May 13, 2004
W.A.
East Fremantle
Page 3 in todays "The West Australian"

Mainy inquest decision soon

"A coronial investigation into Mainwaring's death would open a Pandora's Box for West Coast because past and present players would almost certainly be forced to appear before the inquiry to answer questions about the former premiership players long history of drug use.
Disgraced former Eagle Ben Cousins, who was the last to see Mainwaring alive after he reportedly took him takeaway food just hours before his death, would be one of the first witnesses called. An inquest would also see the medical reports on Mainwaring's body released."

Story not available on thewest.com.au

Thats probably because it is hardly newsworthy. Go play outside Geoff, its a lovely day out!!

Hardly newsworthy?, it will be a huge story, a daily soap opera of drugs, greed, avarice, sports stars, media personalities, Hollywood couldn't do a better job if it tried. Batten down the hatches in WA, you might hear things you don't want to hear, coronial inquests are never nice.

Dont expect too much...they've had a long time to nail things down.

Noone wants to speak ill of the dead or hang themselves and mates in the process. All thats required is a consistency of story and that can be achieved over a few beers.

Dont expect the AFL to want a contiuation of it either. They're not big on negative press continuing forever.

I understand the public interest into Mainwaring's death but c'mon the man's dead. Does it really matter whether he smoked marijuana or took anti-acne medication? I fail to see what purpose this inquiry serves besides letting us know he was on drugs/ has been taking drugs.

FWIW, I agree with the above poster. West Coast have had plenty of time to get their stories straight, hence I don't expect surprises to come as a result of this.

yep this one could get interesting. i guess whatever happens, happens. its all in the past, we gotta look forward to 2008.

Spot on. I want the inquest.

I wonder why?

To be honest what is there to inquire?

A famous ex footballer / media rep had depression, took a cocktail of drugs both legal and illegal, was about to be sued, maybe a marriage breakup and one of his best mates was Cousins.

What has been missed?

If foul play was involved its up to the cops to find the evidence.

All an inquest would result in is a Caroline Wilson effort of rehashing the same information in a different forum.

Apart from giving opposition supporters another go at entertaining themselves in calling the entire Eagles organisation (incuding new draftees) druggies what is there to be gained?

That makes no sense at all mate.

We all know how he died, just let the man RIP and for fooks sake show some respect, you blood sucking vultures. Get a fooken life!!

:confused: Are you a bit worried that the inquest may show up and expose a bit more of your drug riddled club? If not , you get a life because it "is" newsworthy.

BTW where is that moron Gunnarlongshanks, the plonker who said the drug problem at the Eagles was all a media beat up ?

PS do you still want Judd for PM?

What a delightful person you sound!! NOT!!

Why thank you.

Honestly, I'm just sick of the verbal dioherra. All be it a rumor, but I can name some players from the mob across town who aren't exactly angels themselves, RUMOR...yes, but I would not be at all surprised if it was true.

In fact, if someone was to tell me Player X from X footy club was seen out last night pissed as a rabbit, beating up on his missus or dropping some illict drug, indeed it might be a rumor, 6 times outta 10 i reckon it would be true

I'm just over it, time to stop using one team as a scapegoat and focusing on the whole issue within the AFL, not the West Coast Eagles.
How about an inquest into EVERY team, just to cover all bases your bases Vlad!?! Can anyone honestly tell me that EVERY player in their team is squeaky clean...yeh right! :thumbsdown: :confused:

I dunno why I continue to bite at all these crap threads....

Why thank you.

Honestly, I'm just sick of the verbal dioherra. All be it a rumor, but I can name some players from the mob across town who aren't exactly angels themselves, RUMOR...yes, but I would not be at all surprised if it was true.

In fact, if someone was to tell me Player X from X footy club was seen out last night pissed as a rabbit, beating up on his missus or dropping some illict drug, indeed it might be a rumor, 6 times outta 10 i reckon it would be true

I'm just over it, time to stop using one team as a scapegoat and focusing on the whole issue within the AFL, not the West Coast Eagles.
How about an inquest into EVERY team, just to cover all bases your bases Vlad!?! Can anyone honestly tell me that EVERY player in their team is squeaky clean...yeh right! :thumbsdown: :confused:

I dunno why I continue to bite at all these crap threads....

Although this is a crap post I will reply.
I would have thought you guys would be looking forward to an investigation to clear up, as you say ', verbal dioherra. All be it a rumor.
So you're over it are you? pfft That's it mate put your head back in the sand.

