going to have much bigger problems then we have already.

I think my main gripe in this thread is people getting upset that two players from opposition clubs were sharing a laugh. It was so obvious they were having a laugh at the ridicilous report on Hodge, which I and my neutral mates I watched the game with did to. Footballers seriously can't do anything right these days. They show a bit of personality or are opinioniated and people get on their case about not being professional. They act like mindless robots and people get upset because there's no personality. Its just crap.

Meto and others, what do you want Mooney to do in this situation exactly? Lose his cool like the Cam of old and get reported for absolutely no reason? Unfortunately if you can't laugh at the standard of umpiring these days you will end up either crying or breaking shit.

Looks like the Hawk bandwagon picked up a soccer groupie :eek:

Calm down precious.If Lonergan had've been injured Mooney wouldn't have been laughing with Hodge.Like most people he realised it was just worth a 50m penalty and not reportable.

If you want robots then go and follow Lloyd at Essendon.

I don't know whether to retaliate or laugh?

I don't get it?

Ref? soccer?:confused:

Oh yeah, that's right, at 3/4 time it was 33 scoring shots to 16.
Yeah mate, sure you were right there all game! If Geelong didn't reshuffle their defence last qtr, probably wouldn't have changed

I have to agree, meto does come across as arrogant and comments like his don't help his credibility or ours as a group depending on who reads it.

It is however our board and I think his comments are an indication of his expectations considering what the two teams do against the rest of the competition compared to how they play against each other. Its completely frustrating for each and every cat supporter because we're perceived as the favourites.

My problem is that we're going to become too Hawthorn focused and forget about the rest of the competition. If that happens we're going to have much bigger problems then we have already.

I think my main gripe in this thread is people getting upset that two players from opposition clubs were sharing a laugh. It was so obvious they were having a laugh at the ridicilous report on Hodge, which I and my neutral mates I watched the game with did to. Footballers seriously can't do anything right these days. They show a bit of personality or are opinioniated and people get on their case about not being professional. They act like mindless robots and people get upset because there's no personality. Its just crap.

Meto and others, what do you want Mooney to do in this situation exactly? Lose his cool like the Cam of old and get reported for absolutely no reason? Unfortunately if you can't laugh at the standard of umpiring these days you will end up either crying or breaking shit.

Nice reply J2S. I agree that its ridiculous that ppl get on mooney and hodge for this. They are 2 of the most ferocious players of the ball in the comp and blokes are having a crack at them!!! LOL

J2S, IMHO i dont think u guys have much to worry about with any other side. It's cats, hawks DAYLIGHT and then the rest.
Hawthorn and Geelong will do some major damage to some lower teams this year. Dont think you have a worry at all. If we both stay fit, no one will touch us and we'll play off in the big one again and who the hell knows which way it will go. Oh actually Meto reckons he knows! Geelong by a country mile according to Meto.
Meto, cant you see that what your saying is just one eyed arrogance?
Please just enjoy what these 2 wonderful sides will dish up for us over the next few yrs. It's gonna be a hell of a ride for us!!