Preview Most Anticipated Games of 2017

With round 1 still a bit away i'm wondering what are people most looking forward to in 2017. Give us a top 5 or a top 10 of what games you're most excited to see this season coming.

Here are mine.

1) Round 8 vs Adelaide at Adelaide Oval
I might be going to this game, but that's not the reason for selecting it. I'm generally excited to play Adelaide, both our clubs play attacking football and i think any game we play them will be a cracker, obviously i picked the eariler game as Adelaide Oval doesn't compare to Darwin.​
2) Round 1 vs St Kilda at Etihad
Can guess the reasons for picking this one. First game of the year and both sides on the rise. Is at Etihad but it matters not, should be a good test to start off the year​
3) Round 12 vs Collingwood at MCG (Queens birthday)
Not just picking it for Queens Birthday, even though that alone is always an occasion to look forward too. But a little bit of flare has returned to our rivalry. A lot of pot shots off the field from both sides and i think this contest will be a little bit extra spicy.​
4) Round 5 vs Richmond at MCG (ANZAC day eve)
Away game, but a great night to be a part of regardless of footy.​
5) Round 2 vs Carlton at MCG
The first time this year i should set foot inside the MCG and i'm very much looking forward to it
Honorable mentions
6) Round 6 vs Essendon at Etihad - i hate Essendon
7) Round 7 vs Hawthorn at MCG - Lewis vs the old team, can we back it up?
8) Round 15 vs Sydney - Friday night football
9) Round 9 vs North Melbourne
10) Round 14 vs West Coast

After finishing 6th at the cessation of the home and away season we face the Hawks in a much anticipated 2nd elimination final at the G. We go in with confidence high after smashing them in round 7 at the MCG by 48 points after a stirring ...... what? huh.... OMG what have I done....:'(:drunk::(:fire:

1. Rnd 1 v St Kilda - must win and set the scene!!!
2. Rnd 12 v Pies - they will be stronger this year IMO, this should be a blinder.
3. Rnd 6 v Essendon - we owe these pricks and I'll be mortified if they beat us again.
4. Rnd 9 v Norf - just want to beat these blokes. Wish Boomer was still playing and became the meat in a Petracca/Viney sanga!
5. Rnd 5 Tigers - great night, atmosphere and always nice beating them.

Top 5:

1. Round 6 vs. Essendon - Can't wait to flog the shit out of them after what's happened the last couple of seasons. Will put all my one-eyed Bomber mates in their place.
2. Round 5 vs. Richmond - This Anzac Day Eve blockbuster is becoming quite the spectacle. We've had a good track record over the Tiges in recent memory, so this game should be in our favour anyway. The Tiges are also the team that I have a soft spot for due to my late grandfather. Hope this is a great game.
3. Round 8 vs. Adelaide - Will likely be the first interstate game that I ever go to. I'm not expecting miracles, but hope we put up a fight.
4. Round 22 vs. Brisbane - Bring on another 100+ belting. Hope the likes of Hoges kicks a JJ Kennedy style bag this season.
5. Round 23 vs. Collingwood - The game that hopefully cements us into our first finals series in what has been too long.

Honourable Mentions:

Round 1 vs. St. Kilda - Let's finally break this hoodoo shit once and for all. Get the season off to a great start.
Round 19 vs. North Melbourne & Round 20 vs. GWS - Other interstate games I'm likely to travel to. Again, I'm not expecting miracles against GWS. Hope they're good games and surely we now have a leg up over Norf who are likely bottom 4 teams this season.
Round 15 vs. Sydney - Friday nights are back baby!
Round 10 vs. Gold Coast - Finally playing a team we can definitely beat in the NT. I haven't been the biggest fan of the NT games in recent memory due to our poor form up there. Was kind of annoyed when we renewed for various reasons. But as they say, if you're a good team; you can win anywhere and that's what it looks like we are finally striving to be!

Hopefully by R12 the Pies are still in disarray with Bucks rather than enjoying the bounce back under a new coach*

* As if Eddie would sack him even if they were 0-11.

P.S - If we complete three years of surprise defeats to bottomfeeders by losing to Brisbane in R22 I'll punch on.

Rd 20 v GWS - Always look forward to footy in my hometown where there is generally a strong Demon turnout. Heading to Manuka with a bigger crew this year with hopefully celebratory drinks afterwards instead of heading home with the tail between the legs. Could be a cracker of a game to boot.

Rd 1 v St Kilda - Unforgiveable to have let this hoodoo continue so long. It needs to end.

Rd 6 v Essendon - Given it won't be their B side I'm expecting a 10 goal victory.

Rd 15 v Sydney - A lot depends on how each side is traveling up until this stage of the season, but I have this pencilled in as a great test to see how legit we are in 2017. We'll have centre stage to do it on Friday night.

Rd 5 v Richmond - Atmosphere the last couple of years has been top shelf.

RD 1 v St Kilda - Two teams who have made similar progress up the ladder since 2014 square off and what makes this exciting is that I believe both are capable of making big rises up the ladder in 2017 but also breaking the hoodoo would be nice.

RD 3 v Geelong - I've put this in more so as a scheduling quirk but I don't think we have ever played the Cats at Etihad during the H&A season. Anyway, I'll be interested to see how we stack up against the Cats in 2017 in particular their midfield but they are no sure things to make top 4 again and we could legitimately go past them.

