Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Years ago, I was at a physio in Keilor Road, Essendon, sitting next to an older lady. We got talking, and the subject of footy came up. She gathered I was a Dogs supporter, but also a keen student of general footy history. She said "my brother played for Essendon, but it was a long time ago," I said "oh yes, what was his name". She said "Dick Reynolds". I nearly fell off my chair! Then we both got called into our appointments and I never saw her again. But I've always wondered how her physio treatment turned out.
That's not boring

Maybe. If I'd met a triple Brownlow medallist in person, that definitely would not be boring. Meeting his unknown sister in a physio's waiting room though - I'm pretty confident that's close to boring. :D I've got anecdotes of meeting Kevin Murray, Val Perovic, Jimmy Buckley, Bill Serong, Shane Zantuck and Tony McGuinness - they're not boring!

I was on a Zoom the other day and someone’s name was “Ben Harrison” and I wondered if it was THE Ben Harrison.

He was brave enough to have his camera on and I looked, and it was THE Ben Harrison.

I suspect my thought processes weren’t reciprocated by THE Ben Harrison.

Saw Luke Beveridge at a NAB Cup match a few years back down at marvel, was leaving the match because we were getting smashed, he was walking down the aisle at 3 Quarter time and said he said G’day.

Saw Jobe Watson last night, had his baby strapped to his chest while he pushed his little girl on the swing at the same time.
Couldn't imagine anything more annoying than someone saying hello while you're with your family so I just gave him a nod and left him alone.

Had a kick to kick with Brad Johnson a few years ago at Bunnings. This was back when I didn't play local footy and my kicking skills were horrid, but I managed to nail every kick to him. He noted how good my skills were.

Easily the best bloke ever.

Justin Koschitzke once tried to sell me industrial lighting.
Read that as lightning initially. 🤣🤣

Justin Koschitzke once tried to sell me industrial lighting.

A job that requires speaking doesn’t seem the best use of his skill set.

Many years ago ex Richmond and Fitzroy FF Jeff Hogg was doing eyesight tests at our workplace. Walked into the room and recognised him straight away. Looked pretty fit and seemed a decent enough bloke. Couldn‘t be bothered starting up a footy convo. Kept it low key and boring in order to add to this thread.

This brings the thread back on track after some flirtation with slightly interesting anecdotes - well done.

Great foresight. Kudos

I also saw Jeff Hogg many years ago on an end of season trip with his Fitzroy team mates. The were drinking quietly and watching the two up game at Jupiter's casino.

My wife and I were getting subway a few years ago, a few hours before a Crows home game and Sam Jacobs came in and ordered a footlong veggie delight.

Ironically without sauce.

My wife and I were getting subway a few years ago, a few hours before a Crows home game and Sam Jacobs came in and ordered a footlong veggie delight.

Ironically without sauce.
Any headwear?

Lots of players around where I used to live:

I saw Michael Gardiner wandering into the Avenue in Albert Park surrounded by his work team. Managed to look like a mob boss even though I think he does real estate. He is quite an intimidating person in the flesh.

Used to see lots of footy players doing rehab at the Albert Park beach, they are very skinny now unlike back in the 90s when they were all tanks EXCEPT Dusty, saw him in Albert Park village, he is a tank. Very physically powerful frame.

Used to see Jobe moping around a lot before he got the job as erudite TV football analyst totally on merit.

See Wayne Carey all the time in Port Melbourne, usually at the Exchange when I am walking past (horrid place).

Luke Hodge tried to kick the toilet door down one time when I was in there - smashed Hodgey wanted to go NOW.

Have taught lots of current and past Hawthorn players. Not much to report there, footy players are not smart (Gunston is though).

That is my boring contribution to the thread.

Edit - Saw Pendles and his lady one time, Pendles was wearing a pink beanie and white puffy jacket. Great player, bad fashion sense.

got on a plane with riccutio and his fancy looking mate who seemed important and was sitting across the isle. It was a small plane. The mate was telling Roo about hitting a kangaroo in a rent a car or some s**t and that he hoped he wouldn't see too many more when i dryly interjected that we shouldnt see too many in the plane. Roo laughed, his mate looked a bit annoyed. I put my earplugs in and ignored them both for the rest of the trip even though I wanted to talk footy with Roo a little more than i should have. I knew a thread like this would pop up so kept it lame.

See Mark Mercuri every day at the building site
He and I are working in I say good morning
He says good morning , thats as far as the convo goes.