Most significant match of the season so far?

• Thread starter Thread starter Blues2001

Blues2001

Carlton falling in over Fremantle by a point? (if Freo had won that game....their season would have been a lot different....and Drum would still have a job)

Did the off field battles that ensued after the Libba - Knights incident make Richmond v Bulldogs the most significant game?

Or was it Carlton's dramatic last quarter comeback with a depleted side against the in form Bombers?

Was it the Anzac Day ripper?

Essendon smashing Hawthorn into oblivion in the overhyped round 9 clash?

Perhaps Brisbane's victory over the Bombers that turned their season?

Collingwood going to Port and proving they can beaten over there, in an absolute thriller?

Brisbane finally winning in Melbourne on the weekend against Collingwood?

All the above games are significant for one reason or another - what was the most significant for you?

Apologies if I've forgotten some obvious games.

The Essendon supporters got a hard time for whingeing about umpringing in a game they won as well, but at least they haven't held the grudge for 3 months (well, not yet:D )

The question is the most significant match, not the best (which IMHO was either Bulldogs v Geelong at Kardinia Park or Collingwood v Adelaide at Football Park).

But the most influential match I'd say would have to be Brisbane's victory over Essendon...because it woke the club up to the fact that they do have a bloody good list and should be doing something about it. The Carlton-Essendon game was no where near as significant because that's been the high point of the season for Carlton so far, whilst Essendon has marched on.

But all these games will be overtaken by Collingwood-Hawthorn this week - one of the most crucial matches of the season to date in determining the make up of the finals.

And Fat Red & Blues 2001...have Carlton found someone to tag Hay out of the game yet? Kouta clearly wasn't up to the job last time! :D

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
The question is the most significant match, not the best (which IMHO was either Bulldogs v Geelong at Kardinia Park or Collingwood v Adelaide at Football Park).

But the most influential match I'd say would have to be Brisbane's victory over Essendon...because it woke the club up to the fact that they do have a bloody good list and should be doing something about it. The Carlton-Essendon game was no where near as significant because that's been the high point of the season for Carlton so far, whilst Essendon has marched on.

But all these games will be overtaken by Collingwood-Hawthorn this week - one of the most crucial matches of the season to date in determining the make up of the finals.

And Fat Red & Blues 2001...have Carlton found someone to tag Hay out of the game yet? Kouta clearly wasn't up to the job last time! :D

a few VERY significant games this weekend:

Hawthorn v Collingwood
Brisbane v Port
Adelaide v Sydney

are crucial for all 6 clubs with their various aspirations

Essendon v North - crucial for North

ptw

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Won't the C'wood v Hawthorn match be overtaken by the Carlton v Hawthorn match the week after as 'most significant'? I reckon one of either Carlton and Hawthorn HAVE to get their act together and make sure that an interstate club doesn't snatch second spot. That's what makes that game so important. Otherwise a Bris v Ess GF looks a formality, and a Bomber flag does too.

As for the Carl v Ess match, it may have been the win that felt the best for Carlton supporters, but I reckon (at the time), the game where we played Port said more about how finals chances than that game did. However, no game this year has created as much interest on bigfooty than the Carl v Ess game in round 3 did....I'm pretty sure that most people round here would agree if they were here at the time.

Originally posted by Blues2001

However, no game this year has created as much interest on bigfooty than the Carl v Ess game in round 3 did....I'm pretty sure that most people round here would agree if they were here at the time.

But look how both teams have progressed since. Essendon put that loss behind them and have gone forward. I'm not suggesting that Carlton have gone backwards, but i am sure that you'll admit that Carlton have lost a number of games that they shouldn't have.

I guess the Essendon game gave Brisbane self belief and they have taken all before them. They still have a huge question mark hanging over them in Melbourne, regardless the result on the weekend. It takes more than one victory in Melbourne to get the monkey off the back. Talk that it is off their back, are a tad premature!

Originally posted by topdon

But look how both teams have progressed since. Essendon put that loss behind them and have gone forward. I'm not suggesting that Carlton have gone backwards, but i am sure that you'll admit that Carlton have lost a number of games that they shouldn't have.

I don't disagree with this...and haven't disagreed with it in any of my posts. Indeed, I said that I felt the port game was more important, because it wasn't just based on guts and determination like the bomber game.

