Review Most Improved: 2014 Edition

• Thread starter Thread starter Yoda_

Who is the most improved player on our list?

• Mark Baguley

Votes: 20 27.4%
  • Travis Colyer

Votes: 34 46.6%
  • Dyson Heppell

Votes: 7 9.6%
  • Cale Hooker

Votes: 8 11.0%
  • Zach Merret

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • David Myers

Votes: 3 4.1%
  • Paddy Ryder

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other (please state who & reasons why)

Votes: 1 1.4%

The temptation is to say Colyer, but for consistency, I say Myers. If he keeps improving, he will be some sort of weapon next year.

I went TC.

For a guy most had crossed off their best 30 at the club, he has become a real asset.

Of the rest, I couldn't go Hooker as improved, as I thought that he's had two great years. Similar for Heppell, again two great years. Also Paddy.

I think Zach's run of vests has hurt him show his full potential - but well managed by the club. Will be keen to see him play finals footy.

I see Bag's improvement, but I don't rate it quite on the same scale as #32.

Lastly, I'm yet to see Myers take a game by the scruff and as a top draft pick I think he should. He has good moments and bad.

Very hard..
Colyer has gone from a best 30/possible trade to genuine best 22. So big tick there.
Bag's has gone from 'good' to 'great' to 'outstanding' all in one season. Big tick.
Myers has gone from my whipping boy to my fourth best midfielder and Mr. Reliable. Big tick.

Merrett has jumped out of his skin and could be RS.. Big tick

But Heppell wins for me. Yes he was good, but to take yourself from being a 'good' player or even a 'great' player and push yourself into the true 'ELITE' of the competition.. that is something special.

Heppell really now deserves to be spoken about as POSSIBLY our best player.. right up there and maybe past Watson.. and Dyson isn't out of place alongside the top 5 midfielders in the competition. I would rate him alongside guys like Selwood, Pendlebury etc. For mine that is a huge improvement because it is pushing yourself to the maximum of your potential.. and something that is very very very hard to achieve.

I don't think Baguley has improved that much. He's just put together the second of the two years that tell doubters like me to cram their opinions. He has probably rounded out his game a little with slightly better efforts defensively and with ball in hand but I think he is largely the same and that we are now starting to appreciate how good he is (at least I know I am).

Conversely, Colyer has improved from being almost totally dysfunctional because of his kicking and inability to defend and compete to being a seriously, seriously important player who has largely overcome the deficiencies he had. I'd say that he is without doubt the most improved player at the club (and it is mainly because there was so much that needed improving).

At the top end I'd vote Myers. I now consider him to be entrenched well in the top 10 players at the club. It's the combination of sheer brute strength as an inside midfielder, the quality of his disposal, the selflessness of his play, versatility to play as a half back or key defender (he is much better at half back and overhead than he has been) and his leadership qualities that have all come together in the last 5 months on ground.

TC is the type that we have been waiting for. We need outside run (to be honest we really need another one or two in the side). I think he has improved his foot skills and marking a hell of a lot from previous years. He is playing well enough to hold his spot. He needs to find more of the ball. He needs to get his gut running up more. He should be aiming for 22 touches a week.

I picked Baguley. He has become an amazing player for us. (He was super last year as well). He would be one of the first picked now. I just wish he was a couple of years younger. He is already 27 so we will only get another 3-4 years of good footy out of him.

TC is the type that we have been waiting for. We need outside run (to be honest we really need another one or two in the side). I think he has improved his foot skills and marking a hell of a lot from previous years. He is playing well enough to hold his spot. He needs to find more of the ball. He needs to get his gut running up more. He should be aiming for 22 touches a week.

I picked Baguley. He has become an amazing player for us. (He was super last year as well). He would be one of the first picked now. I just wish he was a couple of years younger. He is already 27 so we will only get another 3-4 years of good footy out of him.

You'd expect that with only 7/8 years of hardcore footy in him, he should be able to keep fit a bit longer than a player who has spent 12 grueling years in the system.

All these lads have shown considerable improvement and i reckon they all deserve a pat on the back. If they keep improving and the rest of the list shows close to the improvement of these guys in the next year we are going to be an extremely dangerous football club. We've all been waiting, weve all been watching and now we are seeing and its a ripper of a thing to see.

Not sure how you can have a first year player vie for most improved honours... there needs to be a baseline measure.

I went with Bags, though I'm probably most happy with the heights Ryder and Heppell have reached.

Not sure how you can have a first year player vie for most improved honours... there needs to be a baseline measure.

I went with Bags, though I'm probably most happy with the heights Ryder and Heppell have reached.
Yeah, I couldn't work that out either.