More wage theft, this time it's Coles at maybe $20m... and Woolies at $300m+

People who don't know their award and how to read a pay slip have rocks in their head.
Mate a lot of people on minimum wage are not the sharpest tools in the shed - doesnt mean they should be ripped off but.

heres ghe thing - if businesses were fined 5 times what they should have paid - the people who havnt got rocks in their heads - ie management and payroll - would have a bit of incentive to not cheat.

its to me the biggest problem in capitalism atm is that they have made damn sure there is no consequences for their actions.

If you or me defraud someone - we are at risk of going to jail.

they risk having to pay what they owe. Great deterrent that eh?

polluters face paltry fines - what about if you pollute an artesian basin by fraccing (as happened recently) you lose the right to operate that mine and are fined millions instead of the $1500 santos were fined for contaminating the pilliga aquifer!!

Its actually encouraging risk taking and fraud as there is no proper penalty for taking wild risks chasing extra bucks!!

And it all comes back to the hold big business holds over our government.

Mate a lot of people on minimum wage are not the sharpest tools in the shed - doesnt mean they should be ripped off but.

heres ghe thing - if businesses were fined 5 times what they should have paid - the people who havnt got rocks in their heads - ie management and payroll - would have a bit of incentive to not cheat.

its to me the biggest problem in capitalism atm is that they have made damn sure there is no consequences for their actions.

If you or me defraud someone - we are at risk of going to jail.

they risk having to pay what they owe. Great deterrent that eh?

polluters face paltry fines - what about if you pollute an artesian basin by fraccing (as happened recently) you lose the right to operate that mine and are fined millions instead of the $1500 santos were fined for contaminating the pilliga aquifer!!

Its actually encouraging risk taking and fraud as there is no proper penalty for taking wild risks chasing extra bucks!!

And it all comes back to the hold big business holds over our government.

Case in point, what were the individual consequences faced by those who engineered the GFC through pure greed? They're back doing it again, just calling it something else.

People who don't know their award and how to read a pay slip have rocks in their head.
95% or workers in my experience, rarely are the wage faults discovered by employees or for that matter unions. Note that excludes George C situatons where people didn't get paid the right hours, more to do with rates, classifications, penalties etc.

You aren't alone and you're spot-on.

The reactionaries are all about attacking unions so they can screw the workers unchallenged. An ethical government would be taking it to businesses who attack workers rights; who pay little or no tax; who fight against pay rises; who fight industrial safety laws. But that would be opposing their base, so stuff the proletariat. Yet many of these nuffies vote for 'em. Go figure!

z8KDeyi.jpg

Case in point, what were the individual consequences faced by those who engineered the GFC through pure greed? They're back doing it again, just calling it something else.
Well there was a prosecutor who planned prosecuting some of those Good folk but sadly he died all of a sudden.

Geez you've got to feel sorry for Coles, they're just finding the going so tough. They were wholly owned by another struggling company called Wesfarmers until late 2018 when it "demerged" with it and now owns only 15% of Coles although, it kept Bunnings, Liquorland, K-Mart, Officeworks, Target etc which was what it also got when it bought Coles for $22 billion in 2007.

Poor Coles suffered a 14% drop in it's half yearly profit which came in at only $738 million ... ohhhh. Must have something to do with the moribund Morrison/Frydenberg economy?

Speaking of Wesfarmers, in February of 2019, it reported a half yearly profit of $4.53 billion but Scotty and the Liberal Party didn't think it was quite enough so on the day before the 2019 Federal Election, Scotty and the Liberal Party took over $15 million out of the "Indigenous Advancement Strategy" which was set up to "help improve outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander peoples" but in reality, just a slush fund, anyway, it took out over $15 million from this fund and granted it to Wesfarmers! Surely this has nothing to do with the million dollar plus donations that Wesfarmers has donated to the Liberal Party over the years and absolutely nothing to do with Michael Chaney, chairman of Wesfarmers and brother of Fred Chaney, the former Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party who, along with Wesfarmers CEO, Rob Scott, joined Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Finance Minister Mathias Cormann for a $2,000-a-head Liberal Party fundraiser in October 2018?

