Social Science Most horrific thing you've seen

I think united 93 has a memorial, according to google, this is it. simple and understated

United93CrashSite_May06.jpg

I would be in tears. I teared up a bit in the Holocaust museum in Washington DC and at concentration camp Dachau. But kind of "living" thru it is different and I reckon I would be much more effected- even if I didnt know anyone directly who died.

Another q. Is there much about the Pentagon and United 93?

Not as much as the main towers obviously but they map out the flight paths for both of those planes and im pretty sure they cover off the plotting for those flights as well and what happened on flight 93 to bring it down.

I would be in tears. I teared up a bit in the Holocaust museum in Washington DC and at concentration camp Dachau. But kind of "living" thru it is different and I reckon I would be much more effected- even if I didnt know anyone directly who died.

Another q. Is there much about the Pentagon and United 93?

the other thing that is chilling is they have various phones mounted on a wall, you pick up the phone and listen to the different 9/11 calls, airline radio calls etc.

Playing footy when one of our guys was bumped in a heavy tackle near the point post. His body was flung horizontal and his leg basically wrapped itself around the post. The leg breaking sounded like a gun shot but that wasn't as bad as the blood curdling scream that came after. Poor bugger lay there with his leg at a right angle, bone sticking out, for about 20 minutes till the Ambos showed up.

I can still picture it.

I saw a couple of guys break their legs playing rugby, not a pleasant sight or pleasant hearing them screaming/moaning in agony afterwards.

I was pretty lucky, the worst I suffered playing rugby was a dislocated finger, that was painful enough.

Not as much as the main towers obviously but they map out the flight paths for both of those planes and im pretty sure they cover off the plotting for those flights as well and what happened on flight 93 to bring it down.

Yeah I googled some images- they also have a life size interior of the plane?? They were extremely brave on that flight 93.

the other thing that is chilling is they have various phones mounted on a wall, you pick up the phone and listen to the different 9/11 calls, airline radio calls etc.

Some people would probably say that is too much, getting into the morbid territory. Imo I think it's great, never forget them and that day.

Yeah Im going one day. I've never been to Boston before either, so there's other places in the US I need to go too anyway.

Yeah I googled some images- they also have a life size interior of the plane?? They were extremely brave on that flight 93.

Some people would probably say that is too much, getting into the morbid territory. Imo I think it's great, never forget them and that day.

Yeah Im going one day. I've never been to Boston before either, so there's other places in the US I need to go too anyway.

the phone calls were hard to listen to, but its part of history now and as confronting as it is, we need to be able to remember the day for what it was i guess.

Boston is a great place, was there before getting to NYC and was lucky enough to see it snow!

and ironically it wasnt until we left Boston and arrived in NYC and did the 9/11 memorial tour that we realised that one of the flights that went into the towers left from Boston, just as we did. That made it hit home a bit as well.

I saw a couple of guys break their legs playing rugby, not a pleasant sight or pleasant hearing them screaming/moaning in agony afterwards.

I was pretty lucky, the worst I suffered playing rugby was a dislocated finger, that was painful enough.

You were probably too busy pissing and moaning about the referees' conspiracy to do anything that got you injured.

I actually dislocated my finger giving the referee the finger when he penalised me.

That sounds like it would be haunting. Also sounds like a great way to catch a bug though.

A friend of mine back in primary school had an older brother who went completely off the rails and was homeless due to drug related issues. The brother hung himself at the primary school early in the morning and I arrived before any staff had seen the body. It was a really small rural school with three teachers including the principal too, so the teachers were practically like parents to most of the kids who went through the school.

I can relate to all that, except for the "friend" part- a young student did the exact same thing. Apparently had a big fight with his dad, took off and hanged himself on the school grounds around 1-2am. Canteen staff found him first thing in the morning. I still remember that day like it was yesterday, everyone at the school were just like zombies, I went home by lunchtime iirc.

Saw a car roll over with 5 occupants, all ok but after the emergency services arrived and the Mrs and I were standing back looking at the scene, we noticed a finger on the road next to us. Not really horrific, but quite gross. Poor bastard driving had no idea his pinky was missing!

Having worked in Fire & Rescue for awhile now I've seen and dealt with some awful shit.

Funnily enough it's the smell that gets me, I tend to be able to block out a lot of the images, smell always stays with me long after.

Also anything involving children. Seeing a child's head in pieces like a smashed watermelon...ugh heartbreaking.

When I was 14 I went to the beach and I was on the other side of the road and saw a little girl maybe 5-6 years old escape from her mother in a tantrum.

Ran out to the back of the car parallel parked on the side of the road and was hit by a passing van. Dead instantly.

It really is something I don't think I'll ever fully get out of my head.