Most annoying coaches

I love the way Ross Lyon deals with the media.

Never gives anything away and he is always a smart ass back to the journalists. He does come across as arrogant and is not afraid to tell the media that they are wrong. It just gives an indication of a 'I know what I'm doing and no one will question it' attitude.

and that attitude is never stern, its always very smug

Roos by a mile :D

I dont think i'll miss someone as much as him when he goes

It's meant to be "most annoying coaches"...... but yeah, I agree.

For me, Brad Scott has already got that vibe of somebody who will say anything to defend himself. Don't trust him and the way he talks is irritating.

John Worsfold is similar. The rest don't bother me too much.

3 years ago we were reigning premiers and still challenging for a flag so dont know what your on about there.

It may have been 2008 then, when you finished um second bottom?

Have you not heard him say he was building a premiership contending side? And now people are asking about it and he's saying it's another 3 years away :) (see Brad Hardie on 6PR in particular - he was the only one who seemed clever enough to pick up on it)

1 - you are an idiot if you take anything Brad Hardie says seriously
2 - a bit rich for a Dockers fan to 'feel sorry' for an Eagles fan for bottoming out after actually winning a premiership
3 - I would think a Dockers fan would also appreciate how much things can change in less than one year. I bet you joined the chorus of those bagging Mark Harvey last year after three years of less than spectacular performances, his fondness for recycled Essendon hacks and complete lack of media savvy. Now, Freo are in the top 4, and everyone wants to be his pal and said they knew he was going in the right direction all along.

I love the way Ross Lyon deals with the media.

Never gives anything away and he is always a smart ass back to the journalists. He does come across as arrogant and is not afraid to tell the media that they are wrong. It just gives an indication of a 'I know what I'm doing and no one will question it' attitude.

I love Lyon he talks like he has a private joke going on within him self, kind of cheeky and i love it.

Rattan i love the way he asks himself more questions than the media do then follows it up with a 3 way answer.

Malty sh1t me to tears, he really thinks no one has the right to ask a question. Talks the talk but can not walk the walk, the Milne episode showed what a 2 face liar he is.

From worst to shizenhouzer.

1. Williams.
2. Malthouse.
3. Williams.
4. Ratten
5. Malthouse
6. Williams.

LOL..:thumbsu: Williams and Malthouse would have to be the grumpiest of the 2 along with Bomber Thompson.

Imagine how bad Thompson would be if he coached Richmond! I doubt he'd be snacking on Sanga's during the game:D

1 - you are an idiot if you take anything Brad Hardie says seriously
2 - a bit rich for a Dockers fan to 'feel sorry' for an Eagles fan for bottoming out after actually winning a premiership
3 - I would think a Dockers fan would also appreciate how much things can change in less than one year. I bet you joined the chorus of those bagging Mark Harvey last year after three years of less than spectacular performances, his fondness for recycled Essendon hacks and complete lack of media savvy. Now, Freo are in the top 4, and everyone wants to be his pal and said they knew he was going in the right direction all along.

Spot on!:thumbsu:

Can't stand Malthouse. Says "we're not making excuses", but then goes on to make the excuse. "we don't complain about the draw", BUT "we are the only team from the top 4 to play Geelong twice". Of anyone, you don't have a leg to stand on Mick in terms of the draw. I understand why he can't stand the media though, totally understand that.

I actually like Williams. Is quite honest, is a character so makes his press conferences interesting, and writes good articles.

Roos is a brilliant communicator, and is as sly as they come, but you can't help respect him.

Craig is good bloke, is respectful and doesn't point the finger after a loss. Hope he keeps his job. Quality.

Bailey seems alright as well.

have no time for Ratten Knights Worsfold, on value, very uninteresting, and not very insightful at all.

Thompson is quality.

Thompson = no personality. bores me to tears and can barely put two sentences together.

Neil Craig as above and maybe add in Harvey.

Mick is simply a total dick

In terms of loveability, I rate Williams the highest. Not just cos he coaches Port either. He's funny, doesn't take himself seriously and always entertains me.

Starting to lose faith in his actual coaching however...

yes, let's rate the coaches based on their press conferences. that's a meaningful method of judging their relative worth. :rolleyes:

How else are you meant to rate whether you think a coach is annoying or not?
The way they sit in the coaches box? The way they walk?

Roos - He is a great coach and has a great personality. But I find it annoying when I see an article about Roos and thinking it is about North, only to my disappointment it's about Sydney.

In all seriousness I do not like Ross Lyon, his elegant swagger just doesn't please me. Also he comes across as an arrogant bloke.

Most-to-least annoying:

1. Malthouse. Seems to have a chip on his shoulder the size of a shipping container. Don't really know why. You earn half a million bucks a year and have done so for over a decade. You get everything you ask for. You've coached two premierships. You're well-known, successful, and you've carved out a great career in the sport you love. SO WHAT THE **** IS YOUR ****ING PROBLEM, MICK? JESUS...

2. Knights. I think it's because it's patently obvious that Essendon are just putting up with him until Hird makes himself available. I'd just like him to go away already.

3. Worsfold. The man gives us nothing. Nothing at all. Is he even alive?

4. Harvey. Looks and sounds dumb enough to coach in the NRL.

5. Craig. Created a team of robots. Fitting, given his robotic demeanor.

6. Scott. He wears hoodies with dress-slacks. Christ-on-a-stick... he looks like someone put him together from two different photos from a magazine. Also suffers from chip-on-shoulder syndrome. Must've picked it up from his old boss.