RD 6 v Essendon - Looking from the outside this looks to be a 50-50 game. The Bombers could really charge out of the blocks at the start of this season and I reckon before this clash we will be close to each other on the ladder. Also I believe it's actually more interesting playing the Bombers at Etihad for a change and this could be quite an anticipated clash depending on how well the Dees and the Bombers start the season. IIRC, we haven't played them at Etihad since 2009.

RD 13 v Western Bulldogs - Considering how far the Bulldogs have risen in such a short space of time, it'll be interesting to see how much improvement comes from the Dees and with the Bulldogs still having a fair bit of scope to improve as well, this will be a really good test for us playing them on their turf at Etihad.

RD 15 v Sydney - Hopefully this is the start of more regular Friday night games to come. They are probably the best contested side in the game and with Goodwin saying himself that he prides the Dees on playing a contested style of footy it will be exciting to see how our young emerging midfield stacks up against their established one.

RD 1 v St Kilda - Two teams who have made similar progress up the ladder since 2014 square off and what makes this exciting is that I believe both are capable of making big rises up the ladder in 2017 but also breaking the hoodoo would be nice.

RD 3 v Geelong - I've put this in more so as a scheduling quirk but I don't think we have ever played the Cats at Etihad during the H&A season. Anyway, I'll be interested to see how we stack up against the Cats in 2017 in particular their midfield but they are no sure things to make top 4 again and we could legitimately go past them.

RD 6 v Essendon - Looking from the outside this looks to be a 50-50 game. The Bombers could really charge out of the blocks at the start of this season and I reckon before this clash we will be close to each other on the ladder. Also I believe it's actually more interesting playing the Bombers at Etihad for a change and this could be quite an anticipated clash depending on how well the Dees and the Bombers start the season. IIRC, we haven't played them at Etihad since 2009.

RD 13 v Western Bulldogs - Considering how far the Bulldogs have risen in such a short space of time, it'll be interesting to see how much improvement comes from the Dees and with the Bulldogs still having a fair bit of scope to improve as well, this will be a really good test for us playing them on their turf at Etihad.

RD 15 v Sydney - Hopefully this is the start of more regular Friday night games to come. They are probably the best contested side in the game and with Goodwin saying himself that he prides the Dees on playing a contested style of footy it will be exciting to see how our young emerging midfield stacks up against their established one.
Confirmed we've never played Geelong at Etihad for premiership points

It's quite funny that it's their home game as well, would rather play them at Etihad despite our dismal record there but at least they don't really have a home ground advantage which helps us slightly than if we were playing in Geelong. Also just remembered that we played the Cats down at Etihad back in 2004 during the pre-season comp think they pipped us by a point as well not that it really mattered anyway.

Yeah there are some strange quirks out there. This one got me researching. I stumbled upon an old one (that obviously can't be changed) but we never played a match for premiership points under lights at Waverley

Our first Friday night game in years & it's against the Swans. I wish our Friday night game was against a side that could help showcase our run & excitement. If Sydney towel us up which is a possibility, it might hamper our chances for more Prime time games.

It wouldn't be ideal if the Swans give us a touch up in a time slot that we've been rewarded for, but in terms of getting more prime time matches, I think more weight will be given to how well we perform throughout the season. If we happen to make finals we should be given more prime time slots whether that's 1 or 2 more Friday night games or a couple of Saturday night home games.

i thought about this too. But then i thought if the AFL is going to give us this opportunity it's up to us to harden up and show why we earned it.

Just quietly i'm in two minds. i want plenty of exposure for the club, but prime time games are hard for me to get to

i thought about this too. But then i thought if the AFL is going to give us this opportunity it's up to us to harden up and show why we earned it.

Just quietly i'm in two minds. i want plenty of exposure for the club, but prime time games are hard for me to get to
I feel the same! My favourite time to head to the footy is Sunday arvo for sure.

Round 21 against St Kilda could potentially be a blockbuster if we are both around the 8 late in the year.

I'm also looking forward to round 1 against the Saints as I kind of have them at the same level as us and if we are a better side than them this year, I'm pretty confident we'll play finals.

Too much positivity here.

It's killing me!

All of can see positivity getting me is my heart ripped out Indiana Jones and the temple of doom style.

Im looking forward to Carlton at the G in round 2. Need to show them that we ARE better than them and turn up to play for once.

Same, pretty happy we get to play them twice as well as earlier in the season. We've struggled against them for the last couple of years but both games were late in the season so no excuses this time when we play them earlier this year.

Hawthorn game should be a cracker. We will have confidence after beating them last start plus Lewis will want to play well. Hawks will be looking to knock a dent in the confidence of a young team on the rise.

R1 v Saints - always nice to get the season started with a win.
R1 v Lions (Women's) - start of a new era. Hopefully a winning era.
R5 v Tigers - always good for a laugh. Rance v Watts 2: This Time It's Televised (Again)
R6 v Essendon - Every year I get excited. Most years I am disappointed.
Finals Week 1 v TBA - I'm putting it on the line this year. Early September action or bust!

Honorable mention: the first JLT Community Chest game. Signals the start of footy season.