Votes: 0 0.0%
  • M.Stokes

• M.Blake

All of those players have certainly improved, but Blake is the clear winner IMO. His tap and link work this year is a massive step up from last year. He would have to be the mos improved player in the AFL let alone GFC.

I voted for Steve the freak because he went from being unwanted at Geelong or any other club for that matter to AA nomination in 10 months.

SJ kicked 30 goals in 15 games last year and has improved that by two games and 11 goals this year. He has improved, yes, but not that much.

Its not just goals wise he has improved by. His general kicking, his lack of arrogance in alot of situations now, etc etc. he is playing as a much better team player now.

But yes I agree, definetly Blake :p

Steve Johnson has turned his footy career around SO MUCH. I was an absolute doubter last year and wanted him gone. To his credit he has turned it all around and has improved amazingly as a footballer. While I still have my reservations (and probably always will) I just think it is great what he has done... even if it has cost me my $5 bet.

Mackie has had a fantastic year. He has improved immensely and playing in defense has done wonders for him.

I don't think there is one player in our squad who hasn't improved from last year (anything is better than last year). Also our rising star Selwood... you can't forget him!

i voted for stevie j plain and simply because i wanted him to be traded at the end of last year and now he is in our top 5 most important players... pretty good turn around i reckon!

I went for Mackie, although Ablett and SJ could also be up there.

The reason was that Mackie last year had terrible disposal, was pretty much an ire for mostly every Geelong supporter I know. He came into the team being selected as a future great player, yet hadn't really shown it.

This year though his fitness is great, can produce on the field, noteworthy disposal even under pressure, providing a fantastic link out of defence and can actually finish off a set play by kicking straight at goals.

SJ has been the turn around for the club, but I think that has been because he had no direction, he had no teamsmanship and couldn't put his team-mates higher than himself. Turning that around has made a difference also.

Well Jnr is a star of the comp, and hopefully will be wearing a medallion around his neck in a few weeks.

I'm now sort of tied between all three. Each and everyone of them has given us something, direction, leadership and general footy skills.

m blake most improved for sure he's got him self in front of t west and s king
mackie also been super both taken big steps

i;m not sure why s johnson was on there he has been good this year but he's been preety good most years av 2 goals a game last few years

I would say Mackie. Last year he was one the most frustrating players to watch and I use to wish we would just delist him.
This year he has been one of my favourite players to watch

I'd have Mackie as the number one most improved. He has been fantastic this season, and the longer it's going, the better he is getting. His disposal has been much better than last year and his decision making has improved so much, it's almost like watching a completely different player from last year.

Blake would be number two. His most important asset to the team, his ruckwork, has been his key area of improvement. He is reading his opponent pretty well and knows where he has to be to hit the ball where the lads want it. The only part of his ruckwork that has struggled a bit this year is when more physical opponents have used their strength to advantage and make Mark look like a boy amongst men. If he can beef up a bit, he and Brad could be the most devastating combination of rucks in the comp. His around the ground work has improved a fair bit too, but he has further improvement that can be made in that area before people get too excited about it. He still turns the ball over heaps, especially when he is kicking.

This thread could have been named:
"Being such a great judge of football and all, who did YOU under-rate the most at the start of the 2007 season?"

I went with Ablett. He's gone from being a good player to an undisputed superstar and will possibly win the brownlow.

There are a number of other players that could be added to this list as well. I reckon Moons should be added simply for his improvement in attitude and anger management.

Most Improved Player.