Just as there is nothing untoward when former Indigenous affairs Minister, Nigel Scullion doled out nearly half a million dollars in funding to non-Indigenous organisations to which he had close ties, even though some of them had never even applied for funding! Organisations like the Cattleman’s Association, the NT Seafood Council and the NT Amateur Fishermen’s Association, which received $155,000 to spend on legal fees in opposition to Aboriginal land rights claims! Check it out hey, 155 grand taken FROM a fund set up to "help improve outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander peoples" and GRANTED to an amateur fishing association to fund their fight AGAINST Aboriginal land rights claims!

It's great to see the Morrison Government standing up to those communist workers and helping out true blue Aussie employers like Cattleman's Associations and Seafood Councils and Wesfarmers. Companies such as Micheal Hill Jewellers, 7-Eleven, Bunnings, Woolies, Sunglass Hut, Bunnings, Super Retail Group, Qantas, Coles, mega media stars like Calombaris and others can't be blamed for cheating these communist workers out of millions of dollars the say they are owed. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the Hawke/Keating government trying to modernise industry/worker relationships where business and the ACTU came together to create a modern system of Industrial Relations and Wages and Arbitration called the "Accord" nor, has it got anything to do with the Howard Government's complete hatchet job on fairness in the workplace by introducing the Workplace Relations Act that ushered in Australian Workplace Agreements (Work Choices) and effectively, destroyed the Australian Industrial Relations Commission and with it, any bargaining power the workers had but who cares? Workers are all commies anyway unless they see the light and become masochists and vote for the Liberal National Party.

Nope, it's not the fault of those wonderfully caring and sharing corporations that workers are "allegedly" being cheated out of their wages and if they are, it's the fault of the unions and the communist workers themselves.

on the day before the 2019 Federal Election, Scotty and the Liberal Party took over $15 million out of the "Indigenous Advancement Strategy" which was set up to "help improve outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander peoples" but in reality, just a slush fund, anyway, it took out over $15 million from this fund and granted it to Wesfarmers!
But the real problem is those people that accept literary prizes while not being brown enough for Andrew Bolt’s liking.

I could imagine you doing a Karl Pilkington and stealing a Mars bar every shift. How many years did you work there?

That exchange with him and Ricky was one of the best in those series of podcasts.

Says a lot about the companies auditing process’s.

The payroll with all its awards should be audited every year. The directors have signed off on these audit reports.

Wasnt there a real issue with service stations and payroll a while back the ATO went really hard after the franchisees?

Their eye is very firmly on the ball. Profits first, staff last.

Problem is pay conditions in Australian retail is just far to complex.

For example someone working at 6:59 am is supposed to be paid a different rate than someone working at 7:00 am.

Than you have a number of different classifications. For example the moment someone goes from stocking a shelve to working on a Register or forklift their pay rate changes.

Than you have lots of problems with staff not bringing their time cards and not filling in exception sheets correctly.

Coles: Our bad, most of our employees are covered by an enterprise agreement and are fine, but we've underpaid a small percentage of our salaried employees $20m.

Woolies: hold my beer.

New estimates say $315m, being sued by a class action that claims almost double that. For 7,000 employees over a 9 year period they are looking at around $5,000 per employee per year best case and worst case closer to $10,000.

Last edited by a moderator:
Coles: Our bad, most of our employees are covered by an enterprise agreement and are fine, but we've underpaid a small percentage of our salaried employees $20m.

Woolies: hold my beer.

New estimates say $315m, being sued by a class action that claims almost double that. For 7,000 employees over a 9 year period they are looking at around $5,000 per employee per year best case and worst case closer to $10,000.

They can only go back 6 years from where the problem was identified unless they can get out of the jurisdiction of fair work somehow.

Coles one sounds like a classification / or award issue. Just because you have an EBA doesn't mean it covers your entire workforce. EG If your a hospital and cover your Gardner's as ancillary staff on the EBA it may be less than what the award for groundskeepers (or whatever) this happens quite a bit, because unions in the EBA want their dues and HR assumes everyone is covered in the EBA

They can only go back 6 years from where the problem was identified unless they can get out of the jurisdiction of fair work somehow.