But at the time, the Carl v Ess game felt like nothing would surpass it in importance for the rest of the season, such was the interest around here. But of course, since it was way back in round 3 the matches closer to the end of the season will become more significant anyway. And we didn't go on with it after that game like we should have and like Brisbane have.

In my opinion, the Coll v Bris match may become the most significant, and I think its more significant than the Bris v Ess match anyway. This is because everyone already knew that Brisbane can beat most teams at the Gabba, but Melbourne is a different story. I tipped Collingwood last week and have always had huge doubts about them (prob. because my mob does well against them) but if they can have another melb win or two (I dunno how many more matches they have in Melbourne) then they may have the confidence to do something on GF day. If they end up playing Essendon on grand final day i'd give them a 10% chance though.

I recon Carl vs Ess was important coz it showed the league essendon are beatable!

For the crows id say rd 4 Crows vs Carl at optus.

We were 0-3 goin into the match and that win turned the season around for us :)

GO YOU CROWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by QT
I recon Carl vs Ess was important coz it showed the league essendon are beatable!

For the crows id say rd 4 Crows vs Carl at optus.

We were 0-3 goin into the match and that win turned the season around for us :)

GO YOU CROWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey, Remember the Collingwood V Adelaide game at Moron Park a couple weeks ago QT?

:)

Originally posted by Mags

Hey, Remember the Collingwood V Adelaide game at Moron Park a couple weeks ago QT?

:)

Hey mate do you remember the finals series since when was it, 1994?

;)

If not, do you remember rd 14 2001 vs Geelong, or rd 15 vs Brisbane?

Your team showed there premiership potential in those games :D

Originally posted by QT

Hey mate do you remember the finals series since when was it, 1994?

;)

If not, do you remember rd 14 2001 vs Geelong, or rd 15 vs Brisbane?

Your team showed there premiership potential in those games :D

**** Off!

:mad:

Brisbane beating Collingwood, no doubt. This game will go down as a massive reality check for both sides - for the Lions, that there is no hurdle a bit of positive thinking can't cure, and for the young Pies, that nothing in AFL is so certain that you can take it for granted.

all significant...

i would have added round 1 in there too, coll V haw... i believe if we had of got up, hawthorn wouldnt be they are now!!

but i voted for ess v haw... everyone thought hawthorn had a chance... essendon took it seriously, and really, strolled home for an EASY win, showing everyone, just how good they are!

As a Port supporter id have to say a new game thats not in the poll. Port v Geelong...may not seem much but we hadnt ever got close to them before and we completly thrashed them at their home ground and set the scene for our season.

Either that or the thrashing we gave the crows in Round 3

I went for Lions-Bombers, because it was the making of our season. For the first time, we really came out to play, they showed the kind of form that they show in frustrating patches, and yeah, it has made our season. I put this before the Lions-Pies (narrowly) because I believe that win was a flow-on from the confidence we gained from beating the Bombers.

Originally posted by Blues2001

Oh god.....not another whingeing Hawthorn supporter!

No, wev'e got used to the fact that the umpires are not 'favouring' us. whether its our style of play or what I don't know. In most cases we need to be 110% better than the other mob to win.

I do think it has had an effect on our percentage - which doesn't reflect our ladder position.

Shehan now says we're as wobbly as the England cricket team - Come on England !

Melbourne Vs Carlton - Optus Oval Last Rd.

This will prove to be the most significant game as it ended Melbournes form slump and began their 7 game winning streak to remarkably grab 8th spot on the ladder from teams like North, Adelaide, Bulldogs and Geelong who all let their chances slip.

It will also prove to be the turning point in Carltons season which would see them lose to Fremantle at Optus Oval the following week then regain composure the week later but fail to make the top 4 at the end of the season.

From a freo perspective that first game ripped the heart out of the guys.
We were up against a near full strength Carlton team and we had them beat.
Our mid field were spent, theres that had been well held got on top.
Had we won that game i am certain our season would have panned out differently.

Yes one game makes a season
And one player makes a team

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP
Melbourne Vs Carlton - Optus Oval Last Rd.

This will prove to be the most significant game as it ended Melbournes form slump and began their 7 game winning streak to remarkably grab 8th spot on the ladder from teams like North, Adelaide, Bulldogs and Geelong who all let their chances slip.

LOL gotta hand it to the kid... he wont give in until its mathematically impossible

Originally posted by sabre_ac

And one player makes a team

YES in freo's case... cos they havent even got 1 good player!!

sorry, leigh brown can play a bit... haselby isnt bad....

anymore???