Hardly newsworthy?, it will be a huge story, a daily soap opera of drugs, greed, avarice, sports stars, media personalities, Hollywood couldn't do a better job if it tried. Batten down the hatches in WA, you might hear things you don't want to hear, coronial inquests are never nice.

Exactly. This will be one of the biggest stories in football next year. Hold onto your hats Perth.

Although this is a crap post I will reply.
I would have thought you guys would be looking forward to an investigation to clear up, as you say ', verbal dioherra. All be it a rumor.
So you're over it are you? pfft That's it mate put your head back in the sand.

Not even bother cos threads like this get me a yellow card :thumbsu:

But I will say this, the point I'm trying to get across is yes, I'm glad this investigation is happening. But the thing that gets me is the continued naivity of EVERY other club who thinks their club is full of a bunch of angels...because I'll eat my head if that's true!
So why don't the people who pretend to know what they're doing just start a fresh, and weed out ALL the problems at EVERY club! If that means more West Coast players, so be it...but I guarentee you they won't be the only ones! :cool:

But I will say this, the point I'm trying to get across is yes, I'm glad this investigation is happening. But the thing that gets me is the continued naivity of EVERY other club who thinks their club is full of a bunch of angels...because I'll eat my head if that's true!
So why don't the people who pretend to know what they're doing just start a fresh, and weed out ALL the problems at EVERY club! If that means more West Coast players, so be it...but I guarentee you they won't be the only ones! :cool:

We're talking about an inquiry into a bloke who died...not into a club...another example of the high and mighty, ignorant attitude...

When ever somebody dies in unusual circumstances there is an inquest, be it a car accident, a mishap in surgery or a drug overdose. In this case a known name is involved therefore the media are interested in it cause the public is interested in it. If Mainwaring was a nobody only his family would be interested to know what happened.
Personally I am curious to know what happened but I am not salivating at the prospect of knowing that Ben took a little bag of something over there.

We're talking about an inquiry into a bloke who died...not into a club...another example of the high and mighty, ignorant attitude...

It seems as if some people are just using this as an opportunity to have a dig at the eagles and its supporters again.

Unfortunately, we had a big drug problem at the eagles, most of us are willing to acknowledge that some people at our club did wrong. We have lost a lot of quality players, a lot of respect and a lot of responsibility.

An inquest into mainys death is warranted, and will hopefully clear up any other problems that may be revealed at the club, and hopefully good comes from this inquest in terms of the real world.

Please at least give the club and its supporters the chance to win back what it has lost.

I think you have missed the point, no one is saying that every other club is full of angels, this is about your club and it really needs to be cleaned up, this investigation may help the process, so quit with the " fix your club first crap" It's not just about you, the supporter.

PS If you could eat your head, how could you wear a hat?

Thats probably because it is hardly newsworthy. Go play outside Geoff, its a lovely day out!!

What I posted was only a para from quite a lengthy article. I tried to find a link to the full story on thewest.com.au except there was no story on the west.com.au. Is this article for print buyers only? Has the west limited access to the story outside WA? Not newsworthy? Pish !! Why is it that Mainy's Mrs will not hand over the autopsy report to his father? It's in the public interest to hold an inquiry but it may not be in WC's interest. The saga continues !!

What I posted was only a para from quite a lengthy article. I tried to find a link to the full story on thewest.com.au except there was no story on the west.com.au. Is this article for print buyers only? Has the west limited access to the story outside WA? Not newsworthy? Pish !! Why is it that Mainy's Mrs will not hand over the autopsy report to his father?
It actually states in the article that the two are not exactly close. Maybe the father wants an inquiry to get back at the widow? Maybe he blames her in some way for his sons demise seems the two were separating?
It's in the public interest to hold an inquiry but it may not be in WC's interest. The saga continues !!
Why is it in the publics interest to hold an inquiry? If it was Joe Bloggs you wouldn't give a toss, its only because you can see an opportunity to have another dig at West Coast that you are cracking a woody.

I also dont see what it has to do with the club? Mainwaring hadn't played at the club for a long time, maybe Channel 7 should be more worried seems they were his employer at the time of his death?

Cousins visited him before he died? He isn't employed by West Coast anymore either in case you missed it.

There are currently two inquiries into the club, one by the AFL and the other by West Coast. What do you think an inquiry into Mainwarings death will expose that the other two wont?

More Problems for West Coast