They are in deep poop one way or another.

Coles one sounds like a classification / or award issue. Just because you have an EBA doesn't mean it covers your entire workforce. EG If your a hospital and cover your Gardner's as ancillary staff on the EBA it may be less than what the award for groundskeepers (or whatever) this happens quite a bit, because unions in the EBA want their dues and HR assumes everyone is covered in the EBA

Coles SDA EBA covers 90% of their staff. That's not to say that it's perfect and there aren't issues within that 90%, but their problem has been salaried employees not covered by the EBA. It sounds like they have been paying salaries and then employees have been working in excess of 40 hours a week to the point that their hourly rate puts them below their respective award minimum. I haven't seen any suggestion that they have hired people on lower than award wages. If the award rate is $25/hr and you hire someone on less than $52,000 p.a. surely that gets noticed a lot sooner?

Problem is pay conditions in Australian retail is just far to complex.

For example someone working at 6:59 am is supposed to be paid a different rate than someone working at 7:00 am.

Than you have a number of different classifications. For example the moment someone goes from stocking a shelve to working on a Register or forklift their pay rate changes.

Than you have lots of problems with staff not bringing their time cards and not filling in exception sheets correctly.
I think Nathan32 you've got the wrong end of the stick.

Time cards are always kept at the workplace, demarcation disputes are practically a thing of the past. If you are an accredited fork lift driver and are asked to work on a register and to stock shelves then you must be paid at the highest rate, ie. a forklift driver's wage at all times but herein lies the problem. The AWA/"work choices" disgrace has forever changed the workplace environment and working people don't know what they are and aren't entitled to.

Award wages have been diluted to take into account "negotiated" workplace agreements, for example: yesterday we read in the Adelaide Advertiser that the On The Run organisation (Peregrine), have been busted for underpaying it's workers big time. Peregrine are the largest private employers in SA employing over 3,500 people and they say that they are "not appealing the tribunal's decision that it had an obligation to pay employees for work done prior to rostered start times" but the companies "policy" was for employees to arrive 10 minutes before start time, not fifteen as claimed by the aggrieved employee, to complete handover duties. In other words, this mob wants workers to rock up and do work for ten minutes before they "start" and now they've been busted, they are willing to pay the ten minutes but not fifteen.

If you knew anything about the way that On The Run operates, you would know that they are an absolute nightmare to work for and that they treat their employees like dirt. They have "managers" who are asked to fly to stores all over Australia, away from their family and loved ones and without having the right to say "no" and at short notice and they are paid exactly the same as they would be if they were working in Adelaide doing their "normal" hours even though they are expected to complete their tasks interstate in a set period of time which ALWAYS means, that they are working 12 - 14 hours per day to try and complete it.

Today we read in the same newspaper that two migrant waitresses were paid $12 an hour and the managers of the restaurant that "employed" them, tried to stop inspectors viewing timesheets and wage records.

The problem Australian workers face is that they don't know the rules anymore because basically, there aren't any! Where we once had awards and people were compensated for working outside of normal working hours, where a meal break meant that you stopped work and went for a meal break, not trying to get a couple of bites of the sandwich in whilst still on duty, the rules now are basically just what the proprietor/boss says they are and if you don't like it, there's the door!

We keep hearing form the employer groups and their political arm, the Liberal Party, how keeping wages low and dispensing with penalty rates is good for business and that tax cuts are wonderful yet where is the evidence? Australia is going down the gurgler at the rate of knots, tax cuts have destroyed the services that we all rely on and if we were to believe that low/no wage growth is good for business because "we can employ more people", then how come that for the last 7 or 8 years wage growth has plummeted and the economy hasn't boomed? That's what we were told; low wages and tax cuts was going to achieve a top economy but here we are in what is in reality, a recession.

Scheming, lying, greedy business groups and their political arm, the Liberal Party, tell us that they are the best for the working person and drongos believe them.