Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

I was at the gym a few years ago, and a 'young gun' was in there. Lots of hype, but only in probably his second year? It was the off season, and I'm a fairly affable chap, so I said g'day and complimented him on the fact that he was there and not in Vegas banging hookers or whatever it is that players do during their own time.

Engaging with C-Grade celebrities is a gift I have. I lose sleep if I don't say something, but am also really careful not to be a flog and overstep. Arj Barker, Merv Hughes, Waleed Aly, Daryl Brathwaite, John Stephenson, Danny Glover are a few of my body count, just to name a few.

So this young gun AFL player seemed friendly enough, albeit fairly clearly not keen to engage too deeply, but that was right in my wheelhouse. I was the Master at Work once again.

Saw him again a couple of days later. Said g'day and gave a fairly cool head nod. You know, friendly, but almost like I was doing him a favour by acknowledging him. That's it Lav, play it cool. Don't blow it.

Two days later, he walks into the gym, I was actually leaving, and by this stage we were basically best friends - Approximately 7-8 actual words had been spoken, and two solid head nods. So I walked past and as I went to give him a 'Hey man, how's it going?' (you know, step up the relationship), and he literally made eye contact then dropped his head and looked away, and completely fresh aired me!!!!

Shocking.

Saw him in the street a week or so later, and thought I'd give him another chance. So as I walked past, again went to throw a casual and non-committal 'Hey mate' at him, and he quickly looked away and avoided eye contact!!!

I told all my mates that tale, and every time he kicks a goal, cause he's a superstar these days, I get texts immediately saying 'Your boy has kicked one!' or 'Your mate is on tonight!' or even 'Your friendship was what was holding him back'.

Liam Ryan at WWE Raw on Monday night.

Not a sighting but I had to call Isaac Quaynor for work the other day

Saw Jezza coming out of a terrace house near Drumond Street in Catlton. He saw me looking and gave a friendly smile.

Boring enough, maybe the context disqualifies this story though.

It was the early 90s, Collingwood were in finals a bit, Carlton was shit that year. We were playing them that week, and I was bopping along to my little nightshift at some kitchen thinking "yeah gonna smash the Blues this weekend aw yiss"

His Satanic majesty appears and gives me this smile, knocked the shit out of me, i knew in that moment we would lose , and we did.

I was past the house too. I think i heard the door open, because i looked back. Maybe if I had of minded my own business, looked straight ahead, we coulda won.

He knew. That ****er knew i was Collingwood. He smiled like Louis Cypher at the end of that shitty movie with Mickey Rourke. Somehow seeing him sealed our fate.

So it was boring, but it was Satanic.

I had a call to jump start a vehicle at the Geelong Football Club in 2002. Client's name: Gary Ablett (Jnr.). The vehicle was a white EF Falcon. I got there, to the car park, Gary was nowhere to be seen. Some rando in a club polo greeted me and gave me the keys. I asked, "where's Gaz?" and was told he was "busy."

Jump started the car, said rando drove it out of the car park to an undisclosed location. I called my mate who was mates with him (went to school with him at Christian Brothers College) and told him, "your mate Gaz dogged me, he sent some pleb to give me the keys instead."

Went down to Torquay for New Years Eve, and wouldn't you know, I bumped into Gaz. Told him I was devo I didn't see you when I went to jump start your car and asked him where he was. He apologised, laughed and said he needed to move his car and still had another training session so wasn't going to be waiting by the car.

The feeling of closure I felt after that was immense.

😌

Walked past Harry Sheezel twice last week. First time was on a walk in Burleigh Heads then a few days later at GC airport. Nothing remarkable, maybe some might find it exciting that he was lining up at one of those organic, cruelty free etc salad bars. I had some Pringles whilst waiting in the public area for my flight.

I nodded and smiled at Jarryd Roughead earlier this year. He nodded, half-smiled and did a thumbs up.

I don’t know if it was more boring for him or for me. For him, I suspect.

Saw Matthew Kreuzer buying dumplings in Bundoora a few weeks back.

David Hynes good bloke. Although he puts Pepsi in his coffee.

Corcoran ex bulldog. Played roulette with him.

Sedat Sir played two up.

Glen Jackovich - seen him jogging once

Rohan Smith was giving autographs

Simon Atkins - threw ice coffee on my face

Many years ago, was in Miami, one day walking around Sth Beach I couldn't believe Wayne Carey was walking the other way. Looking back at what happened very glad I didn't say a word to him.

Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.