• Jarrod Harbrow (WBD)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Jobe Watson(Ess)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Duffield easily, amazing improvement.

Patful is a pretty average nomination btw mate, was a gun last year and could even be a bit worse this year.

Anyone nominating Montagna either didn't watch him prior to this year or criminally underrated him. Has gone up a notch but he was a gun last year and the year before.

Colin Sylvia FTW, closely followed by Ryder.

Ryder is edged out because he was a better player than Sylvia to start with, so he's improved slightly less to get to where he is now. Sylvia was pretty ordinary until this year.

I reckon Sam Gilbert's gotta be in amongst the list at least. Has gone from a fringe player (imo) to one of the more damaging defenders and probable AA this year. FWIW I voted Duffield.

Tambling's very stiff not to be in this poll...

Surprised Kurt Tippett didn't get a mention too...

And why is Nathan Grima in this poll? :confused: He's in his first season...

The main reason i didnt add tambling in the poll was beacuse, hes really only played well the last 6-7 weeks of the season.

And i didnt wont richmond fans getting ahead of themselves, like we always do.:rolleyes:

bwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Colin Sylvia has been good, nothing more, nothing less. elite players make their team look good (eg Judd and Carlton). Melbourne don't look good

Mate Judd and Ablett couldnt make Melbourne look real good at the moment.
In a struggling team getting 20-25possie and a couple of goals every week is class.
Plus add a couple of 30+ possession games and 3 or 4 goals. Not too bad at all

bit biased but duffield has shown amazing improvement this year

I never even knew who Paul Duffield was until this year
So i voted for him

Also Jackson has been great for Tiges

And of course Dawson.

Mitch Clark

I was scrolling through this thread wondering why no-one had mentioned Clark?

He's gone from being a bit part player who played mostly as a forward pocket to number one ruckman in the absence of Charman and Leuenberger in a top 6 team.

Ave 19 hit outs, 5 marks, 4 tackles and 15 possessions a game and those averages improve if you discount rounds 1 and 2 which were before the injuries to the other rucks

Hard to gauge who has really improved the most however the top 5 I would probably rate in no order are: Duffield, Jackson, LeCras, Ryder and Sylvia.

Colin Sylvia easily.

Has gone from tradebait to the cusp of elite within the space of half a season. If he can keep his recent form up, in conjunction with the improvements his made off the field, his name will be mentioned alongside Ablett Jnr. and Judd.

EDIT: I have also been impressed with Daniel Jackson and R. Shaw have been able to do this year.

Oh dear. :o

Is this in reference to the suspension? I hope so, because that is the only reason you could have for making such a farcical comment without providing any evidence to back it up.

Even with the suspension, one can't deny the man has gone from average to very, very good within the space of 10 weeks.

I think Tambling has improved alot this year and is finally playing good footy ;), Good on the kid :). Duffield,Swan,Ryder and Jackson would be the top 4 IMO.

Is this in reference to the suspension? I hope so, because that is the only reason you could have for making such a farcical comment without providing any evidence to back it up.

Even with the suspension, one can't deny the man has gone from average to very, very good within the space of 10 weeks.

One can't deny that he has shown alot of improvement over the last 10 weeks.

But one then can't also compare him to two players, whom have sustained a similar output to the very limits of Sylvia's best for close to 4 years.

Don't be so foolish.

Melbourne over-uses the ball, more than almost anyone else in the competition.

Going statistically, your side should be one of the better sides in the competition, hence why statistics in the modern game hold very little weight imo.

You want evidence to back it up?

Judd averages close to 30% more possessions a game than Sylvia this season, twice as many tackles, 50% more inside 50's, more goal assists, contested possessions etc etc etc.

And I wont even bother going into Ablett.

One can't deny that he has shown alot of improvement over the last 10 weeks.

But one then can't also compare him to two players, whom have sustained a similar output to the very limits of Sylvia's best for close to 4 years.

Don't be so foolish.

Melbourne over-uses the ball, more than almost anyone else in the competition.

Going statistically, your side should be one of the better sides in the competition, hence why statistics in the modern game hold very little weight imo.

You want evidence to back it up?

Judd averages close to 30% more possessions a game than Sylvia this season, twice as many tackles, 50% more inside 50's, more goal assists, contested possessions etc etc etc.

And I wont even bother going into Ablett.

That evidence doesn't back anything up. I said he needs to continue playing well and developing off the field in order to be mentioned alongside those players. I think he is capable of doing this.

Further to this, if you actually spent some more time watching Colin, you would realise he isn't the type of player to accumulate cheap kicks in the backline. Instead, he has a great impact on the match through his toughness, skills and ability to kick the long ball/goal.

Judd is in a far better team than Melbourne, where he is the centrepiece and all players just give him the ball. If he isn't getting a lot of it, there is something wrong. Sylvia has to fight harder for his possessions, and doesn't enjoy the protection afforded to Judd.

Sylvia can become Melbourne's star, there is no doubting that.

Lastly, I also find it hilarious that you talk of stats being meaningless in the modern game and then proceed to rattle off a plethora of statistics related to Judd. I enjoyed that greatly, your argumentative powers truly astounded me on this particular occasion.

what about Richard Tambling?

almost the entire AFL world beside a minority of Richmond supporters have bagged him since he was drafted, he's been called a hopeless player, got a few worst on grounds from tripple m, has been called a mistake, wasted pick and just about any insult you can give a footballer.

This year he's averaged 22 disposals and would probably be top 3 in our best and fairest.

To go from a so called 'dud' to now being acknowledged as having a very good year I nominate him.

Voted for Duffiled, however i think Sam Gilbert is most improved player for 2009.

what about Richard Tambling?

almost the entire AFL world beside a minority of Richmond supporters have bagged him since he was drafted, he's been called a hopeless player, got a few worst on grounds from tripple m, has been called a mistake, wasted pick and just about any insult you can give a footballer.

This year he's averaged 22 disposals and would probably be top 3 in our best and fairest.

To go from a so called 'dud' to now being acknowledged as having a very good year I nominate him.

Yeh and if you had read what i said previously in the thread that Tambling has been good for 5-6 weeks and people are getting ahead of themselves with him thats why he doesnt get a nomination. There have also been others in the same boat as tambling that have played well over the last 2 or so months.