7. Roos. Half of me loves him, and the other half thinks he's just smart enough to con the entire football world into believing he's the nicest bloke in the universe. Media lets him get away with murder.

8. Eade. I reckon if he won a flag, he'd lighten up and would be great value. But right now, he seems haunted by the fact he hasn't nailed one yet. Needs more hair, too.

9. Bailey. He's a middle-of-the-road guy, so here he is. I've got nothing either way on him.

10. Clarkson. I'd have him closer to No.1, but he said G'day to me once as we ran past each other on Sunday morning, so he moves into 'not a bad bloke, really' territory just because of that.

11.Williams. Owns the AFL's second-most undignified moment on the Premiership dias (Cuz owns No.1), but you have to admit: anyone who can ask a kid at draft camp to jump out the window just to see their reaction, definitely isn't boring.

12. Lyon. He used to annoy me, but once I got past his comatose drawl of a voice, I'm really liking the way he conducts himself. I find his dry wit quite refreshing.

13. Thompson. Love his slacker attitude in the box. Doesn't seem to take himself, or the game, too seriously. Usually worth listening to.

14. Voss. Yes, he's needlessly arrogant. Yes, he's nowhere near as intelligent as he thinks he is. But he took the idiot-savant Fevola from us, and for that alone he will always have a place in my heart.

15. Hardwick. I'm not sure why I like him so much. But I think he has this wonderfully endearing way of looking and sounding philosophically-resigned to a life of misery, every time he fronts a presser after his team serves up yet another godawful performance. Call it grace under fire I guess. Just seems like a decent bloke.

16. Ratten. Purely because he's ours.

Most-to-least annoying:

1. Malthouse. Seems to have a chip on his shoulder the size of a shipping container. Don't really know why. You earn half a million bucks a year and have done so for over a decade. You get everything you ask for. You've coached two premierships. You're well-known, successful, and you've carved out a great career in the sport you love. SO WHAT THE **** IS YOUR ****ING PROBLEM, MICK? JESUS...

2. Knights. I think it's because it's patently obvious that Essendon are just putting up with him until Hird makes himself available. I'd just like him to go away already.

3. Worsfold. The man gives us nothing. Nothing at all. Is he even alive?

4. Harvey. Looks and sounds dumb enough to coach in the NRL.

5. Craig. Created a team of robots. Fitting, given his robotic demeanor.

6. Scott. He wears hoodies with dress-slacks. Christ-on-a-stick... he looks like someone put him together from two different photos from a magazine. Also suffers from chip-on-shoulder syndrome. Must've picked it up from his old boss.

7. Roos. Half of me loves him, and the other half thinks he's just smart enough to con the entire football world into believing he's the nicest bloke in the universe. Media lets him get away with murder.

8. Eade. I reckon if he won a flag, he'd lighten up and would be great value. But right now, he seems haunted by the fact he hasn't nailed one yet. Needs more hair, too.

9. Bailey. He's a middle-of-the-road guy, so here he is. I've got nothing either way on him.

10. Clarkson. I'd have him closer to No.1, but he said G'day to me once as we ran past each other on Sunday morning, so he moves into 'not a bad bloke, really' territory just because of that.

11.Williams. Owns the AFL's second-most undignified moment on the Premiership dias (Cuz owns No.1), but you have to admit: anyone who can ask a kid at draft camp to jump out the window just to see their reaction, definitely isn't boring.

12. Lyon. He used to annoy me, but once I got past his comatose drawl of a voice, I'm really liking the way he conducts himself. I find his dry wit quite refreshing.

13. Thompson. Love his slacker attitude in the box. Doesn't seem to take himself, or the game, too seriously. Usually worth listening to.

14. Voss. Yes, he's needlessly arrogant. Yes, he's nowhere near as intelligent as he thinks he is. But he took the idiot-savant Fevola from us, and for that alone he will always have a place in my heart.

15. Hardwick. I'm not sure why I like him so much. But I think he has this wonderfully endearing way of looking and sounding philosophically-resigned to a life of misery, every time he fronts a presser after his team serves up yet another godawful performance. Call it grace under fire I guess. Just seems like a decent bloke.

16. Ratten. Purely because he's ours.

Love the Scott one. Absolute gold!

I reckon the guy is a total flog. Brad " look at our new facility" Scott. Smiling isn't banned when you become a coach Scotty and could we possibly hear any more of the new era/new facility talk with Scotty.

Someone had better tell him that has has a very average team cause he expects them to win every week.
A desperate appointment after Buckley pulled out and they didn't go through due process . Defending the dog acts of you backman was the last straw

I reckon the guy is a total flog. Brad " look at our new facility" Scott. Smiling isn't banned when you become a coach Scotty and could we possibly hear any more of the new era/new facility talk with Scotty.

Someone had better tell him that has has a very average team cause he expects them to win every week.
A desperate appointment after Buckley pulled out and they didn't go through due process . Defending the dog acts of you backman was the last straw

He is trying to build a culture of winning around the club.

Yeah, how dare he defend one of his players...:eek:

What coach, in his right mind, doesn't expect his team to win every week? What, "go out and try your hardest, boys, you might get within 30 points" is a good way to do things, is it? Football is about winning - if your coach doesn't want or believe that it's going to happen to them, then sack them, because they're not doing their job properly.

Harvey whats the useless ****er going to find to whinge about the next time his team loses to deflect away from it. And Ross Lyon because hes so up himself but hasn't done anything.

Most annoying coaches