• Leigh Colbert

Votes: 32 26.9%
  • Allen Christensen

Votes: 15 12.6%
  • Mark Thomson

Votes: 2 1.7%
  • Other

Votes: 7 5.9%
  • No one. I love everyone who has ever pulled on the blue and white hoops!

Votes: 6 5.0%
  • Gary Ayres

Votes: 16 13.4%

Does Solomon's apology rate right up there with Matthews' apology, Partridge?

They're of exactly equal value as far as I'm concerned.

I'm not outraged that footy players lose it occasionally; it's a physical game, they're not angels, and from time to time to varying degrees players get frustrated and snap. Just don't turn around and pretend you're sorry you did it afterwards. Whether that's Matthews, Milburn, Solomon, Scarlett on Ballantyne, whatever.

I actually don't care that there was "more to the story" with Colbert. Aside from doing a Carey, I don't think there's much lower you can get than a captain walking out on his club in a time of need and walking straight into the reigning Premiers. I also don't give a stuff that he seems like a good bloke. I judge him on what he did to the club at the time of walking out on it.

Murphy? Meh. Yep, a complete flog but he meant nothing to the fabric of the club.

Didn;t the club trade said senior players (Barnes and Mansfield IIRC)? So they tried to appease him yet he still walked. Unforgivable if you ask me...
I thought Buddha Hocking was the main culprit?

They're of exactly equal value as far as I'm concerned.

I'm not outraged that footy players lose it occasionally; it's a physical game, they're not angels, and from time to time to varying degrees players get frustrated and snap. Just don't turn around and pretend you're sorry you did it afterwards. Whether that's Matthews, Milburn, Solomon, Scarlett on Ballantyne, whatever.
I don't think Scarlett was sorry he did hit Ballantyne- I reckon he's sorry about the effect his actions and suspension had on the team. With one- maybe two more wins, we'd have made top 4.
Beat the Hawks, have a week off, who knows what could've happened?

I'd include Brent Prismall in that list. Injured his knee in a Qualifying Final, and Frank Costa at either the Grand Final dinner or Best and Fairest (I was at each, and can't remember which one it was) stated publicly he would be offered a new contract even though they knew 2009 would be a write-off. Prismall's response was to stalk off to Essendon to become the superstar he was convinced he would be. Didn't quite happen somehow.

Part of that was a problem with his hammy from the reco graft. Unlike someone like Wojo, he never quite got back to full pace. And if you're a good to (borderline) very good midfielder who loses 5-10% of pace, you're pretty much out of the league.

At least Ablett helped deliver 2 premierships.

I can't wait to read GAJ's autobiography - I'd love to know just how close he was to not leaving Geelong, whether Bomber's antics helped make his mind up, whether he regretted his decision to leave Geelong when Bomber walked out, etc. In his first year at GC he seemed a reluctant Sun, which is understandable. I know now he is a Sun for life
Yes but how much more could he have helped us by staying? If he's a Sun for life then with any luck they never win a flag so he doesn't get the ultimate taste of success again.

I don't think Scarlett was sorry he did hit Ballantyne- I reckon he's sorry about the effect his actions and suspension had on the team. With one- maybe two more wins, we'd have made top 4.
I know for a fact Scarlett wasn't sorry and the public apology was very insincere. Walked into the Subway my brother was working at the on that Monday after. He was clapped by the other patrons to which his response was "I just wish I'd hit him harder":D

His "slap" hardly bruised Ballantyne.

Apologies invariably are an acknowledgment that you are sorry for getting caught.

I know for a fact Scarlett wasn't sorry and the public apology was very insincere. Walked into the Subway my brother was working at the on that Monday after. He was clapped by the other patrons to which his response was "I just wish I'd hit him harder":D

Did he apologise?

Anyway, if he truly thinks that, he's a dill (as, of course, are the Geelong supporters that are happy he did it). It doesn't take a massive leap to see that the goal he gifted Fremantle and his subsequent suspension helped hand us two close losses, in a season where we missed the top four by a game (and yes, we had the edge on Collingwood on percentage, if we'd finished level with them on points). Having said that, I'd hardly say that the scene that you described is any sort of conclusive evidence of how he truly feels about it. We're all capable of saying some stupid things when we've got a room full of peanuts egging us on. My guess is he might have been singing a slightly different tune in front of the leadership group and coaches.

His "slap" hardly bruised Ballantyne.

Apologies invariably are an acknowledgment that you are sorry for getting caught.

Which is all that he should have been sorry for. Getting sucked in and letting his team down. Not throwing a punch that would be lucky to bruise a grape, at a player that goes out of his way to antagonise his opponents, by any means necessary..

I can't say I have any recollection of him apologising to Ballantyne. I find it hard to believe he did and I'm having a tough time even imagining what the words would have sounded like, coming out of his mouth.

Yep, in the interview I saw with him on the subject (I think it was Open Mike?) he was sorry only about the effect it had on the result of the game and his suspension on the team.

Ah here it is (from 4:40 onwards):

Funny aside, for a moment I thought that the name of the show was "On the Couch", so I blithely searched for "scarlett on the couch". Needless to say the results were slightly different to what I was after!

Yep, in the interview I saw with him on the subject (I think it was Open Mike?) he was sorry only about the effect it had on the result of the game and his suspension on the team.

Ah here it is (from 4:40 onwards):

Funny aside, for a moment I thought that the name of the show was "On the Couch", so I blithely searched for "scarlett on the couch". Needless to say the results were slightly different to what I was after!

:eek:
I can only imagine :D
(How long did it take for you to get back to the original search? ;))

Knew that would happen someone trying to give me a lecture for thinking he is a dickhead just in the media

Perhaps if you stated that regarding the media rather than

Tom Harley is a dickhead

You might get a better response. And given that there's a bunch of likes to my post, id say plenty of others read it the same way.

And if you thought that was lecture, I can't wait to see what happens when you actually get one.

Go Catters

Perhaps if you stated that regarding the media rather than

You might get a better response. And given that there's a bunch of likes to my post, id say plenty of others read it the same way.

And if you thought that was lecture, I can't wait to see what happens when you actually get one.

Go Catters
Daz it's easy to see what you did and it's a smart move you got in before anybody else and baited my post for likes

No. It was simply an opportunity and Milburn took it.

It needs to be remembered, it was 13 seasons ago now. Although the game was well and truly in the process of being sanitised, it wasn't like it is now. There were plenty (and I'm one of them) who shared the view what Milburn did was fine - the ball was right there, he used his hip, and he didn't use or raise an arm. I watched the game with a Carlton-supporting mate who thought that. The faux outrage that plenty indulged in afterwards I think was mainly because Silvagni being the victim. If Silvagni had done that to Milburn, there would not have been outrage, and there almost certainly would have been the routine giggles about how soft Geelong players were.

If people want to discuss the wisdom of Milburn clapping the Carlton supporters, that's a different argument. Probably not the best idea. Even so, for those who were there, the 'near riot' was nowhere near as bad as people made out. The game was nearly over, everyone was drenched, most fans just wanted to leave.
Not going to call it a dog act, but after quarter time that day we went the man, culminating in that Milburn hit. It was a pretty petulant display from a number of players that game, and it's not an outing I remember with any fondness.

I'm all for a bit of crash and bash and even some biffo, but there were a lot of cheap shots dispensed by our boys in that game.

There's lots of shit lots of people would do for "over a million dollars" doesn't make any of that shit right.
In the same situation I'd be at the GC too. No way in hell I would've turned that down!

Daz it's easy to see what you did and it's a smart move you got in before anybody else and baited my post for likes
Dont flatter yourself.
I did nothing to your post other than quote it, and gave my opinion as to why I felt it was wrong. A bunch of people agreed with me and then you posted later claryfing your post restrospectively and having a shot at me for giving you a lecture.

Go Catters

Dont flatter yourself.
I did nothing to your post other than quote it, and gave my opinion as to why I felt it was wrong. A bunch of people agreed with me and then you posted later claryfing your post restrospectively and having a shot at me for giving you a lecture.

Go Catters
The day I'm your age and there are people who are my age using a footy forum I'm sure I'll bait of them too don't worry

He wasn't baiting you up, he was wondering like most of us why your hating on Harley (what had he done to the club to deserve the hate) i'm guessing that if you had of mentioned it was to do with the media he wouldn't have even said anything. Your acting your age by all the sulking maybe you should grab your joystick, get into a game for a while and chill out.

weren't you the one who told me to put the joystick down? I cba for playstation in the last